I moved to Alaska to become a writersteemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

F59E7A5F-8974-4493-BA34-78AC0FC52AE5.jpeg
#introduceyourself

Pilot | Poet | Dad
I moved to Alaska to become a writer.

Hi my name is Lance Ghost Merrick.
I have worked for 40 years as a computer programmer and have raised two beautiful daughters. Both of them doctors!
4AD60B51-EE51-4566-881B-05796C912650.jpeg
Now that both daughters are graduated and married it is time for me to seek out new adventures and redefine my life.

Singer-Songwriter
One bucket list item which I fulfilled in August 4, 2018 (my daddy’s birthday) was writing and publishing my first country blues album. http://bbqdad.bandcamp.com
F96C0C75-3899-48C3-A8CE-0C94E7A425B3.jpeg

As a singer-songwriter I perform multiple times per week in local Alaska bars and music festivals.

I will be posting original songs, lyrics and videos.
067FD45F-122A-4649-8BB3-F2D7A917BD5A.jpeg
Music | Meditation | Meds

Book
I am working on an action adventure novel called “Raptor Rebel Rising”. While this is fiction I weave in many real life experiences. I did research on the drug culture and homelessness by actually living in my truck in Alaska during the winter. These experiences directly impact the story line.

I plan on posting one chapter every 1-2 weeks.
BE891AF4-1E25-48A5-8000-063E9787A846.jpeg
Poetry
Songs are basically poems that tell a story to music. I have a pen name or alias: Amy Jo. Yes, I am male but my pen name is a girl. There are many poems which lend themselves to being told by a woman. Topics include erotica and heartbreaks from her perspective.

Mental Health
I want to raise awareness of mental health and promote understanding to reduce the stigma of being labeled “crazy”
E6FF658D-9CE3-42B8-B13F-24CE2FD1824F.png
I am bipolar.
Sometimes up. Sometimes down.
Just keeping my feet on the ground.
I have meds to tame my moods.
I play music to be understood.
I don't think, I meditate.
I 420 medicate.

I’m just another moody musician that smokes weed.

So I will be posting my experiences of having bipolar and ptsd. Resources and personal struggles.

Obviously I came to steemit to escape the other social media platforms and to make some money with my writing efforts.

However I write to be understood and to understand life. Writing is also therapy for me. So please enjoy my songs, books, poems and life experiences related to being bipolar.

Sort:  

Thanks for being my very first comment or!

Welcome. and good luck with this platform.

Welcome bbqdad!
eSteem is the application that improves your experience here. We have Mobile application for Android and iOS users. We also have developed Surfer Desktop application that helps you to gain new followers and stay connected with your friends, unique features - notifications, bookmarks, favorites, drafts, and more.
We reward our users with encouragement upvotes as well as monthly giveaways rewarding Spotlight top users and active Discord users.
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

I will have to look into this. Thanks

Make sure you check out the weekly open Mic Contest. I would love to hear your music on there. Also looking forward to your poetry. 😎

That sounds like fun how do I join the open mic club?

Every week two of the people (@luzcypher and @pfunk) hold a competition for musicians. It's called Steemit Open Mic. You can read about the most recent one here: https://steemit.com/openmic/@luzcypher/steemit-open-mic-week-111-record-your-performance-and-win-steem-sponsored-by-pfunk-and-luzcypher

Just listened to your album and I really liked it. I'm going to listen to it again right now.

Welcome to Steem bbqdad! Partiko is officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

Welcome to the crazy world of Steemit, brother! Congrats on raising 2 lovely successful ladies. You ought to be proud as nowadays it’s not an easy accomplishment. I hope ya kick some ass here!!! If you have any questions, just lmk and I’ll try my best to shoot ya an acceptable answer!

Congratulations @bbqdad! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply
You published your First Post
You made more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.
You made more than 10 comments. Your next target is to reach 50 comments.
You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Meet the Steemians Contest is over - Results are coming soon ...

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I hope you can comment more about your experience

Nice to meet you here on steemit Mr. Lance @bbqdad.
your not crazy Mr. Lance, crazy/normal is just an illusion hahahaha...

lets roll another join.

Your story, your life, reminds me of that show, Empty Nest. I was born in Oregon in 1985. I think that show is from the 1980's. I don't know a lot about the show. I enjoy writing and was living in Hawaii and then in Vietnam. Oh, I've heard that the northern lights in Alaska is beautiful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64582.42
ETH 3502.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46