a Little Introduction

So here's about all there is to know., for now.... about my #life so far,

Born KrugersDorp South-Africa

IMG_20150630_00203515.jpg

Grew up mostly in Kwa-Zulu Natal, but we moved around a lot, so I experienced much of SA in my youth. Went to 13 Schools in 4 different provinces, before finally finishing up, and going to college.

Started my professional career managing various Restaurants, Bars, and Lodges, This was mostly in
the Hluhluwe area. Growing up and Living in Kwa-Zulu Natal had given me a great love for nature, it came with its ups and downs, but the one thing there is, everything grows. I spent time learning the bush, also caught the odd crocodile in my time there. Helped out on boats or doing game walks in all my free time. Truly an amazing part of South-Africa.

181589_191707674192164_4683110_n.jpg

After getting tired of the Hospitality industry combined with the fact that it just wasn't paying enough, I went into IT and was able to land a job with Pharmaceutical Corporate Company in Johannesburg that did a lot of 3rd party Manufacturing/Packaging for other companies, this is where I went from wearing boardshorts and slops to suites and ties, found a wife. In my third year in Johannesburg, my son was born, and I made the decision to move back down to KZN, this we did and I started working with family, - never a good idea.

424544_364131280283135_276097182_n.jpg

Needless to say I ventured out on my own, and started my own IT Company and Shop in the town of Mtubatuba. This ran quite nicely until around when I ended my marriage, sold the IT company and pretty much everything else

I proceeded in moving in at a friends Backpackers in St.Lucia, in order to stay near my son. So it was back into #Tourism I went and started managing Backpackers/Pubs, and still doing the odd IT Job, Wireless, CCTV and Security Installations, I was able to do #guided walks with #Tourists in my free time whilst working, I also assisted in training of jnr field guides.., for a good part of this time I lived in a tent in one of the camp sites, next to a buddy of mine, Deiric Welsh, great guy and Skipper on one of the Boats that cruise you up and down the estuary part of Lake Saint Lucia. I loved going on those cruises, took my son along many times.

253565_10150630119110271_1516462_n.jpg

After a couple years of this, my son became of age, where he could choose which parent he wanted to live with, thus the need for a High School for himself, Empangeni was the logical option for High Schools in the area, so we moved there, also helped that my mother was still living there. Back to my home town where I spent my High School years.

Here I started working more in the #security installations industry helping out a friend in his company, but still doing IT mostly. Eventually with the help of an investor I was able to help my mom secure a company for herself, when we opened a School. Unfortunately our investor wanted the whole project for himself, and forced us out. At the same time I was starting up with a wireless provider in the area, and still providing #IT services to lodges and companies in the greater Zululand area, but again there's never enough money, especially with the bear market we've had.

IMG_20180210_105917.jpg

I have since moved back up to Johannesburg, closer to family. I still do the odd Security Installation, and some IT work for the restaurant Industry, but mostly I relax at home, check the markets, I do seem to spend a lot more time on twitter, telegram and discord since going into #crypto in September 2017, So yes I experienced the Bullrun, and nope I didn't sell the top - very unfortunate for myself.

Besides Crypto these last almost 2 years, I enjoy growing my own food and #herbs (including mary jane), seeing it is now legal to grow your down here, still figuring out my new climate, not the same up here as in Zululand, the soil as well seems less fertile. I still love the outdoors, fishing, camping, going on hikes in the bush or on the beach, when I can get down to the coast.

So I might share bits of working with #Wildlife some #Game Drives or #guided walks, when I get a gap, there will probably be some #Gardening and #DIY stuff, but predominantly I will be sharing what I learn, and what I've learned since starting my crypto experience, together with my #foodgarden #tips, and my #Outdoor #weed growing.

The good, the bad and the ugly.

I hope to see your comments in the feed below, looking forward to meeting everyone..

Sort:  

Hello welcome to steemit @bluntcrypto, I congratulate you for your presentation post, a lot of perseverance and for sure you will succeed, I hope you have lots of fun on the net, I already want to read your publications. God bless you from @jorge090202 from Venezuela.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Howdy from Texas, @bluntcrypto! What an adventure! I've always wondered how big of a crocodile one man could wrestle... There's lots of South Africans here too! I'm Nate, and I'm here to leave you a quick intro/welcome comment :)

Welcome to steem :) We're very glad you're here, and I hope you can dig yourself in and get pretty well established here! You'll find there's a good group of folks here with homesteading and sustainability on their mind. Not the least of which are @riverflows (creator of @naturalmedicine), @sagescrub (creator of @homesteaderscoop), @freedomtowrite and @freedompoint (creators of @ghscollective). They're the ones driving the sustainability bus on steem. Lots of others like @porters, @walkerland, @mountainjewel, @sustainablelivin (@mariannewest's profile for her Sustainable Living Podcast), @squishysquid, @senorcoconut, @ppmsilver, @allyinspirit, @makinstuff, @minismallholding, @simplymike, @papa-pepper, @pennsif, @wildhomesteading, and many many more are the ones in the community making it such a great group to be with. They're all well worth a follow. Your South Africans are @vanessamidwofe, @craigcryptoking, @fionasfavourites, and @buckaroo. I'm sure I'm forgetting something though, but you'll find them I'm sure.

Most communities on steem currently meet on discord, so that's a really handy app for steemians looking to get into the swing of things. It offers a simple, user-friendly messaging place where we can all talk and keep up off chain. There are hopeful developments coming for on-chain options, but those are probably a few forks away. Til then, our three main groups are Natural Medicine, Homesteaders Co-op, and Global Homesteading Collective. The NM and GHSC ones link to discord, the HSCO link is to the marketplace built by @sagescrub where we are able to buy and sell sustainably produced goods using steem, SBD, and USD as well as gift and barter economics. It's the first marketplace of it's kind, and we're all quite excited about it.

Another great tool for steem interaction is @ginabot. A splendid notification service that works through discord to let you know about steem interactions on chain. She'll let you know when you're mentioned, when people send you money, when certain folks make a post, or when posts are made with your favorite tags. Very very helpful, and I think most steemians use Gina.

One thing you'll find is that there are a lot of interfaces with the steem blockchain. There's steemit.com, busy.org, steempeak.com, partiko.app, d.tube, steepshot, dsound, and many others that all boast different features and benefits. I prefer steempeak, but it's a fun learning experience to try a few for yourself, as steemit is a very basic interface that leaves much to be desired. Thats an intentional situation though, as Steemit Inc (Stinc) has bigger things to worry about.

I hope this little introduction can help you a bit. Things like this weren't being done much during the hectic time when I joined steem. With the price of steem being down (you'll find nobody cares much about that), things have calmed down as the moochers and weak hands have left. The folks you encounter here are the ones that truly desire to be here and see promise in the platform. We're here for the long haul, and we hope you find value here as well. :)

Welcome,

Nate and the whole sustainability community of steem.

P.S. @bluntcrypto, I've set you to be the beneficiary of 75% of this comment's earnings. Guys, if y'all upvote this one, he'll get a bit extra ;)

Howzit, @bluntcrypto - from McGregor in the Winelands! Lovely to have another Saffa on board. You will also find a bunch of us in the team South africa Discord (https://discord.gg/TEQP3Z) and in the PowerHouseCreatives (aka @steemitbloggers). And, do make use of @nateonsteemit's advice regarding tools like @ginabot. Also if you are active on the social media, you might want to share directly from Twitter and Instagram to Steemit via @share2steem. Here's a link if you want to set it up https://share2steem.io/?ref=fionasfavourites. Has made a bit difference to me.

Hope you have a long and happy journey here! Welcome!

PS Nice gesture @nateonsteemit - so happy to be part of such a great community even if I'm not as active as I'd like to be!

I knew you'd be able to help him out :)

These welcome comments have quite become my niche here. I love this stuff, there were THREE today!

You are welcome - I have called you over to say hi to another newbie - perhaps not a potential GHS member, but could use your tips ;)

Congratulations @bluntcrypto! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Reply
You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Welcome to the Steemit Blockchain
bluntcrypto enjoy

Thank you for the welcome, I have been here previously, but lost my passphrase to that account. Taken me just over 10 months to get back and start a new account. Looking forward to my time here again.

Well then, welcome back. 👍🏿

Congratulations you've been chosen by our curators at Canna-Curate for great cannabis content! If you'd like to join our curation trail
JPEG_20180729_131244.jpg
12.5SP - 25SP - 50SP - 100SP - 250SP - 500SP - 1000SP

Welcome bluntcrypto!
eSteem is the application that improves your experience on Steem. You have full control over your data and content, unlike some apps we don't use our users to promote our application or services.

We have Mobile application for Android and iOS users. We also have developed Surfer Desktop application that helps you to gain new followers and stay connected with your friends, unique features - notifications, bookmarks, favorites, drafts, and more.
We reward our users with encouragement upvotes as well as monthly giveaways rewarding Spotlight top users and active Discord users.
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Welcome back! Great price now also to stack up on steem compared to 10 months back lol :)

Be sure to check out @canna-curate, we even have the first weed cultivation game on the steem blockchain happening which I'm fucking well exited about! Great to have ya back!

Welcome South African brother. A little bounty for you; earn 15SP from me to use for a week or more by login in on partiko through this link; https://partiko.app/referral/akomoajong

Partiko is the most amazing dApp for interacting on Steem and you will sure do love it as much as I do.

Posted using Partiko Android

Welcome to this community

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for the warm welcome

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57791.14
ETH 2962.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67