If your new to steemit, you must read this!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

First, since many of you are asking what the heck is a Hardfork...
You can think of a hardfork as an update to Steemit (and/or the Steem blockchain) that changes things like features on the user interface, formulas for things like voting or curation rewards, etc. I highly recommend following the @SteemitBlog user so you can see official announcements from the Steemit Inc team.
◀⚫⚫⚫▶
So why should you be excited about the next Hardfork (0.19)?
While you can find the official pre-release statement for Hardfork (HF) 0.19 here, I'll make it short and sweet for you. When this 'update' happens..
◀⚫⚫⚫▶
Your Votes will Matter MORE!
Right now, votes have are based off of the square (SP^2) of your Steem Power. Technically this has an underlying piece called rshares, but let's not complicate things...just think of it in terms of Steem Power. A person with 1000 SP has a LOT more influence than somebody with 100 SP (imagine this for whales with 500k SP or more!)
1000^2 = 1,000,000
100^2 = 10,000
In this model, a person with 10 times more SP, have 100 times more influence.
◀⚫⚫⚫▶
They are going to be changing this to be linear instead of squared. Meaning someone with 10 times more SP will have 10 times the influence (compared to 100.) Essentially, this means for newer and smaller users, YOU'RE VOTE WILL HAVE MORE INFLUENCE!
◀⚫⚫⚫▶
More Influence, but Less Votes
One thing I wanted to point out with HF 0.19 is that while 100% votes (i.e. a full slider bar vote) will be able to give more rewards to others, the number of votes we have available without having our voting power regeneration keep up will be much lower.
◀⚫⚫⚫▶
I have a post that get's more in depth about the slider bar and vote power percentage in works and posted today.
◀⚫⚫⚫▶
But the basics...right you we are allowed 40 - 100% votes a day without our vote power dropping (more than the regen rate.) After this hardfork, we will have 10 - 100% votes a day without the voting power drop-off. This simply means that if you want to give out more than 10 votes a day, you may wish to split your votes, like 20 - 50% votes or 100 - 10% votes...that's up to you.

Source: https://steemit.com/steem-help/@sykochica/why-newbies-should-be-excited-about-the-next-hardfork
Since i could not resteem this,
I ask permission to @sykochica

Please, follow and check @sykochica blog for more helpful tips.
Help that new steemians are here!

What should i write about? By @sykochica
Link: https://steemit.com/steem-help/@sykochica/answering-common-questions-what-should-i-write-about

Why my post earnings went down? @sykochica
Link: https://steemit.com/steem-help/@sykochica/answering-common-questions-my-post-earnings-went-down-where-s-my-money-going

Sort:  

More Influence, but Less Votes
One thing I wanted to point out with HF 0.19 is that while 100% votes (i.e. a full slider bar vote) will be able to give more rewards to others, the number of votes we have available without having our voting power regeneration keep up will be much lower.

I believe that is incorrect.
Currently I vote...oh...forty or fifty times A DAY...my vote power STAYS at about 20%...
what?...me worry....in the end it all comes out to be the same...
with the new hardfork...I can dump ALL OF my vote power...very quickly...instead of having to vote so many time ...but I don't HAVE too...

note..votes are 'use it or lose it'...if you don't vote...you're not making (curation) money that you could have.

ALWAYS keep your vote power below 70%...otherwise your vote tank runeth over...and you waste what you could other wise have used..

Thanks for that adds on,

For me, i cast my vote without limit, actually it could not reflect the upvoting ive done.. Did not get to $0.01.. And im up to it..

right now my vote power is at 27%
I just voted...and it showed a nickel..
so I dunno...I don't worry about it...I just vote when/if the mood strikes me.
GOOD write up...I forwarded the link (I hate resteem) to certain peoples..

You have high reputation, maybe it does not affect.. But for low level like me, i cn see only the voting power goes down..

yup...reputation matters...you gain a high(er) rep by posting a LOT.
every little bit helps.
Right off hand I'd say that the biggest reward I ever got was...oh...$5 maybe..
but I post a LOT...
so it adds up..and the reputation goes up too.

Wow.. Thanks you,, i will do that..

I'll take that as an advise.. Can i post 10 topics a day?? Haha
Maybe thats to much.. I get $0.00 sometime,, thats why i post rarely..

why not post ten a day?
I do.

923 followers 8128 posts
so far..

Wow.. You have many followers..

I got only 200 and barely cant feel that i have them..
But, i never try to post 10 topics a day,, i will do that now..

Thank you.. Thats a big help..

Great info. More for all.

Cheers

Thank you for your support

Following

Thank you for your support

following

I hope your day is ok :)

Ahm, why did you say that?

I just say... is it bad :)) We all want good day

Oh! I thought i write something wrong that made you think my day is bad..

But your slightly right.
My day doesnt start that good,
But im fine now.. And optimistic..

Thanks

I hope this bad thing go , and you day end good :)

Its already gone

And im having fun..
Thanks again..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67118.32
ETH 3521.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.20