I wonder what you'll think.steemCreated with Sketch.

Hello Steemians!

As a Philosophy and English graduate with a mind full of thoughts and a group of friends who haven't heard of Plato, I’m seriously hoping you have. If you’re interested in the big questions about society and our world, it would be great if you stuck around to contribute to the discussion.

Coming from South Africa, a place of great beauty, but also overwhelming inequality, I think that theorising is the first step to practical implication of social rectification. We live in a complex, disfigured and absolutely stunning world. I’d like to talk about it.

I plan for my Steemit to be a platform where we can get a little philosophical and probably a little controversial about society. But, I also don't believe that questioning is the only form of exploring that we ought to be doing. Life is to be lived. And so, I try my best to adventure, hike and travel as much as I can. I hope to inspire you to also fill your free moments with fresh air, unfamiliar faces and a quickened heart beat.

So, I am here to connect with interested people. To ask questions and maybe begin to answer them. I hope that you guys will continue the conversation.

Abbie

Rainy Screenshot.png

IMG_20171104_100350.jpg

Sort:  

A fellow language guy here! followed you and upvoted :)

Ah great! Thanks so much!

Congratulations @abigailsamuelson! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I've never heard of Plato. Just kidding. Of course I have! However, I don't consider him to be one of the best thinkers. I have some interest in philosophy. I also took some symbolic logic courses as part of my undergraduate computer science curriculum.

I have traveled a lot. I was born in Karachi, Pakistan. Then, we moved to Kuwait as a family when I was five years old. After the Gulf War in 1990, we escaped and made it back to Pakistan. After a year or so, we packed up and left for Las Vegas, Nevada.

I basically grew up in the city of sin, as it's popularly known. Went to high school, university, and worked in Vegas. Then moved to Houston, Texas.

Oh my God! LOL I don't think you want to hear all this, but I've been to Switzerland, Germany, Turkey, Saudi Arabia, Iran, Iraq, China, and the list goes on. That's not enough for me though. I want to travel as much as possible before my time here on Earth is up.

I'm sure you won't get a reply this lengthy from anyone else LOL

Hope to hear from you soon!

Haha, well it sounds like you're seen a lot and probably have got a lot to share with the world! I'll be honest and agree with you are on the Plato thing, but I suppose he was a fundamental thinker nevertheless.

Thanks for making contact and good luck with your future travels!

Congratulations @abigailsamuelson! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote
You made your First Comment
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to steemit. I am sure you will find a great people around here. Followed :)

Thanks so much :)

Introduce my name to my micheal from nigeria, I am also new to steemit. Welcome from me to you and I am a new user, I hope we can work together in steemit community. Do not forget to follow me friend. Happy family steemit for you and wish you success. Best for you good luck @

Michael, thanks so much. Great content!

Hello there! @abigailsamuelson I’m Nikki! Nice to meet ya! I’m also new to Steemit and am starting to get the hang of it! So far I’m really enjoying it and I love that you love to adventure and hike! I do as well! My partner and I go adventuring all the time and just started posting about it! I’m looking forward to following you and living vicariously through other like minded people as well! Welcome!! ☺️

Hi Nikki - thanks so much for the welcome! Yes, its taking me some time, but I'm excited to be a part of this community. Thanks for the follow. I'm looking forward to the adventure inspiration I'm sure I'll be getting from your posts.

Congratulations @abigailsamuelson! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great post! Your account was recently created so this is me supporting you. One upvote from me and keep on steeming!
As you only recently joined the steemit community it can be hard to recieve lots of steem power so maybe you want to try @MinnowPowerUp where you can earn up to 30% more steem power than just directly powering up! It's a subscription based daily upvote bot that draws its power from a delegation pool. I have also made this post where I explain my experience with the service in more depth and show how I earn over $1 a day in upvotes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63212.56
ETH 3233.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88