#introduceyourself Scott - old school geek in NicaraguasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

verification.jpg

Hello everyone, Scott here. It's very nice to meet you all.

I am still very new here but I have been really impressed with the quality of what is unfolding. The quality of the people, content and overall spirit.

So a little about me and what I hope to get from my steemit.com experience...

With introductions it's always good to start at the beginning. I was born and raised in the south eastern U.S. to hard working and patriotic parents. During the mid 70s our family bought a farm and moved to the outskirts of Tallahassee. While we lived in a pretty remote setting my parents were always great about making sure we had the resources we needed to learn. Not least among these resources was my first computer. A beautiful TRS-80 Color Computer with 4k of RAM. When I got that for Christmas in 1982 I knew immediately that I would be a computer geek for life. The next summer I made enough picking butterbeans to get an upgrade to 16k! I found out young the cost of being an early adopter.

Fast forward to age 20 and I have decided to join the Marines. I said goodbye to the family and off I went to Parris Island. I was about the last person you would expect to join the Corps as I was never much of an athlete, prefering to study tech of all flavors. Growing up on a farm though did go a long way in preparing me both physically and mentally to be a Marine so off I went in 1990. I managed to secure what was known as a 'guaranteed contract' into the only MOS I was interested in. At that time a COBOL programmer (MOS 4063)was the official description of the position. I hoped it entailed more than that. It turned out to be the catch all computer job for the Corps and I quickly learned about LAN/WAN tech while building out what would become known as the Marine Corps Data Network. The Gulf War took me to South West Asia where I spent over 9 months providing data services on a live battlefield.

Several very eventful years later my enlistment ended and I left my time in the Corps behind. I had no problem finding a job in the IT game after the experience I gained in the Marines. After what I would consider a really good run in the corporate IT biz I decided it wasn't for me. This decision didn't just happen out of nowhere. It was a process of what is now a sort of cliche way at looking at cubicle life. A routine that gradually wears you down in a way that starts to feel like a bad episode of Mr. Robot.

I decided to punch out and get back to a more natural lifestyle. The dot-com boom had been good enough to me that I thought I could make a change. So, I left corporate America and started a small farm back home in Florida. The day after completing the move I spoke with a friend on the phone who asked me how I felt about my decision. I told him that as I was leaving the area (DC, northern Virginia) I was afraid to look in the rear view mirror out of fear of turning into a pillar of salt. I had a pronounced sense of urgency about the move.

Then the next day 9/11 happened. I knew the world was going to be changing in a big hurry but tried to just keep my head down and focus on my new sustainable living thing. It didn't take me long to realize that I was missing an essential freedom, the freedom to be left alone. Pretty much everything I wanted to do in terms of the sustainable living required permits, permissions and all sorts of other scrutiny now that was an ever increasing blanket of surveillance. It was sad for me to see this happening to the country I loved. So, I decided to just do some traveling.

I found the rest of my life in Nicaragua. I moved here over ten years ago now and it has been the best decision I ever made. It may not be for everyone but it's like a missing puzzle piece that I found after looking everywhere. I have never felt as much at home as I do here.

cyber1.jpg
L to R Roderick, Kelieth, Vladimir

I moved here with very little but had a solid determination to give it a go. Within the first days of being here I discovered that there was a huge backlog of IT work to be done because there just weren't many techs around. It didn't take me long to figure out that a small computer shop/cyber cafe was a good opportunity. Thus Nica Geeks was born. It would allow me to make a living and also introduce tech jobs to the local market. There was one challenge though which was the power went off frequently here back then. So, I built the office to run on 100% solar power and that became a marketing angle all on it's own. The biz was a success for about 5 years and then rapid growth and too many cooks in the kitchen caused it to falter. I decided we had to do a clean shutdown and an important era in my life came to an end.

lacuesta.jpg
radio installation on a mountain top

As I was wondering what I would do with my time after Nica Geeks closed the doors along comes bitcoin. I was in like Flynn from the start. Like so many others I completely immersed myself in the tech and have been on the crypto bandwagon ever since. Having such a passion for solar power I of course have spent considerable time in the fine art of solar powered mining. Over a period of several years and many design iterations I have finally managed to come up with a cost effective solar mining solution that I am considering trying to bring to market. Here's a tweet from the streamium team of the solar miner in action. I used their streaming tech to showcase it in operation and got a nice response;
https://twitter.com/eordano/status/601462202818670592

solarminer1.png
solarminer on streamium live feed

Being active in crypto for a while I was intrigued about the idea of steem when it came along. It sounded promising in concept but I would need to see how it translated to reality. Well, here I am today posting on steemit.com and what has grown here is amazing.

While I still have an interest in sustainable living in general and solar energy in particular the reason I came to steemit was to become a better writer. I have for years wanted to get more into creative writing but never had the time or platform come together at the same time. Now I have both of these elements and intend to dedicate myself to writing compelling content that shows a steady path of improvement. I also look forward to getting to know more of the interesting folks that make the site what it is.

I've been getting my feet wet with a few posts already and have been humbled by the reception from the community. I've never seen such a great platform for creative content. I have already been telling friends about it and will be here to help them if they decide to jump in. With a little luck I will be able to get a group meet going. It could be a great way to bring new job opportunity.

I want to thank everyone here that have helped me to get started. The help you have offered so generously has been crucial in helping me to understand how valuable steemit.com is;
@mariannewest for the awesome freewrite challenge
@pennsif and sponsors for the cool Day in the life of 2040 writing contest
@jayna for giving me early feedback
@flashfiction @blaynesukut @deaconlee for letting me know what you liked about The Flintknappers series
@curie @originalworks @minnowpond for being so essential to new users
@guiltyparties @shadow3scalpel for supporting the vets. Also the entire group of vets that are supporting each other. Bravo Zulu.

I will be learning and adapting my writing style to hopefully create the kind of content steemit likes to see. I would be honored if you decide to take the time to check out my work.

oxcart2.jpg
The notorious "Nica Geeks Solar Powered Ox Cart Tour"

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit dude!

Hi Scott! Welcome to steemit and congrats on a life well-lived! Looking forward to seeing your future posts on the platform! Upvoted and followed!

I feel like I'm in good company. Thank you.

eordano Esteban Ordano tweeted @ 21 May 2015 - 18:58 UTC

Thrilled to watch the first cost effective solar mining solution in action reddit.com/r/Bitcoin/comm… via @streamium_io http://t.co/A0DiEsAT3z

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Beep! Beep! This humvee will be patrolling by and assisting new veterans, retirees, and military members here on Steem. @shadow3scalpel will help by upvoting posts from a list of members maintained by @chairborne and responding to any questions replied to this comment.

Welcome to the platform btcnoodle! Explore and enjoy it :)

You know I started out just looking at everything as a way of learning the platform. The content is so good that it has become my main go to site now to keep up to speed. I really enjoy reading several of the writers here.

Really nice intro! I live in Panama and moved here about 8 months ago. We live in the mountains near the Costa Rica border. It's always nice to meet another expat!

Hey, very nice to meet you. Thanks for the nice comment. I plan on spending the rest of my life here so feel free to look me up if you're ever in the neighborhood. First round is on me.

Nice! I have heard good things about Nicaragua. My friends just visited there a few months ago and loved it. They said they'd spend half the year there and half of it here if they could. ;) I need to write a post about why we chose Panama. Do you have one as to why you chose Nicaragua, specifically? We also made this a permanent move...even with five small children!

Well, I'm still pretty new to steemit and haven't really posted much about myself other than this intro. I don't know if you'll get this but I have always felt like I was born for a different time. Nicaragua seemed like something of a time capsule due the war period of the 80s. The surreal 'out of time and space' atmosphere here just felt like home.

Very nice. Did you look into other countries or had you visited it before? I had lived in Mexico and we had visited El Salvador and Costa Rica. My husband had looked into Chile and I'm not sure where else, but decided on Panama for various reasons.

While still in the states I went so far as to compile a scoring matrix and then applied it to every country in the world. I knew I was looking for a place to permanently relocate to so my criteria were the things that mattered most to me in that regard. Things like quality of life, political freedom, work opportunities, etc.

I visited a few other countries and always felt like a tourist until I arrived in Nicaragua. I felt at home here in a way that just clicked. I had never been here and never even spoken to anyone else that had.
Speaking with folks that have moved here from a lot of the favorite expat destinations has reinforced my decision. Nicaragua has got it goin' on.

Lol! Nice. I'd like to go there someday and check it out. Do you speak Spanish? Is there a large expat population near you? What is the climate like where you live? It's always so interesting how some places just click with people. We have known people here who just don't like it and others who never plan to move. Thanks for sharing more about your decision with me! :)

Yes to the Spanish. Not fluent but I do ok. Lots of expats in country in general. Mostly concentrated in San Juan del Sur, Granada and Managua. imo San Juan del Sur is the best spot. It's an active little town with lots of charm. As far as the climate...probably a lot like Panama but in the sjds area we have a microclimate known as arid tropical. 2 seasons, rainy and dry. Winter in the northern hemisphere is the dry season. The rains are just now ending. We get a really strong seasonal wind that comes from the inland lake and blows out over the Pacific. Very tropical...lots of wildlife. The ocean is an attraction too. Fishing, whales and lots of Ridley sea turtles. We have a beach nearby called La Flor that is a great spot to watch the turtles hatch and head out to sea. Lots of folks come in just to see that. People from all over the world are here. It's like a UN delegation in flip-flops :-)

What an interesting life you've had. I'm sure you'll do really well with your writing.

No shortage of stories to draw inspiration from, that's for sure. Thanks for the encouragement. Nice to meet you.

Fantastic Intro, my friend! Glad to have you here on the platform! This is definitely a place to hone your blogging and writing skills. I am @gogogadgetupvote, and I like to support new users on the platform. I have Upvoted and Resteemed your intro post thanks to a link that @apanamamama submitted to my "Daily Introduceyourself Post Bounty". I have also given you a follow. You can check out the link there if you want to go and give her a shout out. I also have several posts linked at the bottom of my contest post that are handy for new users to the platform. Looking forward to your future posts!

You rock. This kind of support is what is going to take steemit to great heights. Nice to know you.

I do what I can. I'm just one little guy with a cool name. 😎 Thanks for your encouragement! Do you have a Steemitchat or a Discord? There are lots of good groups over on Discord helping people out on Steemit!

I created an acct on steemitchat, same username as here. Joined the veterans group and they have been a great help. Still need to figure out discord.

Discord can be a pain when you are starting out. It gets easier as you go along. I still get lost with all the servers and different channels in each server. But there is almost always someone in one of the groups to help you out.

nice post Scott hehe
i will follow your steps

Thanks! I look forward to seeing more from you in the future.

Thanks for mention. Very interesting to read your backstory.

Hi. I really do appreciate the efforts you make in the community. Thanks for taking the time to read my intro.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87