Introduceyourself

in #introduceyourself โ€ข 6 years ago

๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜
What's a Homesteader and Why Do I Care?
image
๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘
Sometimes it's easier to answer the question of what something is NOT rather than my definition of what it is, although I'll give you my definition below. A homesteader isn't necessarily off-grid, rural, live totally off the land, militia-type agrarian... although they can be. They aren't necessarily owners of large plots of land and own tractors and "farm" although some do. They don't necessarily have huge back yard suburban gardens, replaced front lawns food plots, or city-chickens, though some of the coolest homesteaders I know do those things.

๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜
๏ฟผ

Grow Where You Are

My definition at my website (The Modern Homestead) is simply this... a homesteader should "Grow Where You Are". Few words for a great big philosophy. My take on homesteading (and please note, there are a lot of different views) is this: Life pulls us different places at different times. Sometimes our desire may be to live in the middle of nowhere, off-grid growing our own food, living sustainably, and yet, our callings, careers and current choices may place us in suburbia, perhaps on a small lot in an urban setting. Maybe kids schooling, not wanting to uproot them, your career, medical needs or any number of things keep you from being where you THINK you need to be to live more sustainable, to be a little less dependent, to grow in knowledge. But that's counterproductive. You can learn so much where you are by doing things that you want to do in the future. It may be a smaller scale or it may not be everything you want to do, but you can move in that direction.

๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘

My Story

๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜
With that philosophy in mind, I'll share a little bit of my story so you know who I am. My name is Bob. I chose@homesteaderslife here because modernhomestead was ONE LETTER TOO LONG! :) I'm originally from Ohio. I now live in NW PA. I'm married for over 20 years and have 4 children... all teenagers with the oldest in her freshmen year in college. I've been in NW PA for 10 year๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘

Sort: ย 

Welcome to Steem Community @adyyong! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Wellcome to steemit

Welcome to steemit!
I am a bot built for the purposes of welcoming new users! I know that steemit may seem very overwhelming to you right now but don't worry. There's a learning curve to everything so just be patient and you'll be churning out posts and becoming a part of something great in no time!

Also if there are any questions that you may have, then just ask your questions on any of my blog posts or in a reply below and I'll be more than happy to assist you with whatever questions you may have! I will also be creating a basic starting out guide for all minnows and newcomers on my blog so do give it a read as that might help answer many of your questions!

Have fun and I wish you LOADS of success on here! :)

Also. you can call upon originalworks whenever something you post is your own content like this: @originalworks

Regards
@welcome-to-steem

Welcome to steemit @adyyong .steemit is good plate form you will
Enjoy here alot.
Best of luck please follow me for future help and upvotes
@shahidkha

Hi pretty girl, do you want to have a chance at making thousands of dollars in Ethereum while playing a game. Read my post to find out more

https://steemit.com/money/@stevekelly/new-ethereum-game-aethia-big-opportunity-to-make-thousands-of-dollars-in-ethereum

Hello, I'm Oatmeal Joey, and yes, grow where you are.

welcome & great to see you getting active here! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.22
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66524.25
ETH 3616.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81