INTRODUCING SMALL SIZED YAMS MORE NUTRITIOUS THAN BIG SIZED YAMS OF SAME SPECIES

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hello steemians,
Let me share with us a discovery I made in one of my research works in biochemistry laboratory NATIONAL ROOT CROPS RESEARCH INSTITUTE ABIA STATE NIGERIA
Yet to be published as I'm still putting up references.
But I wanna make it short and simple, It's subject to verification by scientists here who are engrossed with the mind of discoveries.
I won't share much details to avoid plagiarism but I want my fellow steemians to know that buying small sized yams of thesame specie saves cost and benefits more. And Yellow yam has lower starch composition compared to its equivalent in size white yam and thus can be recommended to people living with hyperglycemia or diabetes.IMG_20180406_205323_263.JPG

For copious detail leave a comment in the comment section.
I remain your humble Biochemist @chibuzorwisdom
IMG_20180406_205503_984.JPG

The concentration of starch in yam tuber is dependent on the size and species of yam.
The principle is based on the analysis carried out on different varieties of yam species which have equivalent sizes (Diascorea cayensis and Disacorea rotundata). That is their starch content, browning effect and starch movement comparatively.

Thanks to you all
@nikolina
@flysky
for helping me develop on this platform through the @steemschools
@lopezdacruz

Sort:  


Welcome to Steem @chibuzorwisdom.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Welcome to Steemit @chibuzorwisdom! I hope you will come to love the Steemit community here! I really learned something new about you in this introduction post!

Glad to have someone who is quite an expert in science and food here :D

I dont know whether I read correctly. Your introduction post is talking about yams. Welcome to Steemit. I love yams :)

Hahhhahaha
It was an error dear

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65858.36
ETH 3493.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53