Puttsin' With a Poet: Introducing A Passing Thought

33186772_10156019552010783_3672696766114824192_n.jpg

How do you do?

How do we do?

What is the manner in which our actions are made real? What kind of energy do we put into our decisions and projects and for what reason do we choose them?

My name is Thought. I'm a human living in Grand Rapids, Michigan in USA Inc.

This question of why we do what we do is one the continually invites me back into contemplation around who I am and what kind of effects I want to see from the way I decide to use my time and energy.

Ultimately, my intention is to live in a way that heals the Earth. It's a big lofty goal that I know I will fail at often. I know I won't escape from participating in the convenience culture of mainstream America overnight. I know that by operating within the parameters of the state I'm consenting, on some level, to the violent, coercive, and imperialistic behaviors of the government. This blog is not about being liberated from these systems right now, rather, it's about living the journey to get there.

I've helped build a grassroots community in Grand Rapids called the Grand Rapids Autonomous Support System. I've worked on 5 farms across the US, I've been a baker for the past two years, I'm a Spoken Word Poet who has performed around Michigan and down into Appalachia, I've presented workshops on poetry, eye gazing, masculinity, food as activism, community organizing, and storytelling, and I'm about to be a father to two beautiful twins.

My world view sees nature as alive and sentient, aware of what is being done to it. I believe that we are all unified in the biosphere, the circle of life, and that the more we support each other the more are supported ourselves. I think that if we do the work on ourselves -healing our traumas, localizing our sourcing of food and goods, and engaging others through being fully present and listening deeply- we create the kind of change that will help us towards the future we hunger for in our hearts.

Like every life, mine is not one-dimensional. I'm always looking to learn through gaining knowledge and experience. In this space you can expect to find fermentation, photography, community building, musings on our society, art, ideas, questions, cob ovens, hugs, frustrations, hopes, history, and story.

I'm looking forward to sharing this journey with you and learning from this community.

I wish you well and I hope this day treats you kindly,
~Thought

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit family! Good luck! I am sure that you will fully enjoy your journey here:)

Hey @apassingthought! It's nice to see you here!

Greetings, apassingthought! Wish you a very enriching experience here in this awesome community :) Be Happy

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

Hot thermophilic compost can heal amd grow the world local and sustianable but interdepenent one biosphere


Welcome to Steemit @apassingthought!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

welcome to the community. I really hope you enjoy it here :) Have an upvote for starters.

We do as well as the government let's us, bro...Welcome! It is so nice to have you here with us. Let me know if you have any questions, and I will try to help if I can. Good luck!

Congratulations @apassingthought! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @apassingthought! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59005.68
ETH 2516.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48