Day in the Life of a White Water Raft Guide (That's Me!)

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

I wake up in the morning feeling like p diddy... no just kidding not him, but a badass nonetheless! Because I know the day will be epic. Will I flip today? Or swim someone in class three white water? You never know.

My eyes blink open to see the river raging. The flow probably came up over the course of the night, which means bigger rapids! The roaring waves and chirping birds remind me that I am in the middle-of-no-where-California-foot-hills. I've don't have walls or electricity, just the bounty of the river and the adventure she delivers.

IMG_2784.JPG

The day always starts with yoga and meditation. It keeps me calm, cool, and collected when all of the people on my boat freak out because the water touched them.

After a quick breakfast made on my camp stove, me and some other raft guides throw a bunch of boats onto a trailer, and drive to the top of the river. We await our guests. Usually they know how to swim.

The homies of the day seem cool. After a quick how-to-paddle and stay alive speech, they get in the boat. I tell the two people who I hope are the strongest and most coordinated to sit in the front. After a little bit of practice paddling together, we're off! Big water awaits.

Webp.net-gifmaker.gif

This is the first and largest rapid of the day. Its is called Bonzai! Its a huge hole in the middle of the river. With momentum and power, we crush it!

Carrying on down stream, I steer the raft away from true danger like trees and flipping. I'm a splash chaser.

Ten miles of fun later, we've reached take out. We pack up the boats and put all of the gear away, ready to get used by a new set of customers tomorrow. I say goodbye to the homies, and hopefully get tipped. Then all of the guides hop in the bed of a pick up truck and drive to the nearst bridge.

Webp.net-gifmaker (1).gif

One, Two, Three, JUMP!

Now I'm tired, so I chill out with the other raft guides and watch the water float by. It was an epic day spent in awe of the beautiful river. I can't wait to do it again tomorrow!


Thanks for reading, Steem Community! Follow me @AcroButterfly for more posts about epic shit. Because that's the only way I know how to roll.

Sort:  

Sounds fun Selysa!! I dig the crystal shot. Fun GIFs!! My connection is so bad, I can't really appreciate them, but I am imagining how cool they are. My dad loves to float up here in Montana, that's his JAM all summer when he's not working..

Crystals dig you!
The GIFs are pretty cool... like the flip books back when we were kids, but on the computer screen.
That's awesome! What rivers are up there that he floats on? Always flat water? I really want to make it up to Montana one of these summers!

We got a number of good rivers to float, some flat water, some heavy water, depends on the time of the year too. I believe we have one of the most deadly rivers in the country here...the Lochsa river. That's what I've heard anyway...my dad really loves to float on the blackfoot and the smith rivers...the smith is stupid gorgeous...like 7 day float through almost no civilization or houses...incredible fishing, but you have to draw permits to go every year.

Selysa, my good friend Lily just made her intro post as LadyLunasi, Would you go say hi?!!! THANKYOU!!!!

Thank you! Glad you stopped by @deserttree :)

That's what I do. I did't read, pictures and gifs were nice. Tired of reading lately :)

I know exactly how you feel!!!

I followed and I will make two promises: I will read your posts in the future when I am in reading mode, and I will upvote (raincheck on this upvote, because I want to get back to 100%). once again, NICE.

I love your sincerity!!! I've followed you, too!

Hahaha

After a quick how-to-paddle and stay alive speech

Wow this is amazing, you seem to have a lot of tricks in that hat of yours. You really are living life to the max. No fear No regrets
Thanks for sharing @acrobutterfly

Yes!!! I'm an eclectic person, as my good friend informed me yesterday. I had no idea!

I had to Google that one :) eclectic

deriving ideas, style, or taste from a broad and diverse range of sources

Makes total sense :)

Yes! Wait... English is your second language?!
No way... but you write SO WELL!!!

No I'm originally from England, so Swedish is my second language, although I suck at English as I left school at 14 with very little reading and writing skills.
But I have improved immensely since being on steemit.

You are extremely good at writing!!! I guess that shows that we don't need school that much, do we?

Thank you, I think what I lack in education I make up for in life experiences. Check out one of my first posts when you have a spare 20mins https://steemit.com/blog/@markwhittam/i-was-homeless-at-15yrs-old-now-i-m-rich-beyond-my-wildest-dream-s

Yes I've read this post already! It moved me beyond measure... to the point that I still remember it! I even went and told my friends about it!

Sweet job, looks like you have a lot of fun, followed and waiting for more adventures

Thanks for stopping by! more adventures are in the making! every day!

Oh wow, you really did that post. Sooo cool!!! I had no idea you were a guide. The next time we definitely need to raft with you though 😉

Yes!!! We can have the next steemit reunion in California and I can take everyone (well, up to 8 people to be realistic) down the river! :D

Oh yeah! That's sounds like an epic plan!!! Great.

you are amazing! love rafting with ya!

YOU are an amazing paddler who knows how to swim!!!

Wow what a beautiful smile . You have big balls to jump and do such adventures, am impressed.

Thanks very much!!! But nope, I have average sized ovaries, actually ;)
Actually... I have no idea how large my ovaries are.

Congratulations @acrobutterfly! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

That looks like a lot of fun! Way to go! I've never been rafting and really looking forward to it! :)

I went rafting in India once! On the Ganga outside of Rishikesh! You could check it out! Or if you come to California I will take you down the river :)

Sounds great! In the days I lived and worked in Delhi I couldn't do it. I've been to Rishikesh a few times though but the season wasn't right for it. I do plan on coming to Cali next year and it would be great to do this for sure, thanks for the Invite!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65160.59
ETH 3545.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43