Obligatory "Hello World!"

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steem community, Adam Culp here. I've decided to start 2018 with my first of hopefully many posts here.

Adam.Culp250x250.jpg

This past year my wife and I purchased our first home...on the beach...now that all the kids are grown and gone. It is our time to enjoy things a bit and not be concerned with the neighborhood or school districts. However, don't mistake that as meaning boring, because we certainly are not. We are very active and thoroughly enjoy life. However, I have some big plans to shake up 2018.

I'm sure I will post some of the renovation adventures. So far it has taken us about 6 months to get 3 weeks of work accomplished. So we are about to fire the worthless old contractor and make some headway with some new workers. Here's hoping.

Also, I am back to working out regularly. No, that is not a reactionary new years resolution, as I started it in December. I am adding weight training to my normal 30+ miles per week running routine. As I get older the muscle show signs of softening faster than when I was younger, so time to firm it up.

I hope to also build my miles back up and attempt another 100-mile ultramarathon later in the year. In the past (2012) I've hit 72 miles, but have not managed to complete a 100-miler. This may be the year. I will also be preparing for some marathons. It has been 5 long years since my last race of marathon distance or more. Time to change that.

In addition, I've been threatening to write a technical book or two. This year I will dust those projects off and hope to have something completed soon.

So, stay tuned Steem. We're in for a wild ride this year.

Sort:  

A runner? Be sure to check my blog @theaustrianguy in the next days, there might be a great challenge coming up for you! Greets!

I will certainly watch for it. I love a great challenge.

Adam! Welcome aboard. Did @lukestokes get to you, too? :-)

Spoke with @lukestokes back when he started. But too much going on to start myself at that time. I did create an account a year ago, but failed to use it until now.

Hi, welcome to steemit community. =)
I envy you for getting back on track, been busy doing my blogs and during the holidays and I forgot my routine and going to the gym but hopefully, I'll start soon. =)

Good luck getting back to the workouts. I know it really helps me when I do. Somehow I always find time for more things when I workout regularly.

Welcome Adam! Glad to see you on Steemit after hearing me talk about it enough. Heheh. See you in Florida in February. Just gave you a nice upvote.

Thank you, sir. Looking forward to next month, and to contributing more to Steemit.

I resteemed your post so hopefully you'll get a few followers as well.

See you both in February.

Congratulations @adamculp, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Hello Adam Culp. Okay, so you are my hero. I have been running for years. But, only on my own and with my dogs. But, I got plantar fasciitis in my left foot. I kept running and hobbling around for about six months before I had enough. Then, I read 'Born to Run' by Chris McDougall. It was May and I started walking and running barefoot everywhere I could. I am hooked. I try to average 10 a day. During the winter months I run in those rubbery boat shoes. Anyhow, it is my dream to run an ultra marathon. And you have already almost done that. I also understand the changing of the muscles with age. But, running ability is not supposed to diminish until 65 and then it could diminish slowly over a couple more decades. I agree with you that it will be a great ride this year. What is your technical expertise?

Thanks @alexshorer, I had plantar about 6 years ago in both feet. Managed to beat it using a golf ball to massage my feet after runs, as well as doing toe curls and using some minimalistic shoes a few times each week on runs. Haven't had the issue return in 5 years.

I'm only 51, so still have some good running years left in me. ;-)

Not sure how to answer the technical expertise. I primarily consult in relation to web development using PHP.

Hello Adam. Sure. You definitely have running years (decades) to go. Your original post is great. I asked about the expertise because you said you might write a technical book or two. So, I thought that you are a person who blends an art (good writing) with an in depth knowledge of a particular subject. And I would be interested any a book that you might write.

Thank you for your support. I will likely post more here when the times comes. My areas of interest are refactoring code (specifically refactoring patterns leaning toward PHP) as well as web development best practices.

Congratulations @adamculp! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

WooHoo! Congrats to me! :-)

Can't wait to see your coming posts. Let's keep up with everyone in 2018. Happy New Year Adam :)

Thanks for reading, @sylviabrowyn.

Hi Adam look forward to your posts, are you into engineering at all?

Hi @deliberator, no engineering. I do a bunch of consulting around PHP and web development.

I admire you for being able to do marathons in the first place let alone training to do it again! Hopefully I can do it one day!

We can do all things we desire. If you desire it enough, I'm sure you can accomplish great things. I've ran in one way or another most of my life, but only 9'ish years ago I started running longer distances and fell in love with it.

that is definitely true! baby steps to get there I reckon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62740.92
ETH 3354.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46