Introduce Yourself…No Myself…Wait—WHO AM I!?

Apparently it's common for people to introduce themselves here, at least if they intend to stick around awhile. So, um, hi. I'm Curtis.
Me at the (Robert) Frost House in New Hampshire

Things I Do

I'm a wordsmith by day, managing the content for several websites. I mostly write about cancer and consumer safety issues.

For the last several years, I've been slowly working towards my MA in Language & Literature from Signum University, and the end of the tunnel is in sight (which means it's right about time for a train to come barreling through, right?). I just turned in the second draft of my thesis, and the whole thing should effectively be wrapped up by the end of April.

I'm a big fan of pop culture, and I particularly enjoy the works of Joss Whedon. As a member of the Whedon Studies Association, I've published a paper on Cabin in the Woods and also had an essay on the movie In Your Eyes published in the revised edition of Joss Whedon: The Complete Companion. I also co-host a weekly podcast – Kat & Curt's TV Re-View – on Buffy the Vampire Slayer/Angel, Doctor Who ("New Who"), and Battlestar Galactica (the rebooted series).

I am an avid reader and bibliophile. I keep track of my reading on Goodreads, though I might start posting longer reviews here…because, why not? Earlier this year, I started my Bookdotes (= Books + Anecdotes) project where I share little stories and thoughts about various books, bookstores, libraries, and so forth – you can find it on Instagram, Twitter, Tumblr, and Facebook, and I've already expanded it here with a post earlier today. Robert Heinlein is the subject of a lot of my reading and Bookdotes posts, because he is my spirit animal.

I play guitar and electric bass, mostly in my home but occasionally other places. I have been paid to do it, but I'm not a professional by any means. Look, here's a gratuitous pic of me playing guitar with my brother.
Dinosaur BBQ

Why I'm Interested in Steem

  1. I like getting paid for writing things, and I'm pretty okay at it.
  2. I used to work for a multinational financial corporation, which has convinced me that we need more money options.
  3. It appeases my contrarian streak.
Sort:  

Thanks! Not sure I understand exactly what this means, but I certainly appreciate the upvote. :D

htooms is a larger holder so it means a greater reward on this post.

Welcome to Steemit @caweyant

Nice of you to join us, you can participate in the 50 word story contest for new steemians run by @literature-trail for a chance to win big.

To check it out, go HERE

Looks interesting, I'll definitely check it out!

Welcome @caweyant solid original content creators will do well here! I will be following

It sounds like you will be a perfect fit. I'm fairly new here but really enjoy it. The cool thing is you can simply just read and write stuff, or you can get as immersed as you wish. Ill follow ya :)

Welcome to steemit @caweyant =)

Welcome to steemit curtis!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61915.54
ETH 3000.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59