You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hi - I'm Toni Lane Casserly, executive, advisor and "hottest woman in cryptocurrency".

in #introduceyourself8 years ago

May I give some charity advice?

When raising Bitcoins for charity, keep 1/10 to 2/10 of the fund in place for future distribution for when the price hits levels like 5k-10k USD. Don't spend them all at once at any-market-levels. Of course be transparent about it.

Sort:  

@alexgr that's a great point! I never do that with donations as I have donors to be accountable towards, but I do take this strategy when investing my personal funds into philanthropic endeavors :)

Obviously if the donor expects that the full fund will immediately be spent, that's another issue - and it must be spent. In the context of a "donation fund" instead of a simple donation, where the donor knows up front, I guess he wouldn't mind if that means that the donation can actually be doubled or tripled. To ensure that the spending will occur, you may put a time-limit in place ("if the price doesn't reach the desired targets, the amount will be spent in 3 years time at market prices"). If that's too complicated for donors, or they might think it sounds sketchy, you can avoid it altogether :D

I'd love to have you help with this if you're interested, @alexgr!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57893.29
ETH 3130.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44