Bring on the Japanese craze: Otaku joining the Steemit ranks!

Hi everyone! I'm Ana, and I am really excited to be joining all of you!

My experience joining the community was a bit different, and unexpected. I basically joined after going to a #steemSTEM meeting last week! I was so impressed with the outstanding people I met, it felt like I joined the community I was missing for a long time. I will write in my following post a detailed recount of the trip, but many thanks to @lemouth for making it possible!

About me: I am a massive Japan enthusiast, gamer, painter and writer. I love meeting people from different cultures and fields of work, to learn from them and be inspired.
P1110156.JPG

I currently work as a conference organizer and Editor in Chief for Informa Global Finance, specializing in quant finance and risk management.

I joined the platform because I want to meet inspirational people, who I can hopefully learn new things from. I'll be writing about interesting encounters I've had with experts from different fields, including a series of interviews with professors from NYU, Harvard and MIT which I will start soon. My first interview will be an exclusive talk I had with Steve Murphy and Javier Peña , the DEA agents who captured the infamous Colombian kingpin #PabloEscobar. !

Look out for many Japanese culture posts, and feel free to reach out to me if you'd like a free Japanese language lesson.

Sort:  

Ah, finally, you started posting! I was worried I followed you for nothing :P

Hey suesa, how many new peoples you have motivated in that meet, @freyablekman is doing really great.

They motivated themselves, the meetup was super cool!

Haha, no way! I love the platform. I am really excited to write more, I'll write about the trip to CERN next very soon :) thank you for following me!

si ... n-ai mai scris :D

Lovely post. Welcome to steemit! Your going to have a lovely time on here. Hope you visit my page @diljeetdil xx

Hey @ana.luiza
Welcome to steemit, and that meet was a real blast. STEM group is really a fun and I'll really like to read about the professors interviews from NYU. You must know Prof. Lisa fong from NYU, I was planning to join her lab for my PhD, but somehow could not. Listening their thoughts and interviews will be really interesting.

Hi @vinamra! thanks for your comment! I will try and get in touch with Prof. Fong, what department is she in? I am looking for suggestions and ideas for anyone you'd like to hear from. I'll reach out to them :)

Welcome to Steemit. I think you will like it. There are plenty of people who love talking about cryptocurrencies, but lots of other interests too. Have fun

Congratulations @ana.luiza! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Finally you crossed the line! Then welcome on steemit :)

I love Japan too. I may post about my experience in this country with my travel account, at some point... ;)

That would be amazing! Thank you once again for welcoming me to the community!

I will be travelling with @aurel.proorocu to Japan in April. I used to live there in 2013-2014. I'd love to hear about your experience there :)

I may go back there for 3 days early in May. But this is not decided yet ;)

PS: I put Japan on the list of things to write about on the other blog. Who knows ;)

That's great, it's a good time to go. You will probably be there during golden week :)

I will also write about the trip in April and post lots of pictures :)

Does it match the cherry blossom period?

Hey, welcome to steemit. It was nice seeing you at the meetup. I hope you stick around. I regret not meeting you guys the next day but I got super lost XD

Heeey me too! I would have loved to talk more about Colombia, I will try and visit it next year. I will write about my meeting with Javier Pena and Steve Murphy in another post, I hope you'll like it. How is the European trip going?

Great. Spain is lovely, super warm and fun. For instance, here it looks like I wanna poop in front of a castle.

Haha that's amazing, you picked a great place! Enjoy the rest of your trip and share your experiences with us, I'd love to hear about them :)

Congratulations @ana.luiza! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @ana.luiza! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @ana.luiza! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63180.80
ETH 3418.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46