Hi, My name is Matthew & I like Computers & Technology

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)
Trailside Great Smoky Mountains - Me 

*All of the following photos I have taken over many years and belong to me.

Introduction


So my name is Matthew. I am not new here, but I've never done an introduction so I figured now would be a great time to start considering I can't get my other account back. Sad story. It might have been compromised and I'm not sure what to do next. Either way, I didn't like the name and there was maybe 40$ in Steem power. 


I'm currently 26 and live in Orlando Florida where I was born and raised. I recently arrived back in Orlando after 4-5 years of travelling and working. I'm into video games, html, css, php, sql, hardware, all things outdoors, gardening and learning about all things. I wasn't always into all those things as I started off doing small development and video game stuff at like 14-15 and I would say that was consistent until the age of 18.


Natural Bridge, Kentucky

Kentucky


I moved to Kentucky when I was 18 and quite literally found myself in an area that felt extraordinarily different than the area I grew up in. Home was tourists, lights and urbanization. Kentucky was wild, green, rolling hills and a very conservative culture. 


I met some guys at work that I quickly became close with. We rambled about. They brought me to rope swings. We climbed rock-walls. I went from young neckbeard to young neckbeard outdoorsman in due time. 


Cumberland, Tennessee


It didn't take me long to develop a sense of wanderlust -- I found myself yearning to climb and see every city that I could. I was reading Muir, climbing trees and jumping into rivers all over the Eastern United States.


West Virginia 


At some point, my mother passed away. I was pretty messed up and I quickly found myself looking for a way to escape to new adventures. I'm not sure about what I was looking for -- but today I'm certain it was found.


After some research I found a farm that I could work on while I figured out my next steps. 


Eastern Tennessee


So I found myself farming at this point -- Go figure lol.


I was probably 22. Part of it felt like solid skill set learning and part of it was quiet and a sense of personal communion. I wrote in journals, I did some backpacking and river stuff out of that area too! 


Mountain Farm, Tennessee


I learned a lot about labor, foods, wells, homestead, livestock, sheep, woodwork,  hardwork and what it's like to not have a lot. I didn't make any money but I was very fortunate to have great co-workers and homesteaders living on the property that I was worked on -- I might as well have been homeless and working for my room & board. All things considered I learned to appreciate what I had. It wasn't until I had hit rock bottom that I truly figured out what I should aim for in life -- bringing good energy & brotherhood/sisterhood to those around me and my community.


Food :D


I sometimes went with the family to sell the goods at market. Some of the finer memories include banjoes, blue grass, travelers and the different family stalls all had wonderful stories. Here is some graffiti from around town.




By this point, I had done many months outdoors whether on day trips or week+ long trips or extended stays at the farm in the camper. And I was again looking for more.


It didn't take me long to find something different.


Circus -- United States


Juggling Friend Fabio


I found myself working for a travelling roadshow. I traveled the United States by rail, lived on train, ate on the train, and worked in Arenas everywhere. Some days I would stay at hotels for extra comfort or a pool or close proximity to the arena. 


The coolest part about the circus was the culture of the performers from all over the world, and even some of the workers here, and then it all coming together into it's own function, travelling ecosystem with a restaurant and even a school.

 

Rail Life with the Circus


That went on for a year or so and after a while, I met a very nice young lady while travelling with the show. We started dating and after a couple months and I shortly found myself set up for the next step in my life. I was going to move back to her state while she went to school and start working on some roots after all of the travel stuff.


Massachusetts 


I was now in Massachusetts. It didn't take my long to find a job. I was promptly elevated to position of Parts Manager at a Local Auto Parts Store. At this point, I was working hard, I cared about my job, I was experiencing some success and as always I was exploring the grand New England Outdoors.


Maine


My ex-gf and I split -- she was going for a summer in Vilneas and it was mutually agreed that we we're going to separate during that period at least. I stayed in town and started preparing for the winter. Things we're perfect and I was happy.


Unfortunately, I found myself getting really sick at some point over a winter here in New England. I've always since 10 had medical conditions that would incapacitate my joints or make me EXTRAORDINARILY lethargic or give my tummy issues for weeks at a time, but it was always somewhat controllable albeit very difficult. However in 2014 something different happened.


My Last Trip in New England. 


So I found myself sick for 4 months. I was in and out of hospitals and it ultimately ended with an awful rapture, sepsis, half of my large intestines removed, me moving away from my job, and going to recover with my tail between my legs with my Sister in Florida. 


After Surgery


I'm not far past that point right now and there are tons of photos and content and stories that I have skipped over here for the purposes of keeping things brief. It is worth mention that I am doing a lot better and I have been catching up with development and the tech side of things. I also had a few light-bulb moments regarding Blockchain and I intend to focus my additional time on this field and particularly the BTS ecosystem.


I currently doing side development work and tech support from a home location and studying fintech and blockchain.


I look forward to watching and helping blockchain markets burst out of the saturated, fertile ground that it rests on. I don't have a lot of money and frankly that's never really mattered, but I'm hoping that these next couple years will bring new horizons and new market opportunities for the world. I've never much understood markets, but I'm starting to thanks to blockchain.


The Gospel


#introduceyourself #introduction #introductions #nature #outdoors #gardening #backpacking #travel #smilesmilesmile 

Sort:  

How's it going Mathew, welcome to steemit.
Steemit Guide

Pretty well. Thanks


"True happiness comes from the joy of deeds well done, the zest of creating things new." Antoine de Saint-Exupery

That's very nice. :D

I don't mean to be spammy, but I realized by top photo wasn't very clear.

I'm on the left. That is at the Florida keys with two of my great friends. :D

[me]

Nice to meet you OP! Here is an upvote!

Thank you. I will definitely be on steem. It's the content. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66603.07
ETH 3335.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70