A Cosmetic Nerd and Pole Dancing Engineer Discovers Writing

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

  Hi I'm Anne Porter. I’m a 20 something chemical engineer who considers myself a late bloomer in writing (or have I even bloomed yet?). I started zarinsbeautylab almost a year ago. It is a beauty blog born out of my love for cosmetics. A very wonderful woman, @thegaillery introduced me to Steemit. I found interest in the community so I decided to sign up. It took 10 dreadful days, but I'm finally here, so Yeay!  

So tell us more about you

  I love coffee. I love things that sparkle.  I don’t follow expiration date of food products (unless I see mold growth). I hate anything that auto-plays in the internet. Freddie Mercury and Paul McCartney are my heroes. I suffer guilt and mild self-hate for enjoying internet memes. I hate the taste of beer. I love ketchup in almost anything and I drench rice with coffee for breakfast. 

What will you be sharing to the community?

1. My love for Cosmetics 

I get crazy and nerdy over cosmetics. I’m not an expert and it’s not in line with my day job -at least not for now. However, I have a strong feeling that I am going towards that direction. My posts would primarily be about my passion for cosmetics and everything that makes a woman look and feel beautiful. 

 

Before, I used to just love cosmetics but I discovered the love of sharing what I know when I suddenly found my self in an all-girl tribe (more about this in No.2).  I’ll have a scientific approach in presenting concepts about beauty and cosmetics but in a manner that would be understandable by everyone, hopefully.     

2. Fitness and Pole

  My current knowledge and experience (and absence of abs, haha) will not qualify me as a fitness expert. I don’t wish to be regarded as one because I am still learning. In this community, I will be sharing my mishaps, mistakes and learning in my journey towards my physique goals.

 Before, I just wanted to look like the models I see in magazine covers. I'm not proud of it and you’re welcome to judge me as vain and shallow. I had issues of poor body-image. These are insecurities I developed due to horrible childhood bullying.  It used to be all about being skinny, until I discovered my passion for Pole dancing. 

 

At first I thought it came too late to me but when you fall in love with something, you won’t care anymore. With pole, I found myself motivated to discover the strength and flexibility my body is capable of. Pole suddenly became my sanctuary where I slowly became comfortable with my own body and become more connected with my self. Of course, it would be impossible without being surrounded by amazing women who are my steady support group. 

  

My Pole Sisters. They also inspired me to blog about beauty & cosmetics - our common interest besides pole

Suddenly I stopped obsessing over how my body looks started focusing on what it can do. It’s been only two years and I’m happy at where I am in this journey.  So Yes, I'll talk about my Pole dancing journey too. I am looking forward to sharing about pole fitness, sincerely hoping to inspire.

3. Everything else that interests me in Science and Engineering

 I always say this to my friends: Chemical engineering was one of the best decision I made in my life. Until now, this chosen field never fail to amaze me. It made me fall in love with Science and Engineering. I never write about it but I believe that Steemit will be an awesome platform for me to share this.  

Looking back ,I wasn’t very good at my high school math and my chemistry was just average. I literally fell asleep and salivated on my physics test paper – it totally pissed off my high school teacher. When I graduated high school, I knew my foundations on the core subjects in Chemical engineering program was not very strong.  Still, I pushed through, why? I’ll have a separate post about that.   

 

So as expected, I did not excel back in college. College was an emotional and mental hell ride for me – I was struggling. Looking back, I am still amazed about how I managed to get through the Chemical Engineering program. I am proud of the person my college life has made me.   I'll be sharing things that interests me in the field of chemical engineering, or engineering in general. I’ll try not to bore you, I promise.

 So that’s it. I am looking forward to share lots of love and happiness in this community. Also, I’m excited to learn from other Steemians too.


Love, 

Anne


Image #2: lokos_photography (check his facebook and instagram),I edited with my studio photo from Fit&Fab Pole Fitness Studio

Image #3: Image from Fit&Fab Pole Fitness Studio

Image#4 & 5: I got this from my best friend, Meg Modequillo

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit ;) I have two little hints for you:

  1. Since you seem to be into #science - Be sure to check out @steemstem - They are looking for great science posts and rewarding them big! :)
  2. Check out @polebird, she also is into poledance!
    Resteeming your for some extra publicity! Greets

@welcoming I've checked pole bird, wow she's amazing!
steemstem is really what got me in to steemit

Wow, thanks. YES! Thank you. I checked @polebird, she's amazing.

Steemstem is really what got me in to steemit

Hi again, (i saw ur pole dancing post first) and welcome again to steemit! :) wow. u sure got some varied, but very interesting hobbies/interests.

I can see many of ur muscles already and u are not skinny at all! Don't worry about getting chiseled abs or any particular body thing.. like u said it.. it's all about what u can do with ur body, not just how it looks.

Feel free to ask me anything about steemit later. :) are u on discord na? how about steemit achievers or steemph? ok, ttyl,

Hi @chinito, first let me congratulate you for being the one to own that username.
.
.
Im still getting to know steemit really. And right now my brain is focused on just creating quality content. I am yet to get myself familiarize with the other workings of steemit. To tell you honestly...as of time of writing this comment, i have no idea about discord, steemit achievers or steemph....ill make sure tho this day wont end without me looking in to that. Any inputs/advise? I would verymuch appreciate that

hihi :) thanx for liking the name. :)

sure. i can help u with all that.. discord is really just a chat program that was made for gamers, but is now used by steemians, too.. here is a link for u to get on.. just click and sign up..
https://discord.gg/dnhA87x

when u get on, just DM (direct message) me and i can tell u more. (my name on there is chinito also.. just type it in the search box at upper left)

:)


Welcome to Steemit @anneporter!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Welcome to Steemit @anneporter! I know you'll enjoy it here. If you have concerns, please don't hesitate to reach out to me or @thegaillery.

Welcome to Steemit platform, from all of us in promo-nigeria. Steemit is a beautiful place to be and we are sure you will be happy here. Get to know more by blogging consistently. Never be discouraged, seek for assistant when necessary. Cheers!

So much love for you @anneporter! I hope you will shine here ✨Just keep doing what you do best and everything else will follow 😁 Stay awesome!

Thank you @thegaillery for bringing me here

Welcome to Steemit!

You've been upvoted + resteemed by the #LadiesofSteemit initiative. 🎈

Thank you very much @ladiesofsteemit. Thank you for your efforts in promoting and supporting the diverse female voices in the community.

Hi Anne!

This is a great intro post! Your pole photo is so good! Well done!
We're super excited to have you on board, and if you have any questions about this whole amazing but complex platform, please feel free to ask... happy to help!

Welcome to Steem!

@aussieninja , Wow, Really thank you very much. That means so much. Yes, I'm still exploring and it's quite complicated, honestly. But I am very excited to be part of the community.

We're excited to have you! Check out @polebird... she's really nice and she's a pole-y scientist too.
Don't stress too much about the complications of Steem too much, pretty much keep going like this and people will find you in no time!

@aussieninja, thank you so much. I just checked @polebird, she's amazing

Came down to the comments to share this information too, she's a doll and I find more pole folks on the platform through her posts. I am hoping to be getting back into a studio soon and @anneporter y'all motivate me to the max! Looking forward to hearing more from you!

Hi Anne! You're so super interesting... we don't get too many science-loving pole-dancers around here (although there is @polebird)...

You've been featured in The Fresh Five!
It's a daily post designed to help introduce brand new Steemians to the community.

We're all here to help you find new friends and answer any questions you might have.

Here is the link, come say hello:
https://steemit.com/fresh5/@thefreshfive/the-fresh-five-for-march-6th-new-steemians-you-should-get-to-know

Welcome to Steem!

wow! Super thanks for @thefreshfive. Yes I checked @polebird too, she's amazing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63626.54
ETH 2727.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56