My Introduction to Steemit from @alphaccino.art

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: My Introduction to Steemit from @alphaccino.art


Hello Steemit World

Imgur

My name is Sarah and this is my introduction post to the Steemit Community for @alphaccino.art

After spending a little time getting to know the community, I really want to start this post by expressing how grateful I am to have found this community, I can't tell you how much I (really do) appreciate all the love and support that I received since joining Steemit only a short time ago.

As I write this post, my steemd profile says I'm 60 68 days old and I thought it was as good a time as any, to finish writing my #introduceyourself post from where it's been sitting in draft for (at least) a few weeks now.

Imgur

Update: It's been a busy week so it's more like 68 days now but on the bright side, my RC just hit 100% for the first time since HF20... so, cheers cobber!

Imgur

Needless to say, dogs and coffee would rank among my top all-time favourite things in life but these two things, in particular, are ones that I favour on a daily basis.

My three dogs (and to some extent, my coffee addiction) were major considerations when it came to making my decision to work from home. They are indeed my best friends and will definitely be a feature in many of my future posts.

Imgur

Greetings from Ruby Tuesday, Georgii and Cleo (as pictured, left to right) - they are very pleased to meet you

Imgur

Who am I? I'm a true blue Australian Sheila, born and bred in Sydney but currently living in Canberra (since about 2009); I've also spent almost a decade living on the Sapphire Coast of NSW, which I will always fondly remember as the best-kept secret on the NSW coast.

Imgur

In the way of family, I have three adult children who are, without a doubt, my greatest achievement in life. These days since they're all over 18, you could say I've been relieved from most 'parental duties' and this has given me a golden opportunity to take my time and think about how I really wanted to spend my days.

Rejoining the Nine to Five rat race was not an option that appealed to me - AT ALL! - it never did! - so creating my own sustainable income was really, the only way forward that I could see.

Or rather, the only way that I felt would allow me to remain true to myself and live in accordance with what I truly believed to be at the core of my (our) nature; essentially, allowing me to be happy within myself.

Imgur

So far, it's been almost a year since I took my leap of faith to work from home with the long-term goal of creating my own income.

My background is mainly in graphic design and digital pre-press but in 2010, I felt a need to go back to basics so I enroled at a local college to study the fundamentals of design. The curriculum, including projects and exercises, focused on traditional methods of fine art such as painting, sculpture and screenprinting.

More recently in my home studio, I've been experimenting with acrylic paints and various types of reclaimed materials that I use to create garden sculptures and 3D wall art. My artwork will be one of the main features on my blog and in time, I'm hoping to add some studio footage as well.

Imgur

A current WIP - 3D Wall Art

Imgur

YouTube has been my main source of entertainment of late and a channel that I watch regularly is 'The Crow House' hosted by Max Igan.

Max is also an Australian and his words really resonate with where I am in life right now, so I completely 'understand' his point of view. idk, maybe it's that wisdom they say comes with age, but I just get it (in a way, I think I always did)

(IMHO) Max has a very unique way of telling it how it is, and I like that. His concept of 'rejecting the system' reflects my own silent revolution, to be the change I wish to see in the world, to take a stand in my own reality in what's probably my last-ditch attempt to be in a position to actively make that change.

Anyhoo, I go to Max's website and what do you think was the first thing I notice? You guessed it, there was a link for Max Igan on Steemit. And well... here I am!

@maxigan, if you're reading this, I would like to THANK YOU, not only for your wonderful insight (that tells me I'm not so crazy after all) but also for bringing me over to Steemit.

And for anyone who hasn't already, I encourage you to check out Max's work and have provided some links for you to share some love.

Steemit: @maxigan
YouTube: thecrowhouse
Website: The Crowhouse Homepage

Imgur

About 6 months ago, I purchased a Nikon D3400 DSLR Camera with the intention of taking photos of my artwork and I must say, having a good quality camera to work with gave me a fresh, new outlook on my interest in photography.

Being a bit of a late bloomer in the photography department means I'm always looking for ways to improve my camera skills and steemit provides me with a perfect reason to get out there and take some beautiful photos. If not for Steemit, my photographs would probably just clog up my hard drive forever more.

Steemit has provided me with a brilliant opportunity. For me, it's a place where I can display my artwork and photography, keeping a journal my progress and a record of my creative journey. The rewards system just means that when I am 'working' on my posts or browsing and commenting on other posts, I'm no longer 'wasting time on social media'. These days, when I work on my blog I feel like I'm doing exactly that, WORKING. (which makes all of you, my colleauges - lol, who's buying coffee?)

But most importantly, and I know I'm not alone when I say there are NO WORDS to describe the positive vibes I feel when I see people genuinely appreciating and engaging through my work, especially when they say so with their upvotes and comments. ;)

To be completely honest, this has been a really new and exciting experience for me since, in the past, I've never been one to put myself out in the spotlight and I know this sounds really corny, but I feel like I've found my tribe.


'...came here for Steem but stayed for the warm fuzzy feeling...'

Imgur

I'll finish up by saying that I'm only (60 68 days) new to Steemit and as good as BRAND NEW to cryptocurrency but already, I'm really glad I found Steemit and the community behind it. Everyone has made me feel very welcome and it's encouraging to see people being so supportive of others, it restores my faith in the power of love.

If I had to pinpoint one thing that inspires me more than anything else about Steemit, (apart from the creative talent) I would have to say it's the huge effort made by the core community to upvote, curate and reward people who make the effort to produce original, good quality content which I find very encouraging. This point alone makes the Steemit Community one that I can honestly say I'm proud to be a part of.

In closing, I just wanted to add a special thank you to all the people who have directly supported my work so far. You honestly have no idea how much you have motivated me to, not only keep posting but you have gifted my days with a new purpose and you've given me a wonderful reason to get out of bed every morning. I only hope I can provide the same support for others in the future.

Imgur

Remember to keep smiling...

it makes people wonder what your thinking :)

Sort:  

Great introduction post, I am happily resteeming this one :) Greets, @theaustrianguy

Thank you and greetings from Australia to Austria :P

Welcome to Steemit))

Thank you, glad to be here :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by alphaccino.art from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @alphaccino.art! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Hi alphaccino.art,
Welcome to #teamaustralia! Please find below your two footer banners made by @bearone for use in your future posts.

TeamAustralia Slim Banner
https://gateway.ipfs.io/ipfs/Qmad43VNdCuSKsHZg3G2aXSzC9EmCr2xHPKMLGEAqrMPMv

TeamAustralia Compact Banner
https://gateway.ipfs.io/ipfs/Qmcp99FXyxmh7L3p26AEVEutwNrGwrHdnnik4VQzoY37rY

Brought to you by @quochuy (steem witness)

Why thank you very much, your support means a lot to me :)

Welcome to Steem alphaccino.art! Partiko is a officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

Nice to meet you :) I think 'peace and love' should be used instead of 'goodbye' :)

Thank you, that is a wonderful idea, I'm going to start doing that xxx

I upvoted your post.

Keep steeming for a better tomorrow.
@Acknowledgement - God Bless

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Thank you, anything for a better tomorrow... xxx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13