Howdy y'all! I'm Austin Patry, and I bought my food truck with Bitcoin!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Howdy y'all!

steemit with white background nose.jpg

My name is Austin Patry, and I’m a 22-year-old entrepreneur in Dallas, TX. I just graduated from Texas Christian University (TCU - not as religious as it sounds - Go Frogs!) with an entrepreneurial management degree. The above picture is me in my "set" which is my bedroom. I hope this post doesn't fall on deaf ears, as I'm stoked to be a part of this community, and I look forward to interacting with all of you! Below is a little bit about me along with some fun pictures! Warning: this post may make you hungry.

Rollin' n Bowlin' Food Truck (That I purchased with Bitcoin!)

Towards the end of my senior year of college, a friend and I started an açaí bowl food truck called “Rollin’ n Bowlin’”. If you've never heard of an açaí bowl, think of it as a thick smoothie with toppings that you eat with a spoon. We're open 7 days/week now, and it’s located around TCU’s campus. We’re pretty popular amongst the TCU community, and we hire only TCU students.

Also, I'm incredibly proud to say that we purchased the truck (actually a food trailer) with bitcoin about 7 months ago. Well, not directly with bitcoin, but I cashed out my Bitcoin which I've been HODLING for many years, and we purchased the food truck with the cash. We accept bitcoin as payment too, and we've had one person pay in bitcoin on opening day! We also did a successful crowdfunding campaign to raise some money!

photo of me and sophia in the window.jpg

Me (all smiles) in my food truck. You can see the QR code to the right of the ipad that I made for people to pay in Bitcoin.

Rnb Qr Code Purple.png

Here's a close up of the code just to verify you'll see it goes to "Rollin' n Bowlin". And, in case anyone wants to send me a few million in steem, that's cool too.

Acai bowl with AB.jpg

And here's an extremely unnecessarily large picture of one of our açaí bowls! We call this one, the "Super Monkey Bowl" and the base has açaí berries, pineapple, mixed berries, banana, spinach, and coconut water. There's locally sourced granola on the bottom and topped with some more granola, fresh bananas, shredded coconut, strawberries, chia seeds, honey, and almond butter. So yummy!

rnb trailer setup.JPG

Here's a picture of the truck. We've got more seating and a few other things since this picture was taken.

Valet Parking App/Software

Since Sophomore year of college, I’ve been working with developers in Turkey to create an app and software management tool for valet parking companies. The app is nearly finished, and we’re going back and forth with valet companies testing and iterating the idea. The app is called “Voilà Valet” and you can think of it as an Uber that integrated with established valet companies.

We provide a lot of data analytics to valet companies and convenience to customers. If a valet company uses our software, then a customer is able to send a timed request for their car, see their car on a map, pay/tip via the app, and see the live valet queue (no more waiting in line outside!) There's a social feature too where everyone waiting for their car can interact with each other. Hit me up if you know of any valet companies you may think would be interested! I'll fly to you!

vv launch final.jpg

Here's a look at the interface and app logo!

Creative Content Creation

Anything entrepreneurial fires me up, and I love to learn. I recently got into podcasts, and I loved the podcast “How I Built This” about how successful companies got started. I started a YouTube channel (austindanielpatry) where I create 2-minute “short startup stories” in which I talk about how big companies started. I will post them on here! They’re pretty quick, entertaining, and filled with knowledge! My biggest outlet is on Instagram @austindanielpatry, but I'd like to change that to Steemit full time!

I'm also about to start a new series where I give people the opportunity to share their creative ideas or startup companies in order to win some free cash. I want it to be like a Shark Tank, but have the audience (you all) vote on your favorite idea, and then reward the winner with the most votes!

craigslist_thumbnail.jpg

Can't wait for what's to come here on Steemit!

Sort:  

welcome to steemit!!!

Thank you! Still trying to figure it all out, but excited to even see someone comment! :)

Welcome to Steemit! Awesome food truck!

Thank you! That's so awesome that you have an Amazon store too. I was very close to opening one myself!

Welcome to the Steem World!
I have recently made an orientation video that will help you in your journey here - and will hopefully answer all the questions that took me months to figure out.


https://steemit.com/dtube/@maneki-neko/tuswb0ao
I wish you all the best here on Steem!
Your food cart is AWESOME and the acai looks good, and all the better it was bought with BTC, thats a story I will pass on, bro!

Thank you so much! I'll watch your video tonight. Already Subscribed, and I hope you enjoy my videos in the future as well.

Welcome to steemit !!
Greetings from Venezuela!
Your support would help me a lot!
Many successes!

Likewise with you! I've always wanted to go to Venezuela!

Upvoted! like the work put in and your foodtruck story.
Hope you will do well and enjoy the platform

I travelled for four years and post about it now

Awesome!! Thank you so much. A warm welcome into the Steemit community. I'll hit you with a follow too. Love me some travel.

You had me at food truck. I've toyed around with the idea of doing a BBQ or fried chicken truck. I love that you bought it with bitcoin. Welcome to Steemit, Austin!

Thank you Paul! It's a really fun gig once you get the hang of it all. Both of those food truck ideas would do great especially with your live music!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59940.43
ETH 2988.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61