Introducing myself, Billy Bob Todd

in #introduceyourself4 years ago (edited)

Hello steem community and thanks for stopping by. I'm @billybobtodd and I just joined steem a couple months ago. I have 5 kids who are my life, 4 boys and 1 girl, ages are 11, 7, 5, 2, and 6 months. They all keep me busy and as a man I must admit, having a daughter is terrifying but at least she has two older brothers and two younger brothers to protect her and help me keep the losers away from her.

My wife and I are originally from the city but we knew that wasn't where we wanted to raise our kids. We have always loved animals and tried to grow as much of our own food as possible. We had big dreams of homesteading and self sufficientcy but very little money so we staked our claim on some family land and built a tiny house.

Living in a tiny house with 4 kids (5th wasn't born yet) was a learning experience. It forced everyone to accept life without much for privacy. We had to be as efficient as possible in all aspects of life because there was no room not to be. It's hard for most nowadays to imagine but the only utility we had was electricity. It was like going back in time which initially we relished but it also made some simple tasks unreasonable which wore us out. It gives you a new respect for what our ancestors went through without all the advantages of technology.

For example washing dishes didn't mean loading a dishwasher and pushing a button. It entailed me hauling water from the nearest pond. Before using the water I had to filter it, boil it to make it sterile, then I soaked the dirty dishes until the water cooled enough for me to be able to wash dishes without burning myself. It could easily take a couple hours of prep before I was even able to actually wash the dishes.

I have always loved problem solving so I enjoyed those early days. It brought me great pride setting up our hillbilly water line. It took days to perfect but once completed I no longer had to haul water. I added a filtration system so I no longer had to do that step either. We still had to boil but I saved my back a lot of pain plus it made the whole process faster, though it was still pretty time consuming.

The first winter was tough and a big eye opener. Once the pond froze my water line was useless. I had to chop through the ice and scoop and haul all over again. As we got deeper into winter I couldn't even chop through the ice anymore. This meant traveling a mile to the nearest hydrant and hauling water back from there. Although it was clean water, I struggled to haul enough for my family and all of our livestock who normally take care of water on their own, when the pond wasn't frozen.

2019 came and we were ready to finally build a house big enough for our family. Unfortunately, life didn't care about my plans and threw a massive curveball. My son was sick and we couldn't find a Doctor that knew what was wrong with him. We were dismissed by many as paranoid parents that were delusional. How I wish they were right. After a dozen visits with various pediatricians and ER doctors he was finally admitted to the hospital on his 2nd birthday. After 3 days of going through every test imaginable we were given the news that shook us to our core. Our son was diagnosed with LCH, a rare blood cancer that spreads rapidly. He has fought it as hard as he can and is making great progress. Now I dream of the day when he is 100% cancer free and done with all the chemo and painful procedures.

In May our fifth child was born prematurely, causing us to live at the hospital for another 11 days while he gained strength in the NICU. Unfortunately the house I promised my wife would be complete before his birth was not done yet so I worked as nonstop as I could to catch up. As soon as electricity was in we moved in. It was still far from done but it was better than living in the tiny house.

I could keep going but I think this is already getting long. Thanks for stopping by and best wishes. I have a lot of good stuff I can post about but rarely have any freetime to do so. I guess that means I may post again tomorrow or due to my chaotic life, it may be a month but hopefully not. I think steemit is a great concept and I am excited to join the community20191123_202819_Burst01.jpg.20191113_063735-1.jpg20191120_162922.jpg20191108_075223_Burst01.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit!!! I look forward to more posts from you.

Welcome to Steem billybobtodd! Partiko is officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

I love cats. Very cute.

Greetings @billybobtodd, Welcome to the steemit world!

Congratulations @billybobtodd! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Goodday and Welcome to the great community of Steemit, Billy
YESS You are a new Steemian now!
I saw your #introduceyourself and its nice to meet you. We haven’t met before but that changes right now. Dont let all the replies and bots scare you.
Just comment if you get scared and i Will help out.
If you download the app Steemify for notifications you see what Will happen in your account.
Blogging, building and uplifting eachother is what steemit is and what its all about on this blockchain. The best part is that you could earn money to.

I love blogging, But always be carefull with all your passwords, Never give those up !!
https://steemit.com/community/@brittandjosie/4-o-clocky-steem-keys-key-to-your-succes-so-secure-them

The Steemify App I use is great, it is available in the Appstore and free, go cheque it out. Or read this blog
https://steemit.com/busy/@exyle/using-steemify-to-stay-up-to-date-about-the-blockchain-like-project-destiny-please-consider-blockbrothers-for-your-witness-vote‬
I wish you good luck with steeming and I Will See you around🍀
Good luck with your journey and may you find here what you are looking for.
Just remember that all good things come in good time and never giving up is THE key to big succes on Steemit.

Please vote for a witness to. You have 30 votes and if you dont understand let me know and i Will help. Also you could join the SteemTerminal Discord.
Or visit @heyhaveyamet #HHYA and My friend @xcountytravelers for more newbies exposure in the beginning very important.

Let me know if this was helpfull or you need more help, I am in Discord too @ brittandjosie3488
Greeting from the Netherlands
@ Brittandjosie
steemterminal discord invite
https://discord.gg/pxBj9b

have a great journey here

Hello and welcome to steemit. Hope you enjoy here

Welcome my friend we are here to support each other , you got a new follower

Welcome to the Steemit community @billybobtodd!
We sincerely hope you find everything you are looking for and have found a new home here.

Eight suggestions to consider:

  1. Guard your passwords carefully, and only publish with the posting key,
  2. Use your active key only for wallet transactions, keychain and steemconnect,
  3. The master password is only used to reset compromised passwords,
  4. DO NOT lose your passwords; copy and store offline,
  5. Do not publish other people's work, be it photos or written, without credit,
    be sure to source all of your work, even if it is your own.
  6. An introduceyourself tag is used only once, and
  7. When you open your steemit.com, in the upper right corner of the page there are 3 bars. Click on those, and then on the "welcome", and you will get a lot of reading material that will help you.
  8. Do NOT open any links in memos or comments that you do not know who they belong to. If it sounds too good to be true it probably is, so the old saying goes. There is nothing free here.

I found you because @xcountytravelers and @brittandjosie from @heyhaveyamet presented and promoted your publication to get more exposure and help you grow faster.

If you find yourself overwhelmed and need some guidance, or if you have any questions, there are informed Steemians available who can help you; you can click to go to the Steem Terminal in Discord here:

SteemTerminalBanner.jpg

Have fun and happy Steeming!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84