Breaking the schema by making a big decision: to travel the world

in #introducemyself6 years ago (edited)

29242673_1887337364632758_1167642819_o.jpg

Reaching my 50 years of age a few months ago and having spent most part of my life working in multiple places, the time to take one of those crazy and seemingly risky decisions had finally come. So I quit my job, told my colleagues that I needed a break to disconnect myself from the matrix, which was something very difficult to digest and accept for many, and made the jump. I can understand others’ disbelief, I accept the fact that
they might never understand my decision. But I had to do it. The time was right, I felt it inside me.

I’m very passionate about travel and that’s something I share with my wife, who is also taking part in this journey with me.

I still remember our first holiday abroad, a few years back. We had the best of time and we wanted to do it all over again. Suddenly, we were addicted to traveling, we needed more of it. Every time we’d come back home we’d start planning the next trip, forming a habit that stuck with us for years. Our daughter was part of these experiences too; she’s travelled with us ever since the beginning, loving it so much that she’s now a full time traveller.
The more we travel, the more things we learn about a million and one things, whether it’s culture, politics, geography or the like. The amount of knowledge we’ve been gaining along our travels is immense, making us able to appreciate, now more than ever, the beauty of this incredible world, a world we need to take care of.

We consider travelling as the most fulfilling and healthy medicine you could ever take. And it’s rewarding every step of the way! You have the chance to visit beautiful places and meet incredible people everywhere you go. Obviously, any journey has its ups and downs, it’s inevitable; we don’t live in a fairytale. Our world is not perfect and neither are
we.

And that’s why we’ve decided to share all of our experiences with you. We want to take you on board… but don’t worry, you don’t have to pay any ticket! ;) Maybe, hopefully, one day you’ll end up making the same decision and embarking in a similar adventure.

Travelling is not free, we all know that (unless someone pays you to do it, which is rare, but still possible). During my hard working days, I’ve managed to save up some money that is now allowing me to live this amazing experience. How long are we going to wander around for? The future will tell. Somebody once said, “the best plan is to have no
plans”, and I’m doing just that.

We’ve learnt from many others travellers, read an infinite amount of post, blogs, stories and such. But now it’s time for us to live similar experiences ourselves, not just from behind a computer.

Life has given us a one-way ticket, the destination is the same for everybody, but we all have the chance to decide how to live the journey.

Hope you’ll like our posts, follow us and leave a comment or two, especially if you have travel anectodes to share with us!

Are you ready for the trip? Hop on! ;)

Ed & Stella

P.S. I’m not an expert, but I’m into the world of cryptos and I trade a bit myself, so I felt like Steemit would be the perfect place for me to join, and that’s why I’m here to share my story

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Hi! Waiting for some photos of you and your family traveling!

I love to travel also! :)

HiI! thanks for your comment. There will be many many photos :).

Welcome to the Steem family, Ed & Stella! :D

It's nice to have more travelers joining the community, with lots of stories and pictures to share. And especially people like yourselves who've had the courage to leave everything behind and adventure outside of your comfort zone. That's not something a lot of people are able to do these days.

Can't wait to read more about your escapades and see the beautiful places you've been to so far! :)

Best of luck on Steemit and happy travels! :)

I really appreciate your comment. The adventure just began! Next post is in the making ;), with plenty of photos of course. Stay tuned ...

welcome to steemit, nice

Happy steemit !!! cheers

Thanks a bunch! I just started and I am becoming addicted to the platform and its contents :)

Welcome! Travel experiences and tips do well here :)

Thanks! Our goal is to provide good content and personal experiences.

You made the right decision! Travel around the world is my dream. I'm looking forward to read your posts and see the places you'll visit!

Thank you. I hope you will do the same soon. The next post is just around the corner ;).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85