Medical Student

Hi guys,

I'm @benjaminrushmd, and I'm a medical student in the United States. I'm aiming to become a surgeon, and have a bunch of interests ranging from economics to molecular biology to aviation.

One of my biggest influences - and perhaps the reason why I decided to go into medicine - is Dr. Aubrey de Grey, who proposed that we could achieve life extension through molecular-level repair of cellular damage resulting from ageing.



I discovered Steemit through a Facebook post by a popular political personality, and ended up here as a result! I've always wanted to blog about medical topics, and this looks like a great outlet!

I'm currently working on a series offering an insider's perspective as to why the US healthcare system has so many issues, and also would like to branch out to explaining some of the interesting things in medicine, such as metastatic cancer, high blood pressure, etc.

Also, I'd also be interested in hearing and answering any questions that people have about medicine or their health conditions!

Thanks and Steem on!!!

P.S. Interesting microscopic picture of cancer: More specifically, breast cancer that has spread to the cervix. You can tell that these cells are cancerous because they exhibit something called the "Desmoplastic Reaction" in which they start producing a lot of connective tissue (pink) around them. They also have weird looking nuclei (blue).

Please let this be a reminder to get yourself screened! (And exercise, because it reduces the risk of cancer by as much as 30%!)



Sort:  

Hello! It's nice to see you here! Hope you enjoy it on here as much as I do.
I wish you the best! Hope you gonna have fun with our community and see you soon.

Thanks! Looks like a great place to be!

How are you? @Benjaminrushmd, I'm just here to leave a nice Hello ^^. Unfortunately i don't have much voting power, but i will be back and vote my followers. Need to grow a little ^^. Have a great time @rightuppercorner

Welcome to Steemit @benjaminrushmd. You sound like you'll be posting some fascinating things, and I look forward to reading them in the future!

Welcome to steemit !! You look like an amazing writer!!Hope you have a wonderful time on steemit ☺

Do follow me for fun content!! @imhiteshgarg

source (2).gif

Welcome Benjamin. It's great to have you. Can you write article about my the microbiome and sequencing? https://steemit.com/life/@husamia/my-first-microbiome-report-after-a-month-of-fasting

this test is fascinating and I hope to learn more about it

Sure! I'll take a crack at it!

@benjaminrushmd Hey how are you doing , let me welcome you to steemit, its an awesome experince, hope you have fun, i have followed you. feel free to follow back @joendegz

Is that a bacteria or something that can be seen only in a microscope, that it quite amazing of you. followed you so i could check on your activities on lab and other. Good luck.

It's an image of cervical tissue I sourced from here! http://www.pathologyoutlines.com/topic/cervixmets.html

Not bacteria, but actual human cells!

Ahhh.. i see, its good a source of information also.. Thanks.

Congratulations @benjaminrushmd! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new SteemFest⁴ badge is ready
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @benjaminrushmd! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61423.30
ETH 3383.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54