How I decided to save the world

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Hi Steemians! I’m new to the community and wanted to introduce myself.

New Beginnings

I grew up in Forks, WA (Yes, the sparkly vampire place). Forks is a small logging town located in a rural area of the Washington coast. Growing up I barely traveled more than a few hundred miles from my hometown. After High School, I spent many years working in mills or driving trucks. So many in fact, that my current office attire includes flannel shirts and steel toe boots. I guess once you find your style it’s hard to roll it back. :)

When I was 35 I decided that it was time for a new adventure in life and enrolled at the local community college. At that point I was a single parent of three young boys, ages 12, 6, and 4. Today, I have a Master’s degree in Public Health and am considering doctorate programs, but this isn’t the story of surviving college while working and raising three children by myself (although there may be a point in sharing that story another time). Today I promised to tell you how I decided to save the world.

As I mentioned, my world view was pretty small in those days. Sure, I had seen the late night TV advertisements promising to support hungry children somewhere in the world for the price of a mere cup of coffee, but those places seemed barely real. While working to complete a Bachelor’s degree in Children’s Studies I began to read about the difficult lives of children around the world. There are children around the world that lack access to basic things like food, clean water, education, or health care. There are children who need to work to help support their families, sometimes even working dangerous jobs such as mining. Children are forced into the sex trades or militias. At some point, I decided that these weren’t just problems out in the world, they are our problems, these are my problems.

What’s next

My ultimate career goals include disease outbreak response, and working to help child soldiers and children otherwise caught up in armed conflicts. I famously told my neighbors daughter that I’d probably die in a jungle somewhere, and that Bruce Willis would play me in the movie. lol. Right now, I’ve still got my own family to raise before I can go run off around the world.

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t think the world is a bad place. I’m optimistic about the world. Over the years, I’ve heard old men complain about politics, crime, drugs, technology, and how the world was generally better back in the “good old days.” Those old men are wrong. I think the world is better off than it was in the “good old days” and that there are even better days on the horizon. The things that are wrong in the world, we can work together and fix.

For the last few years I have worked on many problems that are right here in front of me. I advocate for the importance of unstructured play in the lives of children. I’ve written and presented on the use of deadly force by law enforcement (and have more planned on that topic). I've been involved in a variety of emergency preparedness projects and occasionally teach classes on personal emergency preparedness. Finally my current 9-5 job is researching occupational health and safety issues in maritime occupations.


I’m excited to be a part of Steemit and excited about meeting people and getting to know the community. I look forward to writing more about myself and my journey, as well as the many projects that I’m working on. :)

Sort:  

Good luck on Steemit! You WILL change the world!

Welcome

Welcome to Steem @ben-mph I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Welcome to Steemit! I wish you all the best in this platform and in all your projects! You can count on me for anything you need. I send you a big hug from Argentina! @kryptoland 👍🏻😄🇦🇷

That is an interesting story. Sorry you have had so much trouble with your invention. Hopefully interest in the technology will continue to grow.

I hope so. Usually it will take a global virus break out to cause panic and then everyone will want one

WELCOME.gif
I like your introduction, so I also gave you an upvote.

I'm in between on the state of the world. We live in exciting times. But we also live in trying times. There is something to be said about the good old days.

Thanks for the read! :) I think we all tend to remember historical times fondly and in many ways they were simpler. But on the whole we tend to live longer, healthier, safer and more comfortable lives than many of our ancestors.

Hi. I am a volunteer bot for @resteembot that upvoted you.
Your post was chosen at random, as part of the advertisment campaign for @resteembot.
@resteembot is meant to help minnows get noticed by re-steeming their posts


To use the bot, one must follow it for at least 3 hours, and then make a transaction where the memo is the url of the post.
If you want to learn more - read the introduction post of @resteembot.
If you want help spread the word - read the advertisment program post.


Steem ON!

Welcome, brother!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62932.98
ETH 3353.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47