Introducing: Bjorneo, Orangutans & Artificial Intelligence

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Filmmaker, photographer & writer in Indonesia since 2009

@bjorneo | FB: Bjorneo Bear | http://www.bpi-pt.com

BJÖRN, BORNEO, BJORNEO

My name is Björn Vaughn and I live in Central Kalimantan on the Indonesian side of Borneo. My alias @bjorneo combines my birth name with the name of the island I call home. How I ended up in this unique part of the world is a unique story.

Together with my brother Pierce and a team of Indonesian filmmakers I run a film company called Borneo Productions International (BPI). We have been making films in Indonesia since 2009. Many of our films are environmentally oriented.

Over the years, I have explored the pristine rainforest in the heart of Borneo and seen enough environmental devastation to last a life time. These uplifting and depressing experiences have affected me profoundly.

Today, part of my work is to communicate complex environmental themes through film, photography and writing. My guiding philosophy is to work with people, rather than against.

Last year, I spent more time with orangutans than with my human friends. I fly drones up jungle rivers, grow orchids in my jungle lounge, play Kalimba, play with my 5-year-old son, and occasionally check in on what's happening in the world of decentralized ledgers, such as blockchain.

MIT professor Max Tegmark's book Life 3.0 - Being Human in the Age of Artificial Intelligence is the book I recommend reading these days. As some are calling the emergence of AI both inevitable and the most important conversation of our time - some placing it above Climate Change -, I want to participate in this conversation and explore if and how AI can help us take better care of our natural world.

Through joining this platform I am giving you a glimpse into my work and life in Borneo. If you have similar interests or want to get in touch, I'd love to hear from you.

Below I've attached a few photographs, as well as my company showreel and a link to our website. There's a lot more where this came from. Thank you for reading and stay tuned!

Within walking distance of my house: the winding rivers of Central Kalimantan, Indonesian Borneo



Among orphaned orangutans and their babysitters. A large part of my work focuses on the plight of the critically endangered great ape of Asia. BOS Foundation, East Kalimantan, Indonesia, 2017


Groundfire. My photo of a burning peat forest taken during the 2015 haze disaster in Central Kalimantan, Indonesia: "The biggest environmental crime of the 21st century" - The Jakarta Globe, 23 October, 2015


Holding hands with Jerry, a large male orangutan at the rehabilitation center for orphaned orangutans under BOS Foundation. How can we create a better future for humans, orangutans and all life on Earth?


Documentary showreel by Borneo Productions International (BPI). Our clients include the BBC, ChannelNews Asia (CNA), Natural History New Zealand (NHNZ), Greenpeace, Care International, The United Nations, Borneo Orangutan Survival (BOS) Foundation and many others. More at http://www.bpi-pt.com
Sort:  

Welcome to the STEEM Universe :) Seems like you have some interesting projects going on - maybe a little documentary on @dtube would be great! Anyways, resteemed you for some publicity! Greets!

Welcome to the Steemit party @bjorneo! I jst posted a short post yesterday about the ravages made to the rainforest in Borneo (i only visited the Malaysian side). Your photos are beautiful. I look forward to reading your articles.

Thank you, I checked out your work and followed you back. I like the human story of the father who is tired of working in a plantation. There are countless micro stories like these which together create a bigger picture which sometimes deviates from the mainstream narrative. It's good to dig these up as it helps create understanding for what is actually going on. Thank you for your comment, I have almost a decade of Borneo-based film and photography to share :)

Welcome aboard Björn !

Thank you!

i just follow and upvote to your post ,, so kindly follow me back and upvote at given link ,, then i will upvote to your five more posts

https://steemit.com/news/@awais55/how-to-help-the-victims-of-the-florida-school-shooting-and-avoid-scammers

welcome to the era of freedom

Thank you...

Congratulations @bjorneo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to steem bro. Followed you already. Can’t wait to see more posts from you. :) best of luck.

Thank you!

welcome to the community!

Amazing work! <3

I found you through osm0sis’s Borneo post. What beautiful photographs and story!

I’m part of the #newbieresteemday initative. We’re all volunteers trying to help newcomers start on here with a warm welcome. I have no doubt you will be successful on here but please let us know if you have any questions.

Thank you! Yes, still learning how it works. Wondering why my post won't display the cover image. I am currently linking to FB URLs. What can I do differently?

Support appreciated!

The photos display on the page, but not on the thumbnail. Odd, I'm not sure. I've never linked from a FB URL before.

You can try copying the image link to this free site. I've tried it before and it works fine. Log-in is not required, but not sure what copyright they will have on the photos you use with their site.

I would then copy the markdown URL and paste into the Steemit post. You should be able to edit the post. Don't edit often though, you will lose bandwidth! That will limit your time online. I advise to edit this time because your intro post is important.

https://postimages.org/

Thanks for the help - it worked! Any other recommendations, I'm all ears.

Interesting what you say about losing bandwidth when you edit. Best refrain from doing that, huh?

Thanks again!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61291.28
ETH 2671.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52