INTRODUCTION by ARTIST Bella Volen

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hello dear Steemit World,
a short introduction of myself.

My name is Bella Volen, Vienna-based professional academic fine & visual artist. I work worldwide as an artist and art instructor.

bella-volen-2016.jpg

My focus is mainly in canvas painting and human transformations through body painting, photography, and video. I also create murals, performance, installations, stage design, stage costumes and book illustrations. My world is colorful and different. I build also costumes made of painted balloons combined with LED light, a mix I called Paintloon.

Here you can have a look at my video reel.


I work in following directions: painting, murals, photography, video, bodypainting, art commissions, performances, art for events, I also offer original art & limited prints prints.

The process of creating is often a gap in time. It is a magical loop hole, a happy peaceful place of the so called No Mind condition, a deep meditation, where your soul speaks, but the profane human self sleeps.

bella-volen-2017.jpg

I think the essence of us humans is invisible and free. The invisible elements are many, but all very important. They are: the time, the spirit, the soul, the power from within, the power in everything (some call Baraka), the thoughts, the ideas, the goals, our hopes, our feelings, believe and faith, the courage, the bravery, the strength, persistence, stamina, love, trust, friendship. These are the elements I am mostly interested in.
There are also negative ones, but we don’t need to think, or talk about them.

Here two examples: The Spirit of The Moment
The-Spirit-Of-The-Moment-painting-on-canvas.jpg


ELECTRIC, a painting about those special moments when we meet someone new and feel a magical connection, as if one meets someone we know. but from the future.
electric-canvas-painting-by-bella-volen.jpg

In my work I try to catch the special moments of the present. The present itself is just the edge between past and future, and before we try to grasp it, it is gone.

ausstellung-bella-volen-stadtgalerie-klagenfurt.jpg

The canvas painting is diving into eternity, into a dreamland. Bodypainting is an art form of the moment, a bridge between the most human tribal traditions and contemporary art.

"If asked
the nature of chanoyu (tea ceremony)
say it's the sound
of windblown pines
in a painting"

~Sen Sotan, (1578-1658)

This is what I am trying to create, paintings, which are alive. I am always working on the „windblown trees“ in my work.

A photo I took in China. I do practice tea as an important daily ritual.
chengdu-china-9.jpg

The total work of art is my biggest passion, where all our senses are activated and different visual qualities, layers, sound, words, movement are melted in one. This is the reason why I create, not only canvas paintings, murals, bodypainting photography art prints, but also short videos, I call Visual Poems.

bodypainting-2.jpg

The following project is an example of a visual poem, a combination of my poetry and visual work. This one is a bit sad, it was inspired by my father and his sister, unfortunately I lost both of them, because of their alcohol addiction. Him in 2011 and my aunt two weeks ago.

A little gif from another visual poem Light From Within. A transformation from within, from the dark to a spring.


Music has been a huge inspiration for me. In some of my works I combine canvas painting, painted human body & music instruments.

body-painting-body-paint.jpg

bodypainting-body-paint.jpg

3-Bodypainting-A-part-of-nature-BellaVolen-2014.jpg

2-Bodypainting-A-part-of-nature-Part-2-BellaVolen-2014.jpg

Coming from an established art family in Sofia, Bulgaria I started my professional art education when I was 12 years old.
I had 13 years of art educations and hold a MA in painting. It has been almost 23 years of painting and 13 years of body painting. I will be 35 years old in December, a stubborn, passionate, smiling Capricorn/Lion.

academic-drawing-bella-volen.jpg

Being just an artist it has never been enough for me. I want to give something in return too. Therefor I also teach painting, drawing, color theory, design & composition, bodypainting, body art history, and business & mindset for artist.

Every major society has had at least one body art tradition. There are so many ways to be human, and many different views of beauty. Sometimes, the marks of identity can be disturbing to others, but they have a very deep meaning.
How many unknown traditions are waiting to be discovered, or presented to a bigger audience? The human civilization has been always dreaming to reach the stars, but we are not even aware of all the cultural treasures still hiding on our planet. Many of these magical traditions are disappearing. A few are already extinct. Some are beautiful, some otherworldly, others scary, but they all are inherently human cultural heritage. They are a very important part of our story in terms of art history, gender studies, ritual culture, social development, world view, even understanding of time and space. They need to be kept alive at the very least through preserving documentation.
In the last 12 years I have traveled the world and been researching all these old tribal traditions, rite of passage rituals. I hope to be able to put them as soon as possible in a book.

Private information: I am vegan, love nature, science, books, museums, old cultures and have a deep connection with different Asian philosophy traditions and countries.

I painted this commission garuda mural for a martial art academy in Vienna
garuda-mural-garuda-painting.jpg
On my website you can find also a lot of photos from different countries and a big photo collection of Tibetan Buddhist sand mandalas.

One of my big loves is augmented reality. I am working with an app called Artivive. When you look at my canvas paintings, post cards, limited edition art prints through the app they get alive.

Here an example from a theater production: Romeo & Juliet with professional actors, dancers and performers with handycap.

stage-performance-potsdam-Romeo-Julia-5.jpg

Here you can see PAINTLOON, where balloon art meets paint. A visual direction created by me.
paintloon_BellaVolen_GuidoVerhoef_1.jpg

A work a created for a fashion calender.
Balloon-Fashion-Balloon-Dress-Body-Art-Fashion-by-Bella-Volen.jpg

One of many costumes created for a show in a shopping mall in Thailand.
balloon-art-bodypainting-dress-costume-paintloon-Peculiar-Garden-3-by-Bella-Volen.jpg

Here how it works, an example form canvas painting & bodypainting for a project in China.
I most paint prima vista- free hand.

As a final touch one of my latest videos.

Many more coming up soon here in steemit. Thank you for your time.
Love & light
Bella


Here you can find more about my art: http://www.bella-volen.com

Sort:  

Servus Bella!

willkommen auf Steemit. Wenn Du Fragen zu Steemit hast, oder Dich mit anderen deutschen „Steemians“ austauschen magst, schaue einfach mal in unserem Chat vorbei: https://steemit.chat/channel/deutsch

Beautiful art and great introduction

Thank you very much for your kind words;))

hi bella-volen-art! :) wow! your work is great! very cool and interesting to look at/watch. im following u and upvoted now.

Welcome to Steemit, Bella. Thank you for sharing this amazing introduction post. I enjoyed reading and looking at your beautiful artwork. I'll be sure to keep an eye out for your future work! Have fun Steeming. :)

Great art!
Welcome to steemit :)

Hi;) Thank you, what a great name you have, infinity road, sounds very inviting to have a look;)

Thank you, I chose it consciously, it is a hint on the content I will put on steemIt soon ;)

You are warmly invited to follow my blogposts if you are interested!
Have a nice weekend :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @bella-volen-art to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Thanks OriginalWorks!

Hi, I am too new to know what is going on;)), but yes all the works are 100% original and mine. @OriginalWorks. My goal has always been to create something different and new. In the last 15 years I had the problem of many people stealing my work or images, but never reversed.

Fantastic Artwork @bella-volen-art! Definitely following you to see more of it! I'm @gogogadgetupvote and I Resteem and Upvote intro posts like this one. I also just did my first contest post. You should go to my blog an look for it (or I can link you to it here, if you don't mind me dropping the link in your comments). Contests are a great way to get your name out there and find likeminded users on the platform. Plus you could win some awesome SBD prizes!

Thank you, sure, I will have a look. I don't know what SBD prizes are, but I will find out. I did win a lot of art competitions and stoped taking part in such things, because at the end one is happy and many unhappy, but a steemit competition shall be a small and cute one I guess;)

Hello, you are welcome to steemit!!! I give you upvote to your post and remember to follow me as a friend to help you grow in this social network!

Thank you Daniel;) sure I will.

thats a lot of talent in one post! congrats! :D

Thank you;), well it is not easy to pick just a few things;)

Congratulations @bella-volen-art! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61875.79
ETH 3013.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69