Greetings from South Africa!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Good day fellow Steemit users!
I've been delaying my introduceyourself post for way too long so here goes:

My name is Bernard Stals, I am 21 and currently studying BCom Actuarial Science at Stellenbosch University in South Africa and I am planning to finish my Honours by the end of next year.
This is me casually drifting down the Orange River where me and a few friends from university went on holiday in April of last year.
1916184_10208892963351468_4352307039737861352_n.jpg

I first heard about Steemit on one of TheDollarVigilante's youtube videos and it immediately sparked my interest. This lead me to do a bit of research into cryptocurrencies which opened up a whole new world for me!
cryptocurrency_art_gallery_by_namecoin-d9ibhs8.jpg

I am planning on posting content mainly relating to economics and the direction the world economy is taking as we see our fiat currency (paper money) system slowly coming to an end which leads me back to my excitement about cryptocurrency and the role it is going to play in the future.
That's about it! I'm looking forward to start creating content and become part of the Steemit community!

Sort:  

welcome to steemit we happy to have you here.I am from Zimbabwe i created a forum where help each other grow on discord- joinhttps://discord.gg/dTgjBJr
STEEM UPVOTE LOGO.jpg

Cool thanks @tinashe, maybe I will take a look

I welcome you to the colorful world of steemit! You will definitely get a whole new experience from all the wonderful people in this community.
Also feel free to check out and follow @GLOBALFOODBOOK for assorted mouthwatering recipes from around the world.

Thanks! These recipes look great, followed.

It is my pleasure. Thanks

Hi Bernard and welcome to steemit. I am looking forward to your economy posts.

Thanks @jamjamfood, i will be uploading in the near future

Welcome to steemit community. You will love it. Following links may help you to get started.
New Users Guide: https://steemit.com/welcome
Dos and don’ts on Steemit:https://steemit.com/steemit/@najoh/dos-and-don-ts-on-steemit
Top Earners List:https://steemwhales.com/
ChainBB Steem Forum: https://steemit.com/chainbb/@jesta/chainbbcom-a-blockchain-forum-platform-for-steem
If you find this post useful, Feel Free to up vote, follow me.

Im already enjoying it thanks @maheshreddy! The dos and dont's really helped

Would love to read more of your post on economics, Brother what is Actuarial Science by the way ? ..And hey Welcome to steemit.

Upvoted your post!
You Can follow me @utfull
Will follow you back! See you around.

Thanks @utfull, much appreciated. Actuarial Science in its simplest form is identifying and managing all sorts of risk. A lot of Actuaries work for insurance companies where they create models to calculate what premium to charge different clients, but nowadays an Actuary can work in pretty much any industry as long as there are a lot of uncertainty involved. So using statistics to better understand the upside or downside of a particular problem is something Actuaries do alot. Hope this explains it!
My economics posts are coming soon :)

Congratulations @bernardstals! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64158.52
ETH 3293.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.46