Hello!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Read my NEW Introduction here:

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@aaronhawk/up-to-date-introduction-and-things-i-m-up-to
https://steempeak.com/introduceyourself/@aaronhawk/up-to-date-introduction-and-things-i-m-up-to

Don't read this one, lol.

LRG_DSC05163.JPG

Introduction

So I was thinking: What should I write about? What’s my Introduction gonna be like? Am I gonna be 100% authentic and talk about all my bullshit too? Do I only share the good stuff or even the bad stuff too?
I'm not really sure. This is my first blog post, ever. It feels weird writing. I usually translate texts for clients and stuff like that. But I never write like this. You know, blogs. But i must say, this actually feels quite good.
The smiling guy in the thumbnail picture is me. I’m 22 years old. Currently I do live in Germany. But I’m about to move to India. That’s why i'm starting this blog. I want to share my journey with you. I bet India is going to be crazy. In only 7 Days i will take a flight from Frankfurt Germany Chennai (Tamil-Nadu) India.

Why India? 

I’m going to volunteer in Auroville. Have you ever heard of it? It’s like an experimental City founded 1969 by some “Hippies”. Back then it was a small community. Now there are living over 2500 people. Their main goal is to achieve human unity. Learn together, work together, for a better tomorrow.I’m going to write more about Auroville and their projects in the upcoming future. This is just a short introduction on my part.


(Auroville Center)

More Background?

I grew up in Germany. Did the classic school system thing. After I finished school i started an apprenticeship as an electrical engineer. I failed that. If you're interested on why i failed, just ask me. It’s kind of a long story. But for now, I leave it like that.
While growing up I loved traveling around Europe with my family. I pretty much visited all of western Europe and parts of eastern Europe. That’s why i decided to go traveling after my failed apprenticeship. I bought a ticket to Panama City. Without any knowledge of the Spanish language. Which was fucking dumb :D But i learned it the hard way. I traveled around Panama, Colombia and Ecuador for about half a year. Which was a hell of an experience.
Now I’m back home in my base, freelancing as an Audio Engineer for Podcasts and similar projects. Also as translator, transcriptionist and proofreader.

DSC03427.jpg


(Me in the Amazon Jungle with some "friends")

Do you want to know more about myself?

Yeah, I don’t really know how this is going to work out but, if you do have questions feel free to ask me! I'm going to cover it in future Blog posts or just in the comments!
Let me know if you want to know more about my life in Germany? How did i grow up? Or about my travels around south america? Classic Ayahuasca and San Pedro experience, or life changing trip?

DSC04198 (1).jpg


(Beautiful Ecuador Mountains)

Aaron
 

Sort:  

Hello aaronhawk! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. As a start, here are 5 tips that we believe will be helpful to you:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of them. Also, make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: When writing a post, you'll have the option to choose how to receive your reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this can change over time. Check our post to know more.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also, make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert and power up more Steem into Steem Power so you can have higher values on your upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

Welcome to Steem Community @aaronhawk! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Hey Aaron, I'm Aly, welcome to Steemit. Share about EVERYTHING ! If you want people to feel more connected to you, don't be afraid to share about the bad things and failures. :) You seem like an interesting fellow, hope you have a great journey here and good luck in India!

Thanks for the reply and good wishes Aly :) I think you're right. But how and where to start? Maybe Growing up first and stuff I was interested in as a kid? Hmm so much to write about :D

Perhaps you could allocate days. Eg. Monday you would post about a recent experience, and Friday would be about things from the past.

Haha Good luck!

I was thinking about something like that!

I see above that you've flagged some posts. Use flagging sparingly please at first. The helpful bots are, well, just trying to help. There are of course annoying and unhelpful ones too. See my post about bots. :)

Flagging them uses your limited bandwidth as far as I understand, so let more established people, with way more bandwidth, crush the annoying bots. Save your bandwidth for yourself! haha

@finnian Yeah, they are trying to help but I feel like they're spamming under my post. It annoyed me a little bit :D I will check out your post about Bots! Maybe I learn a little bit about them.

I loose bandwidth when i flag bots? Damn xD

Yes, it uses your voting power too as I understand. You can track your voting power using the steemd.com website.

Loading...

Welcome to steemit family! Good luck! I am sure that you will fully enjoy your journey here:)

Thanky you petko! I'm looking forward to it! I bet I will :)

Buen Post, me alegra poder compartir contigo

Gracias @ydavgonzalez! Me alegro de tenerte aquí.


Welcome to Steemit @aaronhawk!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings!

Oh wow, that sounds like an interesting place to be! I have heard of it, and now I'm curious as well. Looking forward to your journey!

Thank you Aileen :)

Hello @aaronhawk welcome to the Steemit platform. Please do share your experience (good as well as bad experiences).Bad experience teach more then the good experience ( I think so).

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks, mandeep17! I think so, yeah. I will share both! And yeah, the bad one probably kick your ass more ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62647.38
ETH 3335.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46