5 Things About Me: An American College Girl

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians!
rsz_img_0694_2.jpg
My name is Jordan, and today I wanted to introduce myself by sharing 5 facts about me.

aaa.pngKC from the rooftop of my job

Kansas City, Missouri is where I call home.

"Kansas City Here I Come" by Wilbert Harrison doesn't even scratch the surface on what my hometown has to offer. Called the city of lights, KC is a booming metropolis. I love being in the heart of the Midwest and cheering on my home teams: Royals, Chiefs, SportingKC, and Mavericks. Although I've lived in the metro area my entire life, I love exploring the city because there is always a nook or cranny that is a secret gem waiting to be discovered. You will find me in the heart of downtown for school and work or in my cozy apartment just outside the hustle and bustle.

aaa.pngRockhurst University (Photo by Sara Hale)

I'm currently at university.

I am in my third year at Rockhurst University. I study nonprofit management and have a concentration in fundraising. Rockhurst is a Jesuit university that is committed to service, which was important to me in my college search. I love to learn and, aside from my major classes, enjoy theology, ethics, and art. After I graduate, I hope to work for a nonprofit organization doing marketing, social media, and communications. Until then, I am the Social Media and Marketing Intern at a national nonprofit here in KC.

aaa.png My Service Immersion Trip to Michigan with Rockhurst students in 2016

I enjoy learning through service.

As I mentioned, service was important to me when looking at colleges. Ever since I was in elementary school, I have been fascinated by the impact of giving back. Kansas City is the best place to have this passion because there are over 7,000 nonprofit organizations in the metro. Since most of these organizations have a low overhead budget, the need for volunteers is significant. When I found out that Rockhurst had a program in which I could get a degree in Nonprofit Management, I knew that was the path I wanted to go down. Volunteering at nonprofits is in my genes, and I am always looking for a new place to serve. Whether it be with my school, with family, or simply by myself, I always have a meaningful time when I am helping others. I hope to show you what serving means to me within my future posts.

aaa.pngA few family members of mine, from left to right: me, Aunt Karen, Aunt Becky, Masha, and my dad

Family is my number one value.

Like most, I love my family. I try to spend time with them as much as possible in between our busy schedules. Although my immediate family isn't huge, it is blended enough to always bring a funny or sincere memory with each outing. I have three brothers, two of which live with my mom and stepdad near me. On my dad's side, I have two aunts (pictured) that live near me as well. However, my dad (@energyaddict22) and my stepmom, Masha, (@sreybgm) live in St. Petersburg, Russia. The family dynamic is pretty entangled, but who's isn't nowadays? My dad convinced me to join Steemit, and he has been my guru for navigating the platform. Slowly but surely my aunts will join as well, and we'll be a clan of Steemians! Overall, I am with my family all the time and have a briefcase full of stories that would entertain even the dullest of people.

aaa.png Camping in the Lake of the Ozarks in October 2017

Travel is a major hobby of mine (if you didn't catch that by my name).

Maybe it's because of my dad living abroad or from moving schools a lot as a kid, but traveling and trying new things are my favorite things to do in my free time. I have had the opportunity to travel to St. Petersburg to visit my dad, stopping in Amsterdam and Paris along the way. I enjoy staying in hotels in the middle of the city, as well as camping on a back road near the lake. Since my college-student budget doesn't allow for extraordinary trips often, I tend to travel "backpacker style" by road tripping and doing free excursions. I tend to be impulsive with my travels, and am a last-minute pack-the-car-and-go kind of gal. I look forward to taking you through the ins and outs of my endeavors and showing you pictures of what nature and man have to offer. With travel comes new food, new people, and new experiences and I can't wait to show you just how exciting "new" can be.

Now that you have gotten to know a little about me, I look forward to contributing to the community and making new friends in the process!

Follow me on social media:
https://twitter.com/JordanKByers
https://www.instagram.com/jojobyers97

Sort:  


Welcome to Steemit @americantraveler!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Hi, americantraveler, Welcome to Steemit, I am new here too and enjoying finding my way around.

I laughed and laughed when you said "I am with my family all the time and have a briefcase full of stories that would entertain even the dullest of people."

I look forward to reading your stories,
best wishes,
Margot

Hi Margot! I'm glad you got a laugh, and hope to entertain you in the future with my anecdotes.

I am excited to see your content on energy, as well as your photos of Australia (a dream destination of mine!)

Welcome on Steemit. Have a lot fun!

Hello! Excellent article, you're done! Welcome to Steemit, I'm glad to new friends and have followed you, I hope you will follow me as well, wish you successful development of your blog! 😃
Upvoted your post! 😉

Nice to meet you, @vaseloff! Thank you for your kind regards. I see you are new as well, and will be glad to follow you. Best of luck 😃

Very nice introduction! I look forward to seeing your posts, being a traveler myself. I followed and upvoted, invite you to do the same, you will like my travel pics.

Hi @karbon! I appreciate your feedback and am glad to hear from a fellow traveler. I've always wanted to visit Ontario! 😊 I will definitely follow!

Thank you! When you decide to visit, contact me and I will help you with some local knowledge.

Welcome to Steemit. I follow your dad (how I saw this post, he resteemed it) as he posts very interesting pictures and facts from history. I hope you find Steemit to your liking.

Nice to meet you @practicalthought. Isn't it funny how even when we're adults, our parents unashamedly support us? I appreciate your welcoming and am glad to see your fondness for history. Growing up with my dad, I have come to view history as intriguing and lesson-bearing, and love when others share that view.

Yes, it is awesome to have the love and support of ones parents. I lost my dad about 6 years ago, and the loss made me realize even more how important he was in my life.

Your dad is one of the more interesting bloggers I have found here. I have always had a thirst for knowledge and rather than focusing on present drama, he writes about the people and places of the past. I always get excited when I see he has a new post in my feed. It is amazing to witness that despite the growth in tools, how little people have grown, coming back to the same choices in cycles.

Welcome. Great intro post. Good luck!

Welcome on Steemit!
Kansas? It remind me Wizard of OZ :)

Greetings From Mr. Crypto!
I enjoyed your post and I'm pleased to meet you!

Please help us grow @rehab22 Follow/UpVote/Resteem
Original Content.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60522.54
ETH 2602.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64