You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hey SteemIt - ElliottWaveTrader.net Introduced Me

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

Hi ChiroCraig! Yes, anyone who is passionate about scuba diving or the ocean is likely involved in some sort of conservation activities. There are plenty of great organizations out there.

Personally, I like http://Reef.org but here's an article that highlights some of the larger organizations: https://www.underseas.com/blog/best-marine-conservation-organizations-donate-earth-day/

One of the biggest things you can do is to stop wearing poisonous sunscreens. Research appears to be pointing toward sunscreens as a major cause of coral bleaching worldwide.

Here's a link to a sunscreen that is actually safe for use in and around the water. For the record, I am not compensated in any way by them, but I have met the owner and have several dive buddies who also know them to be serious, legit scientists with a great product: https://Stream2Sea.com

Sort:  

Cool thanks for the tip!

I have been concerned about the toxic components of sunscreen for many years and how they affect human and ecosystem health. As a result I tend to just use natural oils for the very modest amount of SPF they provide and cycle between reapplying and taking breaks from the sun under shade or with a shirt.

I will most definitely check out this product. Especially if it happens to be cruelty-free I am interested!

edit just went and saw their statement about testing on fish. I get where they are coming from but I also make a very concerted effort to not purchase anything that is tested on live animals.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56500.57
ETH 2341.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33