Hello Steemit!

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Picture of Jake

Hello Steemit!!! My name is Jake Bryan and I'm a programmer, philosopher, world traveler and entrepreneur. I hold a bachelor's degree in Computer Engineering and a Nanodegree in Front-End Web Development from Udacity. My main areas of interest at the moment include Bitcoin, the blockchain, web development and self-development. I read some pretty awesome books on those subjects such as Mastering Bitcoin, Gorilla Mindset and Blockchain Revolution. I recommend all of those books for anyone interested in Cryptocurrencies and self-improvement.

Programmer

Currently I work as a Defense Contractor, but in my free time I am working on Meteor.js tutorials and learning Hexo.js which is a Static Site Generator. The languages I know include JavaScript, TypeScript, HTML, CSS, SCSS, Python, C/C++, CMake and Java. I haven't used Java in a while and dispise it. Most of my professional work is exclusively in C++ and Python.

World Traveler

I am fortunate enough to study abroad in Poland during college because without that experience I would have never discovered my wander lust. I've hiked the Camino de Santiago de Compostela, traveled to Barcelona, Madrid, Budapest, Vienna, Prague, Munich, Rome, Assisi, Toledo, Zurich, Krakow, Warsaw, Wroclaw, Gdansk and Poznan. In the United States, I've been to Mount Rushmore, Devil's Tower, Yellowstone Nt'l Park, Glacier Nt'l Park, hiked some of the Appalachian Trail, The Smokey Mountains and other places in the SouthEast USA. My next big trip will take me down to Orlando for my cousin's wedding.

Philosopher

Similar to most people on Steemit.com, I am an Anarcho-Capitalist. My favorite podcasts include The Tom Woods Show, The Crypto Show, Anarchcast and The Alex Jones Show. I don't listen to Alex so much anymore because I need to focus my energy in a positive and productive direction and I get pessimistic by listening to him. I am active in the Libertarian Party and as a delegate to the last convention in Orlando I voted for McAfee for President and Larry Sharpe for Vice President.

Self-Development

As you can see from my picture above, I'm 24 and pretty stocky. I am in the process of losing weight and becoming more disciplined in my habits so I can achieve my goals of starting my own business. The current workout routine includes lifting weights for strength and some cardio. My diet is a ketogenic so I eat basically only meats and fats without any carbs. My current program is called Body of a Spartan by Victor Pride. I am also using Victor Pride's 30 Days of Discipline challenge. I'll be writing in my Steemit blog about each day and how the changes I make are effecting my daily life. I also just noticed that Victor Pride accepts Bitcoin as well so if you make some money off Steemit.com and want to better your physique then head over there.

Talk to y'all soon!

Sort:  

Welcome! Great introduction. I wish you goodluck in your adventures here on Steemit xD

Thanks Sharon! Appreciate the positive vibes. I'm also hoping Steemit will help me improve my writing skills. Do you find it easier to write now that you've been writing on Steemit?

Not that its easier, its just hard to think of a good topic that will appeal to the masses. But I say just have fun. Don't worry about being paid out, it'll eventually come. :)

Yeah I know the feeling. I realize that I'm not going to make that much money off the platform but I might as well write what I'm passionate about. Checkout this funny post about making $1.32 in 12 hours on Steemit.

LOL ya, I saw it. Clever.

Welcome to steemit:). Nice I am doing the same thing with the exercise. I was training at the UFC gym for a while but moved so I do everything at home in my apartment. I use a 3 minute on 1 minute off routine and do 4 different routines to cover all body parts and repeat each set. It takes around 35-40 minutes I finish with an 8-minute nonstop ab routine. My diet is the problem because I work at home I tend to raid the fridge a lot,lol. So I have started my challenge also...good luck with yours!!

Thanks for the encouragement and I'm glad there is someone else here who's working towards physical improvement. I would highly recommend the 30 Days of Discipline challenge to work on your eating habits. I have only been on the keto diet for 2 days but I feel pretty good and as long as I drink water with lemon/ACV then I don't get too hungry. If you're interested in the Keto diet without paying the $15 for the 30 DoD pdf, then check out the Reddit keto page or VP's simple diet post.

Most if it is the train of thought. It is like anything if the will is there then the goal can be executed. I like to employ fear into the mix. I find fear a good motivator,lol. The fear of getting fat does it for me. Thanks for the link I will definitely take a looksie:).Keep STEEM R​OLLIN!

Nice to have you here, and great introduction. Best of luck with your plans. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64689.90
ETH 3450.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50