#INTRODUCEYOURSELF - Who am I?

A barefoot wedding on the beach of a Game Reserve. And a booted wedding under the citrus trees of a Farm. These are two defining moments in my life.

But; who am I? What defines me? Does my country? My upbringing? My talents? My family? My choices? My beliefs? My job?

My husband calls me his “hippie organic wife”. That is the short version. But it doesn’t merely allude to my long skirts, preference to be barefooted or loving daisies. I’ve buried a husband following his long battle with cancer. Then given up hopes of having children. I’ve been given new life in re-marriage and the birth of my miracle child. I’ve lived in one of South Africa’s most magnificent Game Reserves. I’ve backpacked around the world. I am an artist and bookworm. I’ve been a swimming teacher to tiny children as well as care-giver to the aged. I have lived on the coast, at the foot of the mountains and in the concrete jungle. I have celebrated and grieved and rejoiced again. I have hopes and dreams and yet my home will always be where my husband and children are. Wherever our Heavenly Father leads us.

For the last 6 years we have made a concerted effort to get back to our roots. That covers so many aspects of life. Spiritual. Emotional. Physical. And, for us it included leaving the city. Our little homesteading paradise is in a truly beautiful corner of the South African Karoo. A semi-desert area where we experienced a devastating flood, and are now in a terrible drought. We bought a small farm that had been very neglected and barren for years. We had so many romantic ideas - who wouldn’t - and having 3 chickens, 2 hand raised sheep, a dozen raised vegetable beds and a goat seemed the epitome of farming. Six years ago.

Our feathered and four footed kids have multiplied - as animals do! We now have three of our four parents living with us. One of my autistic stepsons is also here. And the latest and most precious addition; our own not so little baby.

True to homesteading nature there is little we have not attempted. We have had surprising successes as well as almighty failures. Some hobbies have become a little more than that. Other projects were very quickly shelved. We have learnt to pick our battles. Homesteading is quite diverse: solar, beekeeping, fermenting, building, composting, brews, gardens, herbal remedies. The list goes on. And if you are already homesteading then home-birthing and homeschooling seem par for the course. And then there are my beloved goats. That’s where I excel. Goats. Check! Goats milk soap. Check! Goats milk yoghurt. Check. Goats milk cheeses. Check and check.

On joining Steemit you are expected to #introduceyourself. Easy for some. And then there’s me. Being always behind the camera this presents a slight quandary. It has also provoked weeks of philosophical monologue (in my head). I have browsed through Steemit trying to get a better grasp of how the cogs in this cyber crypto machine work. I’ve written a couple blogs but … well … I guess this is me saying "Hi!"

Sort:  

You have written a brilliant introduction of yourself and your world. I am so intrigued and I am sure others will be also. I found you through the #payitforward contest. You were featured by @bananamemos. Congratulations and all the best.

Thank you @energyaddict22! The contest sounds like a worthy cause. And thanks @bananamemos for considering me

Absolutely! There is quite a bit of trash on Steemit, yet there is also a strong community dedicated to bringing and keeping quality content on the platform. If you plug into that community, you'll find support and friendship. :-)

Wow a kindred spirit I think I have found. My husband too calls me his hippie wife, I also like long skirts, I homeschool, and an extreme child and animal lover. I have been blessed with 6 kids. My 3, my husbands 1, and our two. Five boys and finally our final blessing our girl. I started early so I also have a grandchild from my oldest son and daughter inlaw. I am looking forward to adding goats but this is not our final resting homestead. we plan to within the year to move to a larger acreagage somewhere other than here because prices are way to high. We plan on staying in British Columbia because I so love the mountains. I grew up on the praries in Manitoba and I want to be near the ocean and the mountains. For animals we have two horses, 32 chickens most of them are under three months of age, five cats, and two dogs. I also have a garden with raised beds. As for production of vegetables well im working on it lol. Well take care looking forward to your future posts.

Oh yay! I LOVE that expression. A kindred spirit. Did you also read Anne of Green Gables as a little girl? We'll have to chat, but I'm still figuring out the basic Steemit. Funny we also have two dogs and five cats. But no idea how many chickens. We've recently had a bumper crop of chicks hatching. Veggies are a real struggle at the moment with our drought. But we are seriously considering aquaponics. Hopefully soon. I think you live in a beautiful part of the country too. Look forward to swapping stories. Including more of each others country.

I'm not a homesteader, but love the idea. And since you mentioned Anne of Green Gables, buckaroo, I thought I'd chime in. I read that book as a child, along with Secret Garden and the Little House on the Prairie books.
I recently heard that the books we read as children can have a huge impact on how we steer our lives. :-)

Oh I can believe that!

Hey, Buckaroo ~ I liked your post so much I mentioned you in a PayItForward contest highlighting quality blogs. You can see it here: https://steemit.com/payitforward/@bananamemos/week-3-pay-it-forward-curation-contest-3-blogs-to-know-about

Thank you! I hope to share some of my intriguing (as you put it ;) life, both past and what lies ahead. Watch this space....

welcome . very nice personnel post . thank you for sharing your ups and downs . You have overcome them with a great sprite . congratulation on the birth of your child.

Thanks @wolfhart! It is my intention to share more. I feel we have so much to learn from each other. I look forward to following you

Hi @buckaroo, thanks very much for sharing such a beautiful photo. I also mentioned you in my post. If you like it then please follow and upvote me, if you donot like it, then please message me in that post, then i will remove your information.
https://steemit.com/life/@sultanmr/best-new-steemers-introductory-posts---page-12-1524437622-4545038

haha @sultanmr ~ that's pretty funny we both mentioned her, but in different posts. :-)

Thank you for taking the time to read as well as share

hi! Welcome to Steemit !

Lovely Hippie Mother, love your photos, and you are defining yourself pretty well. I'm Oatmeal hehe. Your choices define you, generally it seems. I eat from my gardens.

Awesome! What can I say?
Wonderfully written and beautiful photos! Seeing you wearing my grandson is always a pleasure to me my child

Hi Buckaroo. This is one of the most interesting and intriguing introduceyourself posts I've read on Steemit. Welcome to the platform. I'm following, looking forward to what you'll write. :-)
Welcome to Steemit 250x134.png

Welcome to the STEEM blockchain @buckaroo, and thanks for using the #walkwithme tag so that I found this beautiful introduction post. You sound like you have a lot of unique and interesting things to share about your life. I'm very sorry about your husband, and happy that you have found love again. <3 Bless you and your family <3

Thank you. I'm sure we all have a lot to learn from one another

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62255.52
ETH 2449.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63