I'm Sonja and this is my life of endless adventures

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hi, Steemit! I’m the girl who took way to much time trying think of a clever Introduction Post title and still didn’t manage to come up with anything... talk about having writer's block on the little things!

First, let me introduce the whole Adventure Junkie crew aka my lovely family! My husband Tyler, our cat Neo, our pup Link, and myself, Sonja!

Image of the adventure junkies

Who am I? (Short Version)

It’s so weird writing about myself and I have no idea where to start.

If you want the short and simple version, I am a blogger, freelance web designer, and amateur photographer. I love the outdoors and crave adventure. I’m in my 20’s, living and traveling with my amazing husband and our pets.

Image of the adventure junkies

Last year my husband and I bought a motorhome and traveled the USA on a epic road-trip across the country with our Cat (Neo) and our dog (Link).

And yes both where named after crypto coins because we are nerds like that.

We were planning on our road trip to last a few years, or until we felt like doing something else. But, there has been a change of plans. A little unexpected but that's just how life works!

Not even a year later, we are now moving to puerto rico!

Surprise mom and dad!

Image of the adventure junkies

One thing I’ve learned is that there is no point in planning a roadmap to life because it’s all just one crazy adventure and you never know where it’s going to take you.

Feel free to skim till you find something interesting, this is gonna be a long post. But I can’t really help it, I love to write.

My Life Story (Long Version)

If you want the long version, I’ll share with you a little about where I came from, my story, and how I got to where I am today because people tell me that my life story is quite interesting.

In 1992 I was born in a rural village on the outskirts of Sarajevo, Bosnia and boy did I have horrible timing. For those of you that didn’t know, this was the year the civil was started.

Hiding, running from the “bad guys”, getting smuggled out of the town, having my dad (a civilian) in a POW camp for 4 years, refusing to play with the kids in the grass because of my fear of land mines sums up the first 4 years of my childhood.

1997 was the year my family “won the lottery” and where invited to relocate to the United States as refugees, but my only memory of this was the pain of leaving my grandmother behind.

Coming to the United States we had the clothes on our backs and 500 German Marks and the hope of achieving the “American Dream”, after all this is the land of opportunity? Not the mention my mom was present with my brother, and my dad was on crutches (disabled from his time as a prisoner in the concentration camp). I just turned five, we didn’t know how to speak English so to say we started from nothing would be a understatement.

I believe that watching my parents while growing up it was made me believe that anything was achievable if you believe in yourself, commit fully, and work your ass off.

Fast forward to today and my parents both have a college education, successful business, and respectable jobs.

“Life is like a box of chocolates, you never know what you’re gonna get” - Forrest Gump Movie

From a dissatisfied cubical dweller to a blogger

So I said I was a travel blogger, but how did I get here? Well, I’ll try to keep this next part short but I can’t make any promises!

I graduated university with a degree in Finance. Funny thing though, I hate math and suck at it.

Side rant: And why do we pressure 17 year olds to make a decision on what they are going to do/be for the rest of their life? I had no idea what I wanted to do. In fact, most jobs just seemed boring.

But Finance it was because I was told it was a solid choice for “job security”. Three years later, I have this spiffy Finance Degree, student loan debt, and 9 to 5 as a financial analyst cubical dweller. YAWN

Well, I believe that if you don’t like where you are in life, don’t just complain about it, do something to change it!

After 1.5 years of wasting away my life (and getting my soul sucked out) in the corporate world but my night I was teaching myself coding and web design. And the next year I quit.

Since then I’ve freelanced as a web designer/ front-end developer and in my spare time I blog. Today I blog and in my spare time I freelance.

Cool story…but are you real?

I love taking pictures but I hate being on the other side! So I'm hoping that this will suffice as proof of my human existence:

Here is my website: World Adventure junkies - World Travel Blog
Here is my instagram: https://www.instagram.com/worldadventurejunkies/
Here is my facebook: https://www.facebook.com/sonjacovic

Why am I here?

Because I love to write. I write articles that I hope people will read, enjoy and, most importantly, gain useful information. Here is a quick breakdown of what content you can expect from me:

  • Photos
  • Travel Guides & Tips
  • Product Reviews and Comparisons
  • Random Adventures
  • “How To” Guides
  • Lots of stuff on living and moving to puerto rico because that’s my current adventure

My goal is to share my adventures and experiences to inspire others to add more adventure to their life and learn from my mistakes as they create their own adventure.

Also checkout my blog at World Adventure junkies - World Travel Blog It's awesome, my mom told me so.

Thanks for reading my new Steemit friends! I'm so excited to be a part of the community!

With Love,
Sonja

Side Note: All the images in this post where taken by me.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @adventurejunkies! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Hello adventurejunkies! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. As a start, here are 5 tips that we believe will be helpful to you:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of them. Also, make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: When writing a post, you'll have the option to choose how to receive your reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this can change over time. Check our post to know more.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also, make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert and power up more Steem into Steem Power so you can have higher values on your upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

Sounds great! Thanks for the tips :)

hi sonja! welcome to Steemit 😄 im gonna be looking forward to your posts soon, see u around. 🙂

Thanks! I just started but I love Steemit so far, you'll be seeing more of my posts for sure!

Welcome to Steemit, adventurejunkies! I wish you a very prosper journey here in this loving and caring community :) All the best!

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

Awesome, thanks for the tip!

Great intro post, you've gained a follower and I'm looking forward to your next post! I'm curious, why did you guys decide to move to PR?

Warm greeting from Thailand and wishing you all the best as you begin your journey here on Steemit!

Awesome! Well you could say the main reason was the nice tax incentives (Act 20 & 22) for our crypto trading. But the warm weather, beautiful beaches, and friendly people were also a contributing factor :)

Cool! I've been there once, it was lovely...and true about the friendly locals! Some of our favorite people come from that island :)

That’s awesome! I like hearing that other people have had positive experiences here :)

Hi there @adventurejunkies, welcome to Steemit! Your HDR pics are astounding! hope to see more of them on the way :)

Enjoy the journey and Cheers from Prague ;)

@klaus85

Thanks so much for the kind words! There will be plenty more to come :)

You are very welcome, have a great Sunday! I subscribed ;)

Oh awesome! Thanks! You have a great Sunday as well! :)

Welcome to steemit :) I hope you like it here and have lot's of fun. have an upvote for starters.

Thank you for the warm welcome!

Bienvenido a la gran familia Steemit, tienes la oportunidad de crecer, recibiendo clases de Negocios, Liderazgo, arte, poesía y comunicación, por eso te invito a participar en esta importante escuela.
Únete aquí
https://discord.gg/hrjxG4G
Welcome to the great Steemit family, you have the opportunity to grow, receiving business classes, Leadership, art, poetry and communication, so I invite you to participate in this important school.
Join here
https://discord.gg/hrjxG4G

Enlace: https://steemit.com/@nellita66Steemit_Schools_LOGO.gif

https://discord.gg/Kkbkewk


Welcome to Steemit @adventurejunkies!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Welcome to steemit @adventurejunkies. Join @minnowsupport project for more help. Checkout @helpie and @qurator projects.
Send SBD/STEEM to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Send SBD/STEEM to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project, follow for random votes.

Thanks! I’ll check it out!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61696.14
ETH 3401.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52