I am on Steemit to finance my future trips: first one will be in July to Spain, Haiti and Dominican Republic

Hello everyone,

my name is Alessio, I am 24 years old and I come from Italy. I am here thanks to the user @fatpandadesign. At first , I will give you a brief insight of my life story (1), then I will detail a bit my travels, where I have been and what my trips are like (2) and finally I will anticipate my future posts here (3). Enjoy the read and don't forget to upvote!

  1. I was born in Cagliari, the capital of Sardinia. At age 7 I moved for 4 years to the Limburg region, in the far south of the Netherlands. At age 11 I went back to Italy, but in a village in Lombardy halfway between Milan and the Swiss border. At 16, I moved for 2 years to Aix-en-Provence, in the south of France. From 14 to 18 I became very engaged in doing theatre, and played shows in Italian and English.

At 18, I moved back to the village in Lombardy to study Politics in Milan. At this age I also started, for 2 years, a collaboration on what was the only site dedicated to the Sardinian hip-hop scene: hiphopsardo.com . I was a record label manager and interviewed several artists that became relevant on the Italian rap scene. One of them is Kill Mauri.

When I was 20, I moved for 6 months for an Erasmus university exchange in Lille, a city in the north of France. This has sparkled my interest for travelling, questioned my life choices and gave a lot more meaning to my life. Currently, I am figuring out where should I move from Italy, finishing my studies and preparing my future trips! The picture below was taken in Yerevan, Armenia.

IMG_20150826_162655.jpg

  1. In my life I have been in 35 countries. Most of them are in Europe, but I have also been to Asia (Turkey, Georgia and Armenia) and Africa (Morocco, Mozambique and a stopover in Angola). I started travelling solo in early 2014, as Lille is 3 hours from Amsterdam, 1 from Bruxelles, 2 from Paris and 1 from Calais, where the ferry to the UK departs. I started hitch-hiking in July 2014. Until that point I had only been to Western Europe.

On my 1st trip, I hitch-hiked from Italy through Slovenia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Albania, Macedonia (FYROM), Bulgaria, Serbia, Hungary, Austria and Switzerland. On that trip, I never paid for accommodation and I spent 40 days on the road.

The first time I experienced culture shock was in December 2014, in Marrakech (Morocco). I overlanded the whole trip from Italy, by taking a bus to Aix-en-Provence (France), then a Blablacar to Cordoba (Spain), then a bus to Algeciras, hitch-hiking the ferry to Tangier then getting a train all the way to Marrakech. I went back by bus (excluding the ferry in Tangier) all the way from Agdz (5 hours south-east of Marrakech) to Ouarzazate, Marrakech, Casablanca, Tangier, Algeciras, Barcelona, Aix-en-Provence and finally Milan.

The trip where I hitch-hiked the furthest was in the summer of 2015, when I hitch-hiked almost all the way from Italy to Armenia, as it was the most distant country where I did not need a visa. (For the full trip,check the picture below) I travel by hitch-hiking, cheap buses and error-fare flights ( I spent 175 for a return flight Lisbon-Maputo!). I sleep in a tent, wherever it's safe (even on the side of the road!) or on somebody's couch. I usually spend a bit more money for eating, as I'm a foodie and do not want to miss out on the local delicacies.

This year, I spent New Year's in Switzerland, went on a Training Course funded by the EU in Transylvania (Romania), then a 10 day trip to Mozambique and a weekend in Lisbon, and one month ago I came back from a 40 day overland trip through Slovenia,Croatia, Serbia, Montenegro, Albania, Greece and Bulgaria.

14639695_1770901029838143_5968934702990310478_n.jpg

  1. I intend to fund myself, and help fellow users, by posting some of my past travel stories and tips and tricks on how to get the cheapest tickets possible. I will start tomorrow by posting a small guide on how to get cheap flights from Europe, with a little insight on which airlines are cheaper for your destination. The picture below is my ticket Barcelona- Punta Cana and how much I paid for it.

hmtYL4.jpg

Sort:  

I want to try more hitchhiking, maybe you can do a post on how to do it effectively and safely ;-)

Did you meet @rondonson yet? He's organizing a hip hop contest here :-)

I will surely do an article, as I've already done a presentation about this at the Alternative Travel Gathering in Amsterdam last summer! I did not meet him or her yet. Besides, I can only rap in Italian.

Just one question: is it true that to engage successfully here on Steemit I need to post once I have 50 followers? Thank you in advance for your comment, I am following you now!

There is no rule or set number, but think about probability, unless you have a few really popular friends who resteem your posts, the more followers the better, and best to have followers you want to be friends with ;-) I followed you

I will keep on engaging with the community then and post my first "real" post sometime later today (it's 9:33 AM here). Because I am actually planning on doing some pretty detailed posts about travelling and it would be a shame if they were hidden!

Hey, Welcome & make some $$$

Thank you Suraj! Money comes with quality and quantity, at least that's what I'm aiming for!

welcome to steemit,hope you will enjoy.

@follow

Thank you Tinashe, I hope you are enjoying this site as well!

i am enjoying,thanks for asking.

Wow, fantastic travels man. Looking forward to hearing some of your stories!

Thank you! Stay tuned as I will post daily!

Welcome to steemit community. You will love it. Following links may help you to get started.
New Users Guide: https://steemit.com/welcome
Dos and don’ts on Steemit:https://steemit.com/steemit/@najoh/dos-and-don-ts-on-steemit
ChainBB Steem Forum: https://steemit.com/chainbb/@jesta/chainbbcom-a-blockchain-forum-platform-for-steem

Thanks for your tips maheshreddy! I will read your posts carefully!

Good Luck on Steemit. I am now following your blog.

Thanks Crowe, I will follow you back for sure! And Xena rocks!

See you on the board then. Good Luck.

Welcome to the platform, I wish everything work out for you. It’s not easy here but not difficult neither but just ask an extra effort, engagement is the key good luck I’m @goodaytraders Start by following people and they will do the same. by the way you going to be in my country Haiti

I will try my best to get engaged, even though I don't travel with a laptop so I will write less posts in a bit! I will surely follow your posts, and thank you for taking the time to comment! Anyway, can I ask you tips about Haiti? Is it doable if in 5 days-ish I go to Cap Haitien, Milot and spend some time on Tortuga Island? I may have a friend of a Facebook contact in Fort Libertè but nothing sure. I will hitch-hike and take public transport.

welcome! wow what a life..you must speak so many languages..may you find success here.

Thank you the bookofuma! So, I am fluent in Italian, English and French. I know a bit of Sardinian, together with some conversational Spanish and Portuguese. I forgot my Dutch but I knew it as a kid. Furthermore, I once spent 12 hours in a car with a German speaker, and I managed to get a lift by using a few words of Bulgarian. Thank you for the encouragement!

Yup..with that amount of travel I would think you speak several :) I have found that people from countries other than the usa usually at the very least speak two..and it seems the more you speak ..the easier it is to speak several..do you dream in your born language? or do you change between..? My father was originally from mexico and he told me he always dreamt in spanish..

Well, having grown up in Sardinia with a bilingual environment (Sardinian and Italian) and having learnt Dutch and English in primary school...

Anyway don't take this for granted. Italy is known for having many monolingual people, who can speak their dialect and Italian at most. We are not that confident with English as can be people in Scandinavia or Benelux :)

About the more you speak the easier it is to learn, this is very true. I knew no Portuguese before Mozambique and picked it up enough in 10 days to order food and beers on my own, have random chats with hotel clerks and go out with nice local ladies =)

I usually don't dream much, but I had a few nightmares last night and I don't remember speaking in any of those dreams. Usually it's Italian though when it happens.

Where are you from then?

wow..thats impressive..but I am not surprised..Im sure speaking all the different languages helps on many levels :)

that suckith about the nightmares I hate that...may the uglies go away tonight..

I am from new mexico, usa..

most actually believe it is mexico...but the "new" version
umm..its actually in the usa is a state and umm is where the first atomic bomb was created ...something Im totally not proud of..but most seem to have heard about that...

pleased to meet you..look forward to your sharing.

Well it does, even though I have learnt English for so long that I sometimes have trouble. Either I'm mistaken for an American or non-native speakers cannot grasp my accent.

It's a pleasure to meet you as well. I don't know much about New Mexico, but I remember that Simpson's episodes with the baseball squad that had to relocate to Albuquerque. It was so funny in the Italian version because they'd call it "Albercookie"!

Welcome Aleesio! Safe travels. Looking forward to your next post :)

Hi emelyeucebio and welcome! It's 1 e and 2 s anyway =)

Quite the journeys you have already been on. I would love to hear more, giving you a follow!

Thank you, I followed you back!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97