A mermaid-vampire introduced me to steemit

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians!!


A mermaid-vampire introduced me to steemit. Yes. You read that right. A certain mermaidvampire invited me to join steemit. I don’t even know her and I don’t even know what steemit is. And I was shocked to have received a message from a “mermaidvampire”. I was nervous and excited. What would you feel when a mermaidvampire messaged you in facebook. To the extent of my knowledge, a mermaid-vampire hybrid does not exist.

Kidding aside, I’m a kidney disease patient. Since the early days of my diagnosis, I’ve been using facebook (messenger and group chats) as an escape from my disease; and for me to beat depression, which started after Dr. Chu, my nephrologist, diagnosed me with this humbling disease. I’ve been asking for tips, pieces of advice, encouraging speeches, and empathy from strangers who also have kidney diseases. My family was there, of course. However, talking to people who are also suffering from this disease is more satisfying and less annoying (because they know what and how you fell). Then that’s when a @mermaidvampire messaged me about steemit. She promised me a place where I can write (because I like to write), interact (because I like asking questions haha), and earn (who doesn't like this one?). That sounds promising. So here I am. Excited. And ready.

About Me

I’m Abraham Cera, a twenty-three-year-old guy from Tacloban City, Philippines. And I am here to learn and to have fun.


RIGHT TO WRITE
I love to write- whether it’s a poem, a story, a blog, and/or even my own dreams- anything which tickles my mind. I will always write. Even if grammar fails me. Somehow, writing makes me calm and sane. Have I mentioned that I always write? Yes. One funny situation is when I had a pulmonary edema and I could barely breathe. And instead of stressing myself out, I wrote a poem first LOL. Unfortunately, panic kicked in and I was brought to the hospital before I was able to finish the poem. The earliest memory of me as a writer was during my early elementary days. I was a journalist on our school paper. One of the earliest poem I made is entitled Into the Mirror. It's about a guy's own imagination/mind giving him a lesson about life. Unfortunately, the poem isn't finished yet up to this time (I don't know why'but I think I'm missing something). A stanza from the said poem can be found below.

....
Alas! Image started to change;
Image now has its own life to waste;
Image now has a painted face
Image now has a different gaze.
But image still belongs to the guy
The proof is their black innocent eyes.
Image straightened his arms
Oh fool! Smiling it was
Not cool! It's pulling the guy
Into the mirror, will he die?
...


TAKE ME EVERYWHERE

I'm a nature lover. I love visiting new places and interacting with people who have different approaches in life. Diversity at its best. This doesn’t need to be discussed. Who doesn’t love to travel? Right? With money and time, I will surely travel around the world. Everyday. Philippines alone has a lot to offer. Now, that’s one of the few things I can contribute here. I can share all my adventures here- whether they’re adrenaline-filled or not. (you can even leave a comment about your adventure and/or any suggestion of my next travel destination). I love to travel. I have a very strong connection with nature. I feel closer to God whenever I appreciate the beauty of his creations- a humbling experience that makes you realize that you are a part of something big, of something significant, of something special. It makes you think that you have a purpose in life. And it's a good way of de-stressing. In other words, travel/adventure is a process of change- metamorphosis. So as much as possible, I need to be somewhere- away from my hometown- at least once a month. Although, there are a lot of factors to be considered such as my dialysis sessions, work, and money. The photo below was taken last year in Oslob, Cebu, Philippines; wherein, I had an experience of swimming with the whale sharks.


SERVE THE PUBLIC, STAY FANTASTIC
Coastal Resource Management- that's basically what my job is all about. I'm working in an agency that assists different municipalities and/or cities in managing and regulating coastal and aquatic resources. This requires us, the technical staff, to travel and interact with the beneficiaries- stretching from municipal fisherfolk community to local government units. Aside from the work travels, what's awesome about this job is how a very young guy like me can be a part of an influential and important project, which can improve/help someone's economic status. Most of the time, i do lectures and coastal and inland assessments. This is when I can apply what I've learned in college as a BS Biology graduate.

However, this isn't what i really want to do. I want to be a doctor which focuses on research. I want to find cure on an untreatable disease. I want to study more. I want to understand life more. I want to help. But i guess that won't happen anymore because of various reasons. What i want to do now is to continue working in my agency and take a masters degree. And someday, I'll be a professor and a scientist. I'll be making a lot of researches. Maybe I can find love in marine biology or microbiology. Maybe I can also find a cure of an untreatable disease. I'll be studying more. I'll be helping students. And i can also understand life, not by cutting human beings open but, by interacting with my students, co-professors, microbes LOL, marine organisms and experiencing the mysterious connections that we use in our daily lives. Nevertheless, i want to serve the people. I want to make a significant contribution to our society. I want to serve the public and stay fantastic.


BREATH, SURVIVE, LIVE
I'm a twenty-three-year-old guy who refuses to die- that's what my bio says. This is in connection with my disease. Nine months ago, i was diagnosed with chronic kidney disease stage 5. It was devastating. I was confused. I felt empty. And lost. Nine months ago, I gave up my dream in pursuing medicine. Well, this disease is too expensive. Aside from that, there are stuff that you have no/little control of. My blood pressure, my memory, fluid intake, hemoglobin, creatinine, among others.

I miss eating chocolates. I miss eating without studying the food's sodium, potassium, and phosphorus contents. When my nephrologist told me about my disease last april 2017, my first question was "Can I still eat spaghetti, macaroni salad, and chocolate cake?". Those were some of my favorite foods, which will be served on my mom's birthday on May 2017, one month after my diagnosis. That was very hard. I followed a very strict diet. That was when we were so paranoid to the point that I became malnourished. Luckily, I'm feeling a lot better now.

Also, having this disease makes you experience significant weight changes in just a matter of three days. After dialysis, my weight would be 46 kilos; and after three days, it would reach 49 kilos. After dialysis, it would drop to about 46 kilos again. Sigh. My fluid and food intake will surely affect my weight since I cannot urinate. I just miss everything. I also miss lifting weights.

It may sound cliche but everything happens for a reason. I know that these are all part of a big master plan. On the bright side, nine months ago, I should have been dead. But I'm still breathing. If that ain't badass, i don't know what is? Thank God for the blessings. In fact, we're planning of a kidney transplant. My younger brother will be my donor. Indeed, your family will always be there through thicks and thins. I hope we are a match. I hope i can earn money for the operation. I hope for a successful transplant. I hope for a successful and healthy life for everyone.

IMG20170830175803-01.jpeg


Whoah! That was awesome. I have finally introduced myself. Well, that was me. And I promise to post significant stories here- about my disease, adventures, life (anything under the sun). And I promise to learn more about steemit. BECAUSE THIS IS FREAKING AWESOME!!

Count your blessings!!!

Sort:  

followed and upvoted,steem on...

Wow. Kababayan ahhaha. Have you got any steemit tips there, bro?

Share from you heart:)
Welcome kabayan.

Take some imaginary @teardrops (smart media tokens). You can read about these
special tokens Here!!!

Thank you very much kababayan. I'll always include @teardrops in all my posts which touch humans' emotions and feelings. These all happened to me but I'm proud to share them. It's what makes us humans- emotions.

Welcome to Steemit!
Hope you get to enjoy wonderful human company here.

Thank you for welcoming me. Actually, that's one of the things I'm expecting here-human company and the feeling of being in a group like steemit. I hope for a successful path for us here on steemit.

Hiii! Wow! You're from Leyte! Yeheeey! We're multiplying. Hehe. I'm excited to read your future blogs. You write so well I'm so jealous. Haha. I'm sure you'll have fun here. Earning while doing the things you love is the coolest thing ever. Haha. Welcome to Steemit! 🤗💚

Yehey! Where are you in Leyte? I actually want to invite all my friends to join steemit because who doesn't want their works to be read by strangers (if you know what I mean? hahahaha). I want them to gain confidence by blogging and by interacting with strangers.

Write well? Hahahaha Thank you. Well, I've read some of your posts and they're pretty good too. Kudos to us. Let's help one another here.

welcome to steemit, abraham. wow, what a life story. so glad you got to swim with the whalesharks in my home island of cebu :) keep writing and steem on!

Yow. Wow. I swam with the whale sharks four times. Hahaha It was just awesome- conquering your fear. And whale sharks, the largest fish, are pretty frightening at first (though they don't attack people because they are planktonic). And have i mentioned, that the ayre pretty massive hahaha. I think, I think, I can fit in their gills LOL

Congratulations, you were selected for a random upvote! Follow @resteemy and upvote this post to increase your chance of being upvoted again!
Read more about @resteemy here.

Welcome to steemit kabayan! 😊

Yehey. Where are you from?

Southern leyte 😊 Duol ra kaayo ta 😁😁😁

San sa southern leyte. I've been there many times and I have a lot of awesome memories there. The view is splendid

Sa maasin po 😊

Oh!? Talaga ilang ulit na ako dun. I was actually present on the three phases of coastal resource assessment there. Don't believe me? I've been to Pasay, Ma. Clara, Isagani, abgao.....19 coastal brgys ata kayo lahat hehehe

Wowww!!! Maka speak kag bisaya? or tagalog lang jod imoha?

Gamay ra. Hahahahaha
Lisod man pud ang bisaya hahahaha

Wow guess same ta agency and same BS course. I could relate with you. Nice to know you. Even me before had a lil hardness in breathing but naagapan ra pd daun. Nature and sea is my life. Stay healthy lang and pray. God bless and enjoy.

Hahaha what agency are we talking about? Hahaha Nice to meet you, firedancer. Hahaha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63725.17
ETH 2619.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82