I'll be with you soon... in the meantime: Here's my "About Me" Elevator Speech

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)
This is my first Steemit post and I haven't figured out how to a) resize images and b) left align them with wrap-around text (I was able to right-align this text though :p ) ... so if you know and can point me in the right direction that would be AWESOME! :-)

Until then, please scroll on further to actually find out about me.

FWIW: The caricature to the left, while slightly better looking than the real-life me, is still me :-)

BRAAIBOY-Cartoon-Character-400High.jpg



Let's start off by explaining that Braai means Grilling in South Africa (where I'm from).

Note: Not 'barbecue'... When I talk barbecue, I'm referring to smoking tough cuts of meat until deliciously tender aka 'Low and Slow'

In 2009, April 17th to be exact, I started braaing on a dare and have done so every day since. Literally... every... single... day! More about how and why on my website.


BraaiBoy 'H'-224.jpg
Attempted, broken, lost and even failed at a several World Records

I love to travel, and was recently fortunate enough to fill up my first passport. Bucket List Item Ticked!


SnowBraai.jpg
I got to play in snow for the first time ever recently. Bucket List Item Ticked!**

So in addition to braai recipes, you can expect pics and stories from the awesome places I've visited.

The image below is me just before proving that beer can chicken is indeed a fad. 3 Chickens (1 x empty can, 1 x water-filled can and 1 x beer-filled can). Just before a taste-testing by a blind-tasting panel of "experts" (aka friends I rustled up for a free meal).


3rdDayOfBraaing.png

OK... so that's about it for now... I'll hopefully get the hang of this Steemit posting thing soon.

#HeeltydSpeeltyd #GooiKole #WysJouVleis #BraaiBoy

Sort:  

Welcome - definitely something new :D Check out @dtube, maybe you can do some video-tutorials about your skills there! Resteemed!

Thanks... I just registered there now... it's 03h00 here in SA at the moment... so I'm gonna check it out properly in the coming days/weeks. Thanks for the heads-up.

welcome to the society . steemit is the best for showing useful information . i enjoyed reading your introduce post. it was very attractive. good lock!

hmmmmmmm... "Good look"??? I question if you actually did read my post then, since I actually mention in my post that the alignment looks like something my 5-year old song scribbled down.

P.S. Thanks though... since it's my first day here, I'm gonna take every compliment I can get :p

That sounds interesting. Never heard of it.

Regarding the alignment of the picture, sadly I do not know how to do that.

#WatchThisSpace :p

You'll hopefully learn everything you need to know about Braaing soon enough.

Re the picture alignment/sizing: Hahaha... yeah, a quick Google search didn't yield much either. I'm sure it'll be pretty easy though. Live and Learn!

Welcome to Steemit @braaiboy,
hope you have a greate time here!

I just made to tutorials for a better start here, maybe they'll help you

make your posts get more attention
Get more ot of your Steem/Sbd

Anyways have a greate day, @davsner!

I'll go check it out... Thanks!

I like your first post! I also started today and i really love this community! Will be really interesting to see some posts about food in the future! ;)

high-5 ... Yeah, I've grown tired of some of my other social channels... Steemit looks like it could get quite fun!

Hey there! Welcome to Steemit! I hope you have the best of luck here! If you want to follow me @jasonallenjames. I talk about all kinds of stuff lol

Hey there... Thanks and to you too!

BBQ is where it's at. I fire up the grill most of the summer for pretty much everything. If it can be cooked then fire can cook it.

Welcome aboard.

My sentiments exactly!
I sense we're gonna get along like a house on fire over here :p

Yeah, will probably run into you on chat again. Either way, good lock!

I look forward to it... and Thanks!

Welcome to Steem. Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.
Also get to know more about Steem reading the Steem Blue Paper and share your feedback on our Steem Blue Paper Awareness Initiative
All the Best!!!

Thanks for the heads-up... unless this was an automated post? turns out a lot of bots are talking to me instead of real people. Please let me know if you're real, and I'll go check out the links :-)

Hello @braaiboy
Posting on Steemit uses markdown. To align images, you will have to resort to good old html, which is discouraged. If I have lost you already, don't bother, just leave them as is.

Hey @nikv ,

I used to be a developer in my past life, and used to write HTML in notepad before all the fancy IDEs came along... I admit that I haven't done so in several years though, and so I might be a bit rusty :p

FWIW: The problem (it seems) was using old school markup too close (or too far) from Steemit's markdown... anyway... I'm sure I'll come right with enough trial and error... Thanks for weighing in!

I'm sure you are enjoying the current life more ;) As your SP improves, you will be given the option of either a very basic WYSIWYG editor or markdown and you can play around with it a little then. Frankly, I wouldn't bother too much about it

Came across this, if you are still with us. You'll be able to write your own html without using the editor
https://steemit.com/technology/@cmp2020/how-to-format-to-wrap-text-around-images-in-the-steemit-html-editor

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60157.20
ETH 2416.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43