Game Development Undergrad - New Beginnings

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

BEGINNERS.png

Summary: I love empowering others. I am an undergrad at Full Sail University's game development program and will be writing guides on what I learned for those interested in game development.

Here is a rough outline of what to expect:

Career development
-Presentation
-Organizational Planner: Pursue Growth
-Research

Math Development
-Discrete mathematics
-Linear algebra

Computer Science
- Programming
- Systems Programming
- Data Stuctures and Algorithms
- Software Engineering
- Applied Human=Computer Interaction
- Digital Logic
- Operating Systems
- Computer Organization and Architecture
- 3-d Content Creation
- Information and Database Systems
- Computer Graphics
- Probability
- Computer Networks
- Engine Development
- Artificial Intelligence
- Game Architecture
- Game Integration

Other
-Steemit tips and tricks for beginner's (like myself)
-6 Terms to Learn when Entering Computer Science

Hello everyone,

I am a game developer undergrad who just started. I am a few months into my program and expected to graduate early 2020. I will be sharing my experiences and knowledge acquired along the way to anyone interested in learning how to develop on their own. I originally tried to learn on my own but found myself spread too thin across all the computer science topics.

A little background:

I have always been interested in game development and am an avid gamer who has spent many many hours gaming. I don't just mean digital gaming either. I also play traditional games such as cards. My gaming hours would be considered compulsive to most as I would game 16 hours/day for months straight without taking a day off. I've done this multiple times in my life. I still function, eat, wash up, but I've also wanted to contribute to the gaming world and not just play every day.

A couple years ago, I was discussing how to get into game development and what the best route was for someone completely new to this side of games with indie game award winner Tom Happ. He told me that a formal learning program would be best as you would learn from industry professionals and be able to really learn fast. Also, the proper methods and figuring out solutions would be easier being taught correctly. He had heard good reviews of Full Sail University and suggested that I attend there.

Fast forward to today, I am currently enrolled in the program and a few months into it with a 4.0 GPA. I am just now starting to get into the good stuff involving computer science like discrete mathematics and programming. The first few courses that I had taken involved more general education that you could apply to any career such as presentation, organization, and research methods.

This is where I begin

I completely support auto-didactics and am one myself. I also believe finding a mentorship is crucial if you want to learn fast and learn right. I will be writing tutorials on the crucial elements of what I've learned and hopes that it will help you with your journey.

Feel free to contact me at any time:

My site: Thrill Dev

Ask me anything: Live

Help support these guides: Ryan's Living Expense in College

R.A. Bickell | Automatic Sock Pairer | Game Development | Full Sail University
p 949.878.8977 | e [email protected]

Sort:  

Look out for @steempunknet, we already have a game here on STEEM ;)

Haha thanks, maybe we @steempunknet and I can grow alongside on this monster of a platform :P

I cannot edit this post anymore so for a updated completed table of contents go to my main site: https://thrilldev.com/game-development-guide/

Welcome to Steem. Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.
Please bookmark Steem BluePaper and Steem Whitepaper and don't miss reading when you have time.
All the Best!!!

Welcome to Steem. Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.
Please bookmark Steem BluePaper and Steem Whitepaper and don't miss reading when you have time.
All the Best!!!

Welcome to Steem. Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.
Please bookmark Steem BluePaper and Steem Whitepaper and don't miss reading when you have time.
All the Best!!!

Welcome to Steem. Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.
Please bookmark Steem BluePaper and Steem Whitepaper and don't miss reading when you have time.
All the Best!!!

Welcome to Steem. Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.
Please bookmark Steem BluePaper and Steem Whitepaper and don't miss reading when you have time.
All the Best!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 59139.79
ETH 2511.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41