Introduce yourself English

Hello Steemians


Source

Hello Steemians, I am Johnny Moreno an ESL Teacher, a Translator, Musician and also a Language Teacher, I own a small Language Institute where I teach my students English as a second language, after they finish the English course (the learning process for a complete English knowledge of a C2 level) I teach them any optional language for at least a B2 knowledge in their choice language (Portuguese, Italian or German). I sometimes teach them an optional language for free because I tell them it will help them have a better future and they will have more job opportunities when they speak another language. I try to motivate them, teach them how to focus on their goals and inspire them to make them be better people and not just become better professionals, rather better people to help make this world a better place.

Source

I grew up in New York City, I moved to Venezuela when I was 13 ( I am in my early 40's), with little to no Spanish vocabulary, and with a terrible American English accent. Some people used to call me "Gringo" which is the term they use for the people who come from the U.S. I suffered a bit to learn Spanish, but now I speak it better than those who are born here. One of my experiences that helped me blend in was playing basketball. I used to play basketball and was one of the best players of the City that I even played in almost every basketball court here. Nowadays,I am more into football (soccer). We play it every Saturday afternoon. When I say "we" I mean my young ESL students (aged 16 to 22). They always tell me :" Teacher you play very good" (I kick the ball and make great goals with both legs, and I also score free throws). I tell them, you should see me playing basketball (I shoot the ball with both my right and my left hand from the three point distance, but now I am a bit slower than before (Hey, I am 40!) .

Being an ESL teacher has been really wonderful and I enjoy it, though I majored in psychology when I studied in College. I have taught many people English, and some are working abroad in Colleges and Language academies teaching English just as I taught them. I have also been a Grade School and a High School English Teacher. It was sometimes funny, because some kids would come and ask me how to say some word in English and I would repeat it to him more than ten times a day, and he would come again and again to ask the same question. I use patience and tolerance to teach and inspire them. Another funny thing is that I have always been a Metal Head even though I have worked in two Colleges. Once a female teacher and co-worker asked me why I did not cut my hair, claiming I was a bad influence for the students. I politely answered her, if I cut my hair and throw it to the ground, the hair would not teach, it is I who have the knowledge and I know how to transmit what I know.

As a Musician, I write and sing for my band AntorchA, I studied the double bass in the symphonic orchestra of the city where I live, but I was really into Metal, so I just quit and started to play the guitar. AntorchA formed in the year 2000, but we split and had some regrouping in 2009 until 2010, when some of the past members got married (myself included) and the band was split up. After my divorce, I tried to regroup again but some former band members had gone abroad (becoming expats). Nowadays one of the remaining guitar players and original member and founder is preparing to play some acoustic gig on St Valentine's day in the small City where I live.


Source

One negative thing that happened to me is that I lost my steemit password. I wrote it down but since I was about to go to sleep, I copied it wrong, so this is my new steemit account, and believe me, this time I will not lose my steemit password (I have copied it to many text notes and other document editors). Something funny happened today, while I checked my Institute's account status, someone deposited and extra 125$ to it, I told my ESL students what had happened ( it happened early in the morning) and I told them I would give each cent back, some said that I should spend that easy money because it was in my account. I told them it was not mine and I needed to give it back, so at around 4:00 pm a beautiful young medical student girl whom I had performed a translation for on Saturday came and explained what happened and I gave her her money back in a simple transaction. Good things happen when you act correctly. If you want to see some changes in this hard world, and make it a better place, but you see nobody being correct nor nice, then You need to be the change so others can see (and everybody as well) that there are still good people out there. .


Source


Thank you for reading, I hope I did not deliver you into boredom with my post!!!


Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @antorchajohnny! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Thanks for the advice, it is highly valuable for me!
I will read the article right after I post this answer
thank you once again!

Welcome and enjoy community.

thanks, I will try, I am usually busy, working, but I will do my best

Welcome to the steemit follow me and i follow you

Thank you,I just followed you!

Thanks for your kind welcome!

welcome! Im glad youve decided to joined the party!

Long live and prosper.

Welcome to join Steemit hope you enjoy it and can work in a world full of colorful, greetings from me @trizwansyah79 for you and success continue in the future.

Thank you, amen, I hope to achieve it, always based on step by step hard work

Hey! Welcome to steemit. We have a great community of teachers here (me included). If you feel like sharing your experiences as a teacher use the #steemiteducation tag and follow @steemiteducation which is a community that supports teachers. Good luck with your work here.

Thank you for your valuable comment. I will follow the community right away, and when I post my experiences I will certainly use that hashtag!

Welcome to this Steemit Family ! Nice post! It is a great community and we are doing great fun. @arvindkumar please follow me

Thank you. I followed you, right now.
I know the community is great!

Welcome to Steemit! Sorry about your previous password issue but glad to see it didn't stop you from starting again! I really liked your post. Looks like the platform has gained another kind, intelligent, humanitarian Steemian :) and you've got a new follower! keep steemin'!

You have been resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday. Congratulations on your content Newbie and as always, Keep Steemin’! I invite you to learn more about the initiative and Come Join Us!!! Newbie Resteem Initiative

and join the Steemit Newbie Resteem Initiative Discord channel here: https://discord.gg/xcekaZU

thank you, I will join the channel, thanks for the advice!

you're welcome! it's full of great people :) you'll fit right in

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59026.89
ETH 2655.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50