One of the biggest obstacles to making lots of money is not a lack of good ideas or opportunities or time, or that we’re too slovenly or stupid, it’s that we refuse to give ourselves permission to become rich.

Hola guys,

Money is one of the most loaded topics out there—we love money, hate money, obsess over money, ignore money, resent money, hoard money, crave money, bad-mouth money; money is rife with so much desire and shame and weirdness it’s a wonder we can utter the word above a whisper, let alone go out and joyfully rake it in.

SAVE_20180301_123203.gif

When it comes to having sex and making money, you’re supposed to know what you’re doing and be all great at it, but nobody teaches you anything about it, and you’re never supposed to talk about it because it’s inappropriate, dirty, not so classy.

SAVE_20180301_123608.jpeg

Both money and sex can provide unthinkable pleasures, birth new life, and inspire violence and divorce. We’re ashamed if we don’t have it, we’re even more ashamed to admit we want it, we will do things/people we’re not nuts about in order to get it, and I know I’m not the only one who has caught myself fantasizing about a stranger dressed like Batman coming up and giving me some on a bench in Central Park

People love to tell you what you should and shouldn’t want, regardless of how you feel about it. Even worse, we’re so malleable, if we listen to them long enough we’ll tell ourselves what we should and shouldn’t want, regardless of how we feel deep down. If we’re not careful, we can stay stuck for years, or even lifetimes, in situations that cause us pain because we’d rather defend these nontruths than upset or disappoint anybody, our own inner critics included. We’d rather do what’s expected of us than give ourselves permission to be, do, and have what feels good and right and awesome. Be awesome like barney.

SAVE_20180301_125328.gif

The point was I’d spent an entire lifetime self-righteously insisting that being rich was overrated and gross, and I wasn’t going to back down easily no matter how broke I had to stay in order to prove my point. I could handle the idea of making more money, but saying that one had to be rich? That was unacceptable.I see it over and over, the kicking and screaming about how, at the end of the day, what’s most important is spending time with those you love, gazing at sunsets, rejoicing in the laughter of frolicking children, helping old ladies cross the street, and other things money can’t buy, and I won’t argue, but I will ask this: Why the hell does this come up when we discuss the making of money? When did it become an either/or situation? If you partake in the pursuit of wealth, it’s not like you shall never again attend a family barbecue, hug a puppy, or tiptoe through the tulips. In fact, if you do it correctly, you’ll be able to afford to spend even more time on such merriments.

SAVE_20180301_125056.jpeg

do it in style! Not to mention pay for the gas to put in your car to get to the family barbecue, buy the hot dogs, show up wearing clothes, and marvel at Uncle Carl’s famous card tricks unfettered by thoughts of your crushing debt or how you’re going to hit him up for a loan to cover your rent this month as soon as he’s had a few beers.

Everybody arrives on this planet with unique desires, gifts, and talents, and as you journey through life, your job is to discover what yours are, to nurture them and to bloom into the most authentic, gleeful, and badassiest version of yourself. In order to do this, as a human being in modern society on Planet Earth, you must be rich. And let me clarify what I mean by rich lest you think I’m saying your life is worthless unless it involves a mansion and a yacht:
RICH: Able to afford all the things and experiences required to fully experience your most authentic life.

Social:
LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/arun-chaubey-779315110
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/arun_chaubey
Steemit: https://steemit.com/@arunchaubey21

Upvote, resteem and follow for more such awesome articles.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem.com

Welcome to the community!

Wellcome to steemit

Solid writeup! It was a good read.

I agree, except for the Batman part. I don't identify with that desire...

Batman because he is my favourite just like barney 😅

Thank you so much. I'm glad. 😄

I am glad you defined rich there at the end of your post. It’s true that it would be a rich life if all you ever needed was not out of reach.
The problems in my world, in terms of finances are numerous however I think a major and notable flaw is my empathetic interior. I give freely of my resources to The point of leaving my own shelf empty. That’s not charitabl, that’s, me being stupid.
I want everyone to eat, but hungry people can be greedy too.
sigh
Know what I mean?

your words are very wise.
I really understand.

Yes i know what you meant @lorilikes . And that's so generous of you this made me recall a quote by Rebecca I don't remember her last name "Every minute of every hour of every day you are making the world, just as you are making yourself, and you might as well do it with generosity and kindness and style." this is the reason I admire you. And thanks for everything you are. I'm glad to be your follower.


Welcome to Steem @arunchaubey21.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchian works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Congratulations, you're one of the random selected steemian. This post have been upvoted and Resteemed. Courtesy: @aremuadekunle.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67751.75
ETH 2620.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72