Hello Steemit, Building Community! That's me . I am passionate about it.....

Hey beautiful people,

I was recently introduced to Steemit by a friend and I think this is an awesome innovation!
So firstly Thank you...

I am originally from India. I got married and moved to Brisbane Australia in 1988. Been here almost 28 years! In India I grew up in community and so many years later I feel so grateful for my childhood. Living in community has been the greatest gift my parents could have given me. The neighbourhood that I grew up in was a very well connected place. Everyone kind of knew everyone and there was just this sense of belonging that we all felt and also took for granted. Everyone looked out for each other without even realising it.
We were one big family !

Six years ago my marriage broke down and it was only then that I realised how much I had let myself get isolated. Over the 22 years that I was married, I was preoccupied with building a rather big business, coupled with raising 3 beautiful kids and no other family support in Australia. I did not really have time for anything else. I knew a few people but did not really know them ... if you know what I mean.

In 2010 my marriage broke down. I found myself suddenly questioning my life in Australia. What did I do ? How could I have let myself get so isolated? I felt alone and unsupported at a time when I most needed love and support.

As I reflected on my life I remembered my childhood and wondered if there were others who felt similarly. One day I had a wild thought. What if I could create a neighbourhood like the one I grew up in, in Mumbai? I felt all warm and fuzzy inside of me. That was the start of a vision that I now hold not just for my own neighbourhood but for every neighbourhood in Australia and perhaps the world!!!

What if every neighbourhood could be well connected, so that people could feel safe and supported? Especially our elderly and our kids.

Anyway, I decided that perhaps I needed to go out and do some door-knocking to find out if there were others who would buy into my vision. Now that was certainly the most difficult part. That meant I had to stretch out of my comfort zone and go talk to people in my neighbourhood.

Do you know how many times, I walked up the the end of my driveway and then walked back in... about 15 times. It took me a whole 2 months from the time I had the idea to the time I actually had my first conversation with a neighbour.

It's been 2 years now, I have moved to another suburb and started another community project. The other project is still going and whilst building a strong well connected neighbourhood takes time, I certainly believe that we are onto something very valuable ..... I can keep going here but I thought this is enough for a first intro. I will keep you all updated with the hope to inspire you to do something similar in your own neighbourhood.

Follow me to keep up to date with all the fun I am having !!

Big Smile
Carolyn

Sort:  

Nice introductory post. Always good to give back to the community, and it looks like you have a good project going. Welcome to Steem!

Thanks very much!

couldn't agree with you more - I grew up in a seaside village in the south of England and like you, everyone knew everyone else and looked out for each other - our postman use to leave parcels at the shop if we were out and leave a note to tell us! milkman use to make sure the milk was put in the shade . It was wonderful- now I live in the Middle East in a city with 96million others! got to say though my neighbours are lovely and have welcomed me, but its very different and noisy, but an experience.

Thanks for sharing . The cities are where people have become disconnected because of the fast pace of our lives . Great that you atleast know your neighbours!

no choise on that - they made themselves known..lol - but they are a friendly bunch and very helpful in everything.

carolyn.vincent you just done! You inspired your dream, do not worry, you will succeed! And the neighbors and supporters all be drawn to you! I believe that you will create a heavenly place.

Thanks so much Kana!

Congratulations @carolyn.vincent! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63572.52
ETH 3097.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88