Introduce Yourself: Chris Davidson

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

I am Chris Davidson, a 27 year old Brit, now travelling the world with my wife and daughter.


Waiting for the Wawel Dragon to do it's thing.

Wawel Dragon


I've always liked the idea of maintaining an online presence and blogging, but I've just never had the willpower or consistency to see it through before, I'm planning on making this time different.

So, to actually introducing myself a little more... I am currently a Freelance Linux SysAdmin / DevOps Engineer (you can read more about my technical experience at my personal site, if you're interested). A father to a beautiful 5-year old Daughter, and a Husband to my wonderful Wife.

I am currently sat in an Airbnb in Krakow (yes, it's cold) after we sold 90% of our possessions, put our house up for sale, and left England, in January. We've been to Budapest, Vienna, Bratislava & Prague since then and we have 2 more weeks left in Krakow, before heading to Athens, Sofia, back to England for a couple of weeks, Portugal and then America. It's been quite a roller coaster ride.

When I reflect on the fact that we've even got to this point I am so happy that we actually did what we wanted to do and followed our dreams, so many people just talk about it but we actually did it, we actually executed and made such a huge change. I'm sure I'll write more about our travels, both the good and the bad.


Leaving Budapest...

Budapest Train Station


So how did we get to the point where we could do this?

Well, aged 16, and with no idea what I wanted to do with my life, a really great local IT company in my native England approached my former school looking for leaving students who were interested in joining their company as a trainee, I was put forward by my former teacher, and after impressing at the interview (I'll write a separate post about this soon, as there was a real light-bulb moment in that interview for me) I was offered the job.

Over the course of the next 9 years I worked myself up within the company, to leading a team of 15 people, and was even gifted a small share of the company, as a token of appreciation of the hard work put in over the years by the owners. Eventually the company was bought out by a larger company, as time progressed I realised I was not passionate about this new role.

I knew that it was time for a change.

Given that this had been my only real job (save the 3 months I spent flipping burgers at McDonalds) I was very anxious about finding a new role and moving out of my comfort zone, but I found a really great role working remotely for an Australian based company which meant that I was able to work from home, I knew this was the perfect stepping stone to seeing more of the world and scratching the travel itch that I had.

I left that job after just 9 months, again, due to an acquisition, but with the new found self-confidence I wasn't concerned, and began applying for other remote roles.

Whilst applying for other roles I was keeping myself busy with freelance work. After a couple of months of looking and not really finding a suitable role, I had been making enough money with my freelance gigs that I knew I could keep doing this full time. This was when we realised that the chance to travel full-time had become a reality.

So we did it, we sold everything, packed up and just did it. We're still adjusting to this life on the road (especially with a 5 year old!) but I'm hoping to be able to share some of our experiences here. As well as posts about our travels, I expect I'll be posting about "life", running a freelance business or my aspirations towards making passive income.


I think that's about all I should mention in an introductory post but if anyone has any questions feel free to leave a comment, happy Sunday!

Sort:  

Looking forward to hear about your adventure. Welcome to steemit!

Glad to have you here. Thanks for dropping by the The Steem Experience and sharing your post.

Hello there! Welcome to Steemit, I'm new too :) I live in Portugal and I'm glad you visited! Hope you liked it. Looking forward to see your posts.

Thanks @julimattos not actually made it to Portugal yet, heading to Porto in June but looking forward to it! Where are you from in Portugal?

Ooh you didn’t! That’s awesome. I’m from Aveiro, it’s 1h away from Porto. Let me know if you need some tips or places to go :)

Any recommendations would be great! Me and my wife can't wait to try Francesinha's, hoping they're as good as they look online haha.

Oh yes, Francesinhas are one of the most known dishes of Porto!! Sorry for the late reply, I only saw this now. I will get a list together of nice tips & places you can go and post it here :)

I think this blog is great!
Welcome to steemit.
Looking forward to hearing more from you Caj.
Especially about your life during your Travels.

Excelente trabajo, amigo!!!
Y bienvenido a Steemit 🤘🏽😎

Muchas gracias, amigo!

Hello! Excellent article, you're done! Welcome to Steemit, I'm glad to new friends and have followed you, I hope you will follow me as well, wish you successful development of your blog! 😃
Upvoted your post! 😉

Thanks Dmitry @veseloff! Checked out your first post and looked interesting so followed you :)

Before I welcome you, first I want to say, if you need any help or have questions feel free to ask, ok lol now WELCOME to steemit! I make funny vids and try to help people that are mostly newer than I am. Good luck!

Welcome to Steemit community Chris !!

Hey @cajdavidson welcome to @steem and hope you enjoy the experience. People are really friendly around here and I look forward to hearing more about your travels.
Regards @run.vince.run

Hi @run.vince.run, thanks for the welcome! I see you're a runner, I'm what I like to call a "lapsed runner", I still get out now and then and maintain it for a few weeks but can't get to a point of consistency. Hoping to get back to where I was a couple of years ago but just can't seem to get out of the door with enough regularity.

Anyway, noticed you mention ultra-running in a few of your posts, if you've not seen the documentary Desert Runners I highly recommend it.


Welcome to Steemit @cajdavidson!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58440.50
ETH 2618.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39