Do You Think It's Hard To Be A Starter On Steemit?

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

I recently started to use Steemit and I think it is really hard to get some upvotes here on Steemit. I know, a lot of people will now tell me, it is all about content but I think it is not really a matter of content. I saw posts with nothing really amazing or maybe just a picture or so which get's big upvotes here but others with good content get ignored. Especially I have the feeling that people with more Steem-Power tend to not give upvotes to newer ones, even if they read their articles and write comments under them.

What are your experience here? Do you have tipps for beginners to push their own profile?

Sort:  

Join the Discord Groups

Actually I try to build my own group now to help people get some votes on their content, as long as it has quality and is not spammy, but thanks for the tip :) Stil this solves not the problem this social media platform currently is having.

Yes, one of the biggest problem is that good content gets overlooked

Exactly as the trending stuff is just the ones which get a lot of votes or at least some high value votes. Somehow sad. :/

Well I'm just going to follow you both, we're all trying to get found so let's help each other out

Followed you too :) thank you!

It also boils down to how to define "good content" in the first place. Humans view those differently. Posts that I consider good content might just be spam in your eyes and the other way around too.

Of course, that matters too but sometimes you can easily see that someone really worked for his/her content but others just post really nonsense and get a lot more attention. :(

That's how a lot of the content on this web is including other (social) media platforms. But I'd say, don't be discouraged by those people and just try your best! Reaching out to other people on steemit seems to be far easier than say.... writing a blog on wordpress for example.

That's true. It's quite hard to get people to read your blog regularly if it is on Wordpress or on a own website. :)

I only discovered today that you don't really have an unlimited amount of votes to give as it decreases your voting power each time you do it. You get 20% of it back a day, but it costs like 2% a vote (so 10 a day). I checked how much mine is and its down to 35%.. lol I guess the point is to only really vote on things you think are worthy of it. Which makes sense.

Of course, that makes sense but on the other site, in this scenario the most poster stays just on the people with the most power if smaller ones not get any votes, especially not some worthy ones. As I said, I see average content with a lot of upvotes while you can see sometimes really good content with nothing or just small ones. And somehow that is sad to see, as the good one then will not be shown in trending for example.

Thank you for the explanation. I haven't known that you just get back 20% per day :)

I guess just keep at it and as you get rewards, power up and it will gradually help you out over time. But as for crappy posts getting voted while gems are often missed I'm not really sure how to combat that, except to just vote for the decent ones. Not much else that can be done! A lot of people do pay for votes I have discovered, and you can vote for your own content, so if you have a lot of steem power then you are going to do a lot more then someone like you or me.

Yes, I also saw this. It's a bit sad that you probably have to invest first some money to get more power. It reminds me on Instagram, Twitter and Facebook, as you also have to pay there to be really seen these days.

Warm greetings and love, welcome to the platform :)

We have made some Discord groups or sub-communities which may help you grow faster, click here for further details :)

Thank you! Currently working on my own group to build up a community to support each other :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71152.89
ETH 3805.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49