Re-Introductions Abounding

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Six weeks you say, Piotr… where did that time go?


howdy

Since Piotr has decided that we’re going to stick around for the long haul on this platform, and has taken the leap to introduce himself properly, I guess I should jump on the bandwagon and do the same. Scrolling back to our maiden post, it occurs to me that I never really introduced myself properly to start with. That was a bit rude. On top of that, I want to make it clear that I do exist and am not a figment of Piotr’s wild imagination or a fictional writing partner devised to trick you somehow into believing in this ‘concept’ blog.

Those salient points aside though, how will you and I ever become friends if you don’t know me?

My name is Racheal, I’m the other half of the @bluejack7 partnership.


That's what I look like today. If I look sickly, it's because I have the flu

Unlike Piotr, I’ve been trying this blogging gambit out on a number of sites for a while now. This is my first attempt with Steemit though, and I’m still finding my feet. To be honest, the whole bitcoin thing is way above my head. I leave most of that side of things up to Piotr to sort out. He’s got a real passion for it. You can find a couple of links at the end of this post, which will take you to other sites I run or contribute to. From time to time bits and pieces will be adapted from one site to another. As someone that works and studies full time, there are moments when I run short of hours in the day and as such, things get appropriated for different audiences rather that written from scratch all the time. I will always write from scratch when I can, but ultimately, I’m just one woman. I know some people get upset about things like reposting and reappropriating, but at least I am being up front about it and essentially, it’s all me.


June, visiting Piotr in London

I currently live in Melbourne – which may or may not be as exciting as London, depending on your interests. I’ve known Piotr for about 13 years. We met when he was but a young lad and I was just a weird young woman and we were both living deep in the wild and untamed lands of rural New South Wales (Australia). As he mentioned, he is Polish. A transplant from the other side of the world, the chain of events that led he and his family deep into the Australian wilderness and consequentially him into my life are of endless fascination to me. Perhaps we can save debates about destiny and fate for another time though. I am not as interesting in so far as cultural heritage, just your basic Australian/Kiwi mix. Where Piotr is ‘care free’ and something of the quintessential, well-travelled bloke, I am the opposite of all those things – oh, and uncompromising to boot.


Young pups at the 12 Apostles, Great Ocean Road, Victoria. Circa 2010

The first time I saw Piotr, he was bent over the oven in my kitchen, cooking a three-course meal and making a God-awful mess of the place. I was furious, but his dessert skills were epic. Thus, I forgave him and we’ve been tolerating each other with differing degrees of patience and affection ever since.

We’re very similar in many ways, he and I, which should make this blog quite interesting. To those that know us both in the real world, we are probably one of the most infuriating partnerships to observe. We are both very stubborn people. When we’re driving towards the same goal (rare), this is a beautiful thing. When we are taking divergent paths towards the same goal (far more common) it is almost like ‘car crash cinema’, so ugly that you can’t look away. Clearly, we’re kindred spirits. This should make for some entertaining reading in the future. Enjoy.

I work in Tertiary Education, am currently in the early stages of PhD candidature (so early, the word embryonic might be the most apt descriptor… so stay tuned for my inevitable descent into lunacy once things get underway). I am also harbouring dreams of becoming an academic/writer/nomadic traveller. One day, I’d like to build my own tiny house and live a largely self-sustaining lifestyle – but that dream is a while off and there are many ‘to do’ items that need ticking off first. Not the least of which is this blogging adventure. I’m also partial to tattoos and am a tragic Elvis fan.

I’ll be writing a bit about travel and history and probably about my cat from time to time. I’m not much of a people person, so I don’t get out a whole lot. Unlike Piotr, I’m not quite so worldly-wise and, while I’ve agreed to embark on a fitness challenge to mirror his ironman training, you’re not going to see me in competition any time in the near or distant future. No doubt there will be some other bits and bobs of writing that I’ll throw in for good measure. I’ve been having trouble riddling out what it is that people want to read about on here, but I’m going to keep trying until I crack you. I will, you know. Eventually.


Me and my main man

Anyway, that’s enough about me for now. Should you have anything you want to ask, have at it. I’m really hoping that you all are going to get very interactive in the comments in the future. Keep in mind, we’re still learning here. I’m doing my best in relation to responses and getting to check out all of your blogs. It’s a talented community that’s developing in this largely unchartered corner of cyber-space and I’m so pleased that Piotr came upon it and invited me along on this adventure with him.

I’m going to take this moment too, to give a shout out to @atopy. She’s been following along from the start and has an amazing blog of her own, so check her out if you haven’t yet.

Thanks for reading.


alright, one more of me and bae - obligatory bathroom selfie!

https://rachealwrites.com/

https://theyounghistoriantravels.com/

https://scifiladynerds.net/

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit

Thank you and thanks for reading!!

I thought an obligatory bathroom selfie includes the toilet too. :>

As always, a pleasure reading you...you do have a knack for writing ..so yes...I think you should give that a go. Maybe try some competition writing here on steemit if time alows it? I ran into quite a few of them (never entered tho).

Think 2 people on one blog is briliant...i have some free time now...idk how will it turn out later when i get back to work. :/

...and get better soon! :)

Glad to see you @Bluejack7 I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community ! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @khunfarang

Travel and history should be interesting. Looking forward to those posts. Thanks!

I'll do my best to keep it fresh and interesting! Thanks for reading :)

WELCOME TO STEEMIT
I appreciate if you follow me,
Your comments are always welcome,
I will try to answer as much as possible,
Good luck with your trip in this communitas,
the best combination with all your friends is no exception,and upvote to your friends as much as possible,and the reverse.

follow me @good-joinned


Regards community steemit
Thank you

Welcome to Steemit @bluejack7, I have upvoted and sent you a tip. Check my blogs if you are looking for tips on how to earn more Steem and SBD.

Thanks for reading and for the comment. We will check out your blog for sure. Always happy to get more info about how this crypto thing works :)

BalkanInfo1 Balkan Info tweeted @ 13 Aug 2017 - 22:47 UTC

Ronaldo ušao sa klupe, postigao gol i dobio crveni karton.
Više na ▶ viahold.com/2R8Z
#RealMadrid
#ronaldotwitter.com/i/web/status/8…

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Learn more about the @resteembot project in the introduction post.

Welcome to steemit. Your so beautiful also. :)

Thanks for the welcome, Claudene.
It's all angles and filters. I don't actually look like that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61577.64
ETH 3448.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53