Introducing Annie: a Traveling, Writing, Eurasian FemalesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Introducing Annie: a Traveling, Writing, Eurasian Female

Funnily enough, I heard about Steemit around 6 months ago over a streetfood dim sum dinner with fellow Steemer @erico47. Although it sounded like a great idea, I stupidly forgot to ask how to spell it. And so, after months of querying various arrangements of the words “steam” and “it”- and getting increasingly frustrated by my results on different ways to steam vegetables, I’m finally here. And I have to say, it’s pretty damn fantastic!

After leafing through several trendy and not so trendy pieces, I realised that the overall quality of writing on this platform (at least from what I’ve come across) is pretty high. In the last few days, I’ve even managed to find myself lost on hour-long Wikipedia-like click-trails from universal basic income to how much good looks matter to pictures of orange sunsets.

But unlike wikipedia, it’s all actually been fun to read while still being very informational. And of course there’s also the option of earning cash directly from self-publishing- something that beats having to pitch articles to magazines that never reply or other platforms where the payment option does not exist. Of course I had to sign up.

Who am I?

I come from a mixed background with alcoholic Celtic roots from my father’s side and fiery East Asian blood from my mother’s. Having had the tiger-mum upbringing experience (anything lower than 90% on a test was a failure worth flagellation and child abuse), it took me to get to university to realise I actually hate the education system. And more than that. I hate the system in general.

Coming to terms with this, just a month and a half in of starting at University College London, I bought a £10 backpack from ebay and winged it on a journey that would take me between 40 countries on five continents by myself for over 2 and a half years.

And of course, a lot happened. To name just a few things, I learned to communicate in four new languages and whittled all my belongings down to a Ryanair cabin-size backpack. I also couchsurfed on five continents, got involved in Romania’s Colectiv Revolution, lived with Nigerian fraudsters, got stabbed and learned how to make argan oil.


It's been a nice ride.

Not only has this been significantly more exciting than spending my days in the same student bar each week drinking the same diluted vodka mixers, I feel it’s given me a more useful education too. If nothing else, it’s opened my mind to the complexity of the world- as well as its vastness.

It would make sense for me to write about travel, given it's taken up a lot of my time recently. And sure, I definitely intend to. But traveling alone is not enough- it’s simply a means to get somewhere else. And the place I’m most interested in getting to, as fluffy as it sounds, is a better world.

As such, this is what I intend to write on as well. Ideas towards making a better future- and this could be in anything from education, food, technology and people coming together for action. In fact, I already have a site, Sutava, where I try to write on these issues without injecting my political and occasionally semi-neurotic bias. It even has a Steemit account that you can check out if you'd like @sutava.

However, as any human, I also love trumpeting my own horn and feeling like my opinion actually matters. Thus, my account here is to take all of these issues with more of a personal touch- as well as extend their scope a bit. In particular I'm interested in a post-work world (when the only thing we'll have to be good at is being a human), how to reach it and how to make the most of it.

But as ever, time still has to be made for my more erratic and passing interests- like general observations and cool facts about camels.

Did you know that camels can absorb water vapour with their noses to prevent dehydration?!? I hope you didn't role your eyes. This piece of information blew my mind!



I’m really excited to become a part of the Steemit community and get to know you all! If you feel you’d like my writing or are curious about any of the topics I’ve mentioned, please feel free to follow me @annielennon

And of course, drop some comments if you’d like to discuss anything I’ve raised here. If there’s any proof that I love a good discussion, my most recent result for the Myers Briggs test was ENTP, or “debater”. So, please, go ahead!

Sort:  

#life
Socrates : An unexamined life is not worth living.

Absolutely agreed!

Hey! Saw you over in zuckerburp land... Looks like a fun life you lead!

Welcome!
You got stabbed in Rio? Wtf? You should make a post about it or a video on @dtube (better alternative to youtube, you will earn money easier, way easier)!
Resteemed you via @welcoming, my service for promising newcomers like you! I will stay tuned :)
Greets!

Thank you very much! :) And thanks for mentioning @dtube! I'll check it out a little later on. Seems like a good opportunity!

there are no greater clickbaits than pretty young girls

Agreed hahaha

source (2).gif

its nice to meet you

Thank you! You too :)

What is Argan oil? And very interesting adventures you have been having. I need to make some new ones.

Thank you :) In answer to your question, argan oil is the oil produced from the kernels of the argan tree grown in Morocco. It's traditionally been used to treat skin diseases and is also widely used in cosmetics and for hair. Hope you put some of your new adventures here on Steemit!

Thanks. Hope you enjoyed the article too. ;)

Wow, that's a intro(: Welcome! Really brave and liberating of you to realize that wasn't the path you wanted to take. Then take it upon yourself to discover the world. Look forward to some of your experiences and crazy stories. Yes that is the human way, feel like our story is unique and important, and I can tell yours is. I love debate also, look forward to some in your future posts, followed!

Thank you! Looking forward to debating with you in the near future :D

Please follow the rules in the group ↕ Resteem to steemit. You need to resteem someone from the group, then I wil approve your post and other people will resteem you.

Do you know how to resteem ?

Hey there! I just joined yesterday as well. I don't get to travel often, but when I do, it usually results in posts like yours. You know, the kind with all sorts of fun stories.

I look forward to hearing more about your adventures, particularly with the Nigerian Fraudsters. That sounds like a rather interesting story!

Hi there! Thanks for your comment- I'll let you know when I get round to writing about the Nigerian Fraudsters. And looking out for your travel posts then hey! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64689.90
ETH 3450.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50