My experience in US as a high school kid

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Hello sweet Steemian world!

I am Alex, 27 years old, Russian. I am fond of traveling and English language, learn how to make money online and be free from 9-5.
In this post I would like to tell you about my trip to US that changed my mentality and brought me where I am now. It happened 10 years ago as I took a student exchange program to US. Thanks to my English language studies as I have been learning myself and tend to practice it with native speakers instead of learning theory.
I went to Redwood City, California where my host family was waiting. That was my first transatlantic flight that took almost 24 hours. I missed my plane in Washington and had to rebook the flight but when I eventually landed I couldn't believe it! American land, native speakers! It was all amazing for a Russian kid passionate with English language and American culture.
About three days took me to get used to the reality as I couldn't realize I got to Cali.


For the first time I saw great suburbs like it was shown in movies, clean streets and kind West Coast people.
I got enrolled in Sequoia High School and the educational system impressed me as well. I could choose subjects I wanted to learn, the library was so modern. In comparison to Russian schools, American ones were better hundred times.
My host family had a tiny house and I lived on attic. There was a dog and couple of cats.


What I was really impressed also was that Americans tend to eat outside or just order food, they don't really cook except for these days when they have a family Reunion.


This simplicity amazed me.
I saw the Pacific Ocean for the first time in my life and it was huge! The waves, the coast...


I played in my school basketball team also but once during practice making a drill with a fella we were running from one side of the court to the other and somehow we collapsed I fell on the ground and injured my knee and had to skip the season rooting for my team from the bench.


I would continue to write about my experience if you like this one, please upvote me if you do.

You can also find me on:

Instagram: @alexbraunfx

Facebook: Alexander Braun
VK.com: id262681374

 

P.S.:
I find #Steemit as a great tool to improve English and meet a lot of new friends. The former is one of the most important things as when you meet new people you like start reading a new book that can give you a lot of useful information and change you for the better, #thanksSteemit!  

Sort:  

Excited to have you @alexbraun!
Steemit is growing every day!

Yeap, the idea is amazing!

your images are not showing. apparently, some pic host don't work well with steemit. I use steemimg.com to host my pics and link them in my post. Check my post:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@ace108/how-to-include-image-in-your-post-reference-to-using-steeming-com-in-include-pictures-your-post

Yeah, I put different links now they appear, I guess, thanks!

Keep up the great work @alexbraun!

Welcome @alexbraun:-) How do you like your work?

I am in love with making money online, I learn Forex and Steemit has become another tool for me as well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59583.90
ETH 2578.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48