When Work Is Play - What I Do...

in #introduceyourjob6 years ago (edited)

Here's a take on the #introduceyourself section that @shai-hulud modified to #introduceyourjob. He's incentivized folks to tell about what they do or if they have an interesting job. This is right up my alley. See his post at: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@shai-hulud/introduce-your-job-pawnbroking#@curie/re-introduce-your-job-pawnbroking-20180806t194350

scene children jumping colored silloquette.jpg

I work as an Educational Associate in the Pre-K "Play and Exploration" program. I love it!

I really find it a privileged to be working with these young kids, being a part of developing them and guiding them to grow to their greatest potential.

The "Play and Exploration" program is based on a "discovery" model, where students learn through exploration. Playing is critical for making social connections, using their imagination, developing language and motor skills. In play kids are trying out different roles and it's a great way for learning.

Language is so important at this age (3 and 4 year olds) and is one of our the main focuses. It is at this age that kids are just like sponges and are building their vocabulary rapidly. If this critical period is allowed to pass without exposure to language, it becomes more difficult to learn. So we talk lots to the kids and try to have meaningful conversations with them.

The other main focus is on behavior. The same is true with their behavioral patterns if they do not learn to regulate their behavior at this age it just becomes harder and harder. We are there for them to work through different patterns and show them different strategies (ways) that helps them get the desired results for their actions.

This program is very child directed, where we build on the child's interests (we have lots of flexibility here). We set out different invitations for the kids to explore and we are there to scaffold them to new levels. I love working with kids for they are so full of wonder and they help me see things through new eyes. They can be real funny too and oh, the stories they can tell!

A big part in working with kids is building there trust and we do our best to provide a safe and secure place for them. The Pre-K program was mostly developed for kids at risk ( not so much in small towns like where I work, where there is nominal kids at high risk.) It is really touching to know you have made a difference in some child's life, given them a better start to their lives. I get pretty close to these kids and I continue to get lots of hugs through out the time they are at the elementary school.

I have a couple of stories I must tell you about the kids perception of the Pre-K teachers -

I was attending an auction, when I ran into one of the Pre-k children. He looked at me and said "Is that you? Is that really you?" They can only relate to us as a part of the Pre-K class setting.

One other girl said when she saw me at a kids party, "You're the one who lives in my mom's (her mom was the Pre-K teacher I worked with) classroom." I guess because we're there in the morning when they come and we're there when they leave we must live there, at the school.

I never feel like I'm working, I'm having fun and building relationships with the kids. I've been at it for 11 years and I still love it!

I'll tag @taskmaster4450 to #introduceyourjob I'm curious to what you do.

Sort:  


Welcome to Steem @porters.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Welcome to Steem, @porters!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3237 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.19 : Updated Boost Button - Collaboration announcement - Earn more with SteemPlus points.

Welcome to Steemit porters. Let me know if you got any questions about Steem or anything related to it! The official FAQ can be found here and has A LOT of information https://steemit.com/faq.html - Also remember, Steemit is just ONE of the sites built that uses Steem the blockchain. We also have DTube - our very own Youtube, DSound for Soundcloud and Steepshot if you prefer Instagram like experience. I'd also like to mention ChainBB - forums, Busy - Steemit with more modern look basically, DMania for memes and Dlive for streaming just like in Twitch! You can also earn Steem by gaming now! Search for Steemgar if that's more your thing. Welcome to the blockchain! :)

Welcome to Steem! Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem and we upvote our users to help them grow! Please feel free to download the Android app here and the iOS app here.

To get more upvotes, please join our Discord server here: https://discord.gg/N7Et97G

find a job you love and you'll never work a day in your life. Teaching is the core of a culture and the young and its childs first experiences that help foster their creativity and thirst for learning.

Thanks for getting involved in the tag and sharing your story.

and thanks for taging @taskmaster4450 I also tagged him in my original post

Hey! thanks for putting up this idea of sharyourjob and giving me the incentive to share what I do. What you said is the reason I feel it is a privileged to have those children come under our guidance. We play a big part in their lives.

A job IDK maybe a blessing.
Great post.
Children are such a blessing and deserve love, kindness and guidance.
It's good to hear how much you enjoy your time with them!

Thanks for participating and congratulations would you prefer 2 steembasicincome shares or a steemmonster booster pack?

Thanks so much! I prefer 2 steambasicincome shares. Thanks for hosting this contest it was a great idea and got me motivated to write about what I do.

I have sent that off registration can take a week, check out the @steembasicincome 's F.A.Q its also worthwhile having a look at their Contest list for your chance to earn more shares.

I will add the winners post shortly

Great! thank-you very much! I'll be watching for the winners post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68694.24
ETH 3284.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77