Farmer's Daughter and Mountain Girl Now Becoming High Tech Girl

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Good day to everyone. I am so thankful to be a new member here at steemit. Steemit is a real Blessing to so many people around the world.

I want to share who I am. My name is Aniway Suico. I am a farmer's daughter and a real mountain girl. But now I am becoming a high tech girl.

OH.jpg

My friend took a picture of me on the mountain near our home.

I grew up on a small farm in the mountains of a little tropical island called Cebu. Cebu is one of the many islands in the Philippines. The Philippines is a group islands in South East Asia. Our home is located in northern part of Cebu. Our place name is Kabangkalan Tuburan Cebu. You can see where it is by the yellow star on the Google Map. I have even seen our house on Google Maps from high in the sky. Amazing technology. No closeups yet because cars cannot go there.

Google SEAsia.PNG

Philippines.PNG

Credit to google maps.

Our language is Visayan. I can also speak Tagalog, the language spoken in Manila, Philippines. And I speak English, but not very perfect yet. So my friend is helping me write this so the English is clear for you.

I'm 31 years old. I am the youngest in my family. I have 3 brothers and one sister. My Papa and my Mama made a small farm in the mountains where there was no road. And Papa is also a very hard working honest entrepreneur. Papa and Mama worked very hard to raise 5 healthy children.

Since I was born we have lived in the mountains, until I went to college in the big city of Mandaue. There was no road near our home, but now since about 2011 there is a primative dirt road that regular cars cannot drive on. Nor was there electricity nor running water. I had never seen cars nor appliances at that time.

If we saw an airplane flying in the sky, Mama called it a fish. We all knew she was joking. Whenever we children saw one, we would clap our hands over our heads and yell, “Eroplano, eroplano!” They are so far away in the sky and they look small like a fish but flying in the sky. And when they dump their extra fuel for safer landings, it looks like it's their poop. I guess, in a way, it is jet fuel poop.

pixabay,com public domain jet   contrail.jpg

Credit to pixabay.com free pictures.

Our nearest neighbors are not so close, but in case we have important matters we can yell loudly to call them because it's very quiet there in the mountains. It's a peaceful place. Our home is surrounded by trees, fruit trees (mangoes, avocado, cacao, star apple, citrus, jack fruit, guyabano, papaya, etc.), farms, plants, flowers, a few animals (goats, chicken, carabaos, cows, dogs and cats) and birds flying and singing in the trees. I would like to take some pictures, but I don't have a camera yet.

We had no electricity, so we had no appliances. At night we used a gas lamp to make it a little bit bright. When we fetch water, it's almost 10 minutes walking downhill. But when we filled our water container, we had to carry the water back uphill. The water is flowing spring water. During summer the water is so slow, but there are some natural holes in the stones to catch the spring water. The overflow of the spring water flows down to a field for the carabaos to drink.

pixabay free carabao bario-1595623_640.jpg

Credit to pixabay.com free pictures.

Carabaos are very strong, but gentle. They are usually very patient for children to ride on their back. One carabao can easily carry 2 or 3 children at the same time. I have many memories and a few scars on my legs from having too much fun riding on the carabao when I was small.

I remember when I was about 6 years old, Mama brought me to Tuburan town for the first time. Me and Mama walked almost one hour in the mountain, going down to a lake. That was the very first time I saw a car. I was so ignorant. I had seen cars and trucks in books because we had no TV. Jeepneys waited there by the lake for passengers. When the jeepney was full, it would take people to Tuburan.

pixabay.com free   bus-1196446_640.jpg

Credit to pixabay.com free pictures.

When me and Mama rode the jeepney, I sat on her lap, because if I sat on the seat, Mama would have to pay for me. Mama saves money when she can.

While we were riding, I whispered to Mama, "Ma, dile ko ganahan mosakay. Ang mga kahoy, mga tanom, og balay nga atung maagian managan sad. Malipong ko." (Which means in English: "Ma, I don't like to ride. You know that the trees, the plants and the houses we pass by, they are running too. I feel faint.")

Mama whispered to me, "Kadali nalang. Dool nata sa lungsod." (In English: "Wait a while. We are to close the town.")

When we reached the town, I was so amazed. There are so many things and so many toys, that I had never seen on our mountain. While we walked Mama bought things important for the household. I was afraid because there are many cars. I held my Mama's hand tight. Mama held my hand tight also. I felt like the cars were going to hit me. Very scary for a small mountain girl.

As we walked past the stores, I saw so many toys I'd never seen before. I told Mama, "Ma, paliti ko ana sige na, Ma." (In English: Ma, kindly buy me that one, Ma.")

Mama said, "Dile, pwedi kay atung kwarta igu igu ra. Ipamalit sa mga importanti para dad-on nato sa atung balay." (In English, "No, our money is not enough. We buy only things important to bring to our home.")

We did not take long because the jeepney would go back to the lake in a couple hours, as soon as they get a full load of passengers.

To be continued...

Chapter 2 online now:
https://steemit.com/life/@anyway/farmer-s-daughter-and-mountain-girl-becoming-high-tech-girl-chapter-2

If you would like to read more about what my life has been like and how this mountain girl is becoming a high tech girl, please follow and comment.

Sort:  

Hi, welcome to the steemit family. I just upvoted and followed you.

Thank you. I just follow you.

Welcome to steemit community. You will love it. Following links may help you to get started.
New Users Guide: https://steemit.com/welcome
Dos and don’ts on Steemit:https://steemit.com/steemit/@najoh/dos-and-don-ts-on-steemit
Top Earners List:https://steemwhales.com/
ChainBB Steem Forum: https://steemit.com/chainbb/@jesta/chainbbcom-a-blockchain-forum-platform-for-steem
If you find this post useful, Feel Free to up vote, follow me.

Thanks for the advise.

Congratulations @anyway! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @anyway! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @anyway! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to steemit, @anyway :)

Thank you so much. May I follow you?

You're welcome! And of course you may! Wold be a pleasure to me :) From tomorrow evening on me and @reggaemuffin will come up with some good content I think :) CU

Thank you. I just follow you.

Welcome Anyway!
Cool story.
I'm following you.
Hope to read the next chapter soon.

Thank you so much. I'm glad you like my story. Can I follow you?

Of course. I would be honored to have you follow me.
Thank you

Thank you I just follow you.

Welcome to Steem @anyway I have sent you a tip

Thank you so much!

Hi Anway great first post.Welcome to Steemit great place to express yourself and learn new things, enjoy. @kevinace

Yes I'm so happy to be in steemit now.
Thank you so much.
Can I follow you?

welcome to steemit...we enjoy hearing your story....thank you!

I'm so glad you enjoy my story.
Thank you so much.
Is it ok if I follow you?

please do....I am following you...look forward to more of you

Thank you. I just follow you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63162.76
ETH 3063.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85