From Gamer to Blogger to Game Designer

in #introduceyourself5 years ago (edited)

"This is a translation of the spanish version of my introduce yourself make by my friend @volderhein. You can also check the spanish version here. De Gamer a Bloggero a Diseñador de juegos"

Hi Steemit! My name is Roberth, but I would prefer everyone
to call me Ark. I'm 22 years old, I was born in Venezuela and my main goal is to become as a Game designer.

image.png

I've been playing videogames since I have memory, I played day and night, and I even preferred to do that than going to school, eating or sleeping. Lucky me, I have amazing parents which looked past my addictions and have helped me turn into a "decent" human being, but even so, my love for videogames lasts to this day. This can only mean that my life has centered around then as I grow up.

When I was child, I imagined myself creating videogames was akin to creating a story when I used my toys. I thought characters were already precreated or maybe an artificial intelligence created them with your wishes in mind, and how the scenarios simply appeared by just creating them in your mind and how the mechanics were fun because they made you win, oh how naive I was. As I grew up, I understood the truth, how you have to program and code every physics and math of the engine you're working with, how you have you to carefully design characters if you want people to fall in love with them and let's not even get started with the narrative, which has to be extremely well written and developed to succesfully immerse a player in context.

As I grew up I tried to get better at those three segments of design but I didn't really get anywhere since I was feeling like I wasn't really going where I wanted in life... Until I found I could study Videogame Design. Whoever is in charge of this job, designs the game, the mechanics, levels, and works correlated to the design, coding and story teams respectively, and that person even participates in the soundtrack as well! This career is exactly what I dreamed of when I was a kid, and it's totally what I want to do with my life right now.

!image.png

I have a LOT of things to do to accomplish my goal, and again, lucky me, I have the support of my family and i'm engaged to a wonderful woman, so everything that's left is to reach for the stars. My main goal right now is to move to Spain and study Game Design at the U-tad.

image.png

Details about me!

I play almost anything, although I tend to choose underground games which break the mold in some way or another. Some of my favorites are Disgaea (All Sagas), Nier Automata, Super Smash Bros, Dark Souls, Warcraft 3, League of Legends, Shadowverse and if I kept going this would be a really long list, hehe.

image.png

I love anime, manga and japanese light novels. Some of my preferred ones are Sword Art Online, Shokugeki no Souma, Kono Subarashii Sekai, Arifureta Shokugyou de Sekai Saikyou, One Punch Man and Overlord. And this would be a really long list too if I detailed all of my favorites, lol.

image.png

In a less serious manner, i'm also well versed in cooking. I participated in a course which was a fiasco, but I love great food and cooking interesting things while using creativity is something I will always find fun to do.

I also participated in a programming course which was not a fiasco, and I learned how to handle myseld in Ruby, HTML, scss and Bootstrap, but i'll keep studying to widen my knowledge.

I also tend to practice Japanese Drawing which is my favorite style. Besides, I like listening to japanese, english and spanish music a lot, here are some examples! The Offspring - You're Gonna Go Far Kid, SIAMÉS - "The Wolf", LiSA - ADAMAS*

image.png

What am I going to give back to the Blockchain?

I want to mainly talk about videogames. I want to analyze them from the perspective of a Game Designer and learn how to be a better one by relying from Steemit's communities. From what I've seen, people take their own and other's content with a lot of seriousness (Even the content that's not destined to be) A social media that promotes quality content creation and the collaboration between users and that also from all of those benefits, let's you earn money. Now that's what I call future.

I already had a Steemit account I created longer ago, but unfortunately, soon after my first post, I was robbed on the streets of my country and that resulted in me losing my bag, which contained my laptop and a notebook where I had written down my Master Password. That was a heavy hit to endure, so I decided not to come back to steemit and focus only on the programming bootcamp I was in at that moment, but thanks to an old and valuable friend, @Volderhein (Hello yes, this is Vold editing/translating this <3 ) I chose to come back to Steemit. Volderhein also introduced me to this blockchain game called Steem Monsters (Which we'll talk on a future post) and wholeheartedly I think it's amazing. I'm identifying so many things the game can be better at; mechanics, card design, UI design, story, etc... It can become one of the best TCG (Trading Card Game) on the market, so I decided to join Steemit again to play Steem Monsters and be there to witness it's evolution. And so i'm willing to make use of steemit in it's entirety while trying to maintain my personal blog, hoping to contribute to the blockchain and the Steem Community!

image.png

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

I have entered in a contest about your post! If I win you win! Here is my entry, https://steemit.com/contest/@imsteinsbrother/spread-the-love-entry hope you like it!
|/,,


Welcome to Steemit @arknight!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings!

Well congratulations! You can still have a good life, even if you play video games! I love video games, but I don't play that much. I look forward to reading any more posts that you make!
PS,
have you played Legend of Zelda?
|/,,

what Legend of Zelda? haha, I played The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess in my gamecube a long time ago, but I do not have the opportunity to play with any other Legend of Zelda. I want to play breath of the wild, but I do not have a switch or money haha

That's what I thought! I just use my old Nintendo lite to play the older ones! My favorite of the GBA games is Link's Awakening. How long did it take you to figure out that the game's main character was Link not Zelda? It took me so long!
|/,,

Welcome to Steemit! You have taken the first step in achieving many goals here at the crossroads of cryptocurrencies, blockchain, and social media. Consistent engagement is needed to progress and grow your following and influence. I am currently working on a weekly post to curate new users and providing them an introduction to the ecosystem. I have selected your post as one I will feature in an upcoming post! I explain this initiative on one of my previous post.

There are a number of great content creators on the platform to help you on your journey. I have recently ran into a great post by @roleerob that is great to get off to a great start here on the ecosystem. As I continue to expand this initiative, I continue to find great content and guides for new users such as this post from @finnian who not only includes a great step-by-step process of registering for #Steemit but also provides great security and engagement tips as well to help you on your journey. Another great user creating content for new Steemians is @paulag who is creating community backed video series on learning to navigate STEEM.

Keep your eyes out for these tips and references to help you on your journey to becoming a minnow! It is also a great idea to follow some of the great projects being built on the #STEEM blockchain. You can see these projects here. Some of these projects provide you the ability to interact and engage within the community and have the potential to provide rewards for your engagement. For example, @actifit is a fitness app that tracks your daily activity which you can post to the blockchain and earn rewards for your participation. Another interesting project is @steemmonsters which is a digital trading card game that enables you to collect and battle with the community all within the #STEEM ecosystem.

Lastly, a new initiative has just been launched by one of our top witnesses @gtg to support new users that become very active and need additional bandwidth to remain actively engaged in an effort to build enough Steem Power to grow your influence and interaction in the ecosystem. I would highly encourage you to visit his post for further instructions. I wish you the best in your future endeavors!

Thank you very much, there are many, but I dare to read the time to read all these guides. Thank you for selecting my post for your weekly post, really that you can appreciate the desire they have to help new users.

Welcome to steemit @arknight.

Welcome the new steemians. Have a great day!

Welcome to Steem! It sounds like you'll fit right in. Are you familiar with Archdruid Gaming? They're a community devoted to games and game development.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, I am very interested in Archdruid Gaming, to the point that I am already in your discord channel, I will seek to participate in everything I can. Although I honestly do not know how people take time to play and publish at the same time, maybe I am very slow hehe.

It just takes practice, honestly. Eventually you get in the habit of getting stuff published and it just becomes part of your daily routine.

Or, like me, you can just have everything be on fire all the time and frantically write to get something up every day after everything else is done.

Or, like me, you can just have everything be on fire all the time and frantically write to get something up every day after everything else is done.

That's totally me, LOL

Welcome to SteemIt! So glad you decided to come back to the community. I hate that you were robbed, but at least you didn't let it stop you. There is so much here and we would hate for you to miss it! You will find so many art contests and even some gaming contest. There is always something going on where you can win Steem Monster stuff.
Scott and I wanted to help you out by getting you some tips and tricks we learned over the past few months as new Steemians.

You can view that post HERE

signature.png

thank you I'll see that post right now

Welcome to steemit @arknight. Wish you all the best!

You've Been.png

We wanted to let you know, we have given you a 100% upvote, are now following you, and are introducing you to everyone we know. You can visit our post HERE

Welcome to the SteemIt Community.
Scott & Ren

i cant access to your post, but thanks anyway.

Your post was upvoted by the @archdruid gaming curation team in partnership with @curie to support spreading the rewards to great content. Join the Archdruid Gaming Community at https://discord.gg/nAUkxws. Good Game, Well Played!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97