My introductory post


Hi, my name is Dave. A friend told me about Steemit a few weeks ago and the concept intrigues me. I am familiar with the concept of the block chain, since I have been following Bitcoin for several years.

My profession is engineering and I live in New England. On weekends, I am building a small cabin in NH. It will be off grid and solar powered, so I am interested in those subjects. I plant a vegetable garden each year and have been using wood chips for mulch. I have been practicing the martial art Aikido, for the past 30 years. I am a certified Foundation Training instructor, so if anyone reading this has back pain, feel free to contact me. I enjoy spending time on the water in my canoe, kayak and paddleboard. I hope to build a PD Goose sailboat in the near future. I am currently studying Spanish and learning to play the ukulele to build brain cells as I get older!

I recently read the book "The Fourth Turning" and I believe that it accurately explains the social and economic changes which I believe will be coming to the USA. 

I worked in Guam for 2 years after I graduated from college. After that I sailed as an engineer on Liquid Natural Gas tankers for 4 years, bringing LNG from northern Africa to the east coast of the US. For the past 30 years I have worked for a high tech company building air traffic control radars for airports around the world.

I am glad to be on Steemit and I plan to add useful content based on my experience on the above topics and my other interests. I hope to help the Steemit community grow with knowledgeable comments and by helping others.

Sort:  

I really like your post. I hope you put up pics of your cabin!
Life off the grid can be really great, but what about your inet connection ;-) ?

You got a lot of comments, more than my posts !

Thanks. I am working on a post about my cabin with pics. I am close enough to the road that I can run a cable to the pole for internet connection.

Nice post ! Welcome its a pleasure!
Welcome to visit: REPORTS FOR NEWBIES

Thank you, I'm glad to be here.

Welcome to Steem @aikidave I have sent you a tip

Thank you very much

Welcome to the platform, I wish everything work out for you. It’s not easy here but not difficult neither but just ask an extra effort, engagement is the key good luck I’m @goodaytraders Start by following people and they will do the same.

Thank you !

Welcome to the Steemit community :) follow me at https://steemit.com/@vj1309

Hi Dave, welcome! I recently joined as well! You have had quite the adventure thus far eh! (Yes I am Canadian haha). Would love to hear your plans what your build on the off-grid solar cabin! Let see some pictures! I am near %80 done an Airstream Landyacht rebuild that I will be posting on Steemit about soon! It has a 400w solar system on it!

Hi egregorian. I'll pull together some pictures of my cabin, do a write up of my progress and post it here soon. I am starting year 3 of a 5 year plan for construction. I have always loved the look of Airstream trailers, but have never been inside one. Looking forward to reading about your project.

Welcome to steem . Happy to have you with us. @autonomysystem

Welcome to the steemit community

Welcome @aikidave
Here is few tips for you
firstly, follow me @digital-entrep and be subjected to wonderful posts that would help you grow in the platform
secondly, sign up with steemit chat to help promote your post reach a wider audience
thirdly, engage(upvote, comment, resteem) other people posts to help guide your grow

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63491.17
ETH 2618.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79