Introduction

Recently I have just been awarded my second paid research internship in as many years. When I found out the news it prompted me to take a look back at my personal and academic career and question how I ended up here, from where I was 10 years ago.

I'll start with where I am now, I'm now studying for my undergraduate masters in Mathematics in the UK, I'm 25 years old, rolling onto 26, so I'm a little over the average undergraduate student age in my university. I'm currently half way through my 3rd year of a 4 year course and soon I'll need to seriously think about what I want to do next.

When I was in high school doing my GCSE's I was only good at science and maths. Sure, I was proficient in other subjects, I got passing grades in my other subjects but I really only studied for science and maths. I wasn't the popular kid in high school, I was sociable but I had only a few close friends and frankly I was happy that way. I liked hanging out with people, but I also liked just chilling out and being myself, if that means I only have a few friends then I'm happy that way.

As I studied my A-Levels my academic interest waned, I was far more interested in friends than studying and looking back I did the bare minimum possible to keep my parents and teachers off my back, the bare minimum effort reflected in my grades. They weren't great. Nevertheless I somehow managed to secure myself a university place when I turned 18, not through UCAS points, but through scholarship exams and hard work.

I expected to go to university and focus on my studies again, I'd hoped that being independent I'd mature a little and really settle down into my work, that was not the case. My university attendance was in the 6% range, when I did turn up I was hungover, tired or bored. I promptly failed my first year of studying partying and returned home to somewhat disappointed parents. I decided academia wasn't right for me at that time and went to study in something completely different. I'd been so focused around a career in science or maths that I'd failed to ever investigate anything else, so I completely changed my focus and trained as a chef. I had loads of enthusiasm for cooking and it showed when I worked and studied. For a year I trained 2 days a week in college and worked 5 days a week in a restaurant, I never had a free day, with the exception of a few days I booked off work as holiday. I really enjoyed my time working as a chef but I still wanted to get my degree, and I still wanted a career in maths.

I left my job as a chef and started taking office based admin roles while I studied with the Open Univeristy. For the next 4 years I took part time modules with OU and worked my way up into some responsible analyst roles and really enjoyed them. I decided to take up my degree full time, so I left work and transferred to a brick university in the UK. So now I'm here. I'm doing much better than the first time I went to university, I'm focused on my studies and I really love what I'm doing.

I guess that's all for now, I'm happy to answer questions, but for now I'd like to remain (sort of) anonymous so I won't be answering specific questions about location etc.

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit! You will enjoy it! Continue doing good post.

I wish you the best! Hope you gonna have fun with our community and see you soon.

Welcome to steemit,a community for positive people just like you,trust me you'll enjoy every bit of it,you can follow me @donkelly

Welcome to steemit. I hope you like it here and keep posting. :)

Hi, I am @cryptkeeper17 and I am hosting a seven day contest to sponsor for free at least one person into @steembasicincome, which costs $1.000sbd to join. I would like to extend you an invite, it does not cost you anything, and the entire payout is going to sponsor one (or more) new members in this club among the new steemit members that enter the contest. https://steemit.com/earthnation/@cryptkeeper17/contest-for-minnows-free-membership-to-steem-basic-income-possible-010-upvotes-1517857865

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 57951.98
ETH 3051.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26