My Story - Riley E.

What's up guys! I'm finally writing my introduction after many months of watching @gardenofeden, @quinneaker, @saramiller, @everlove, and @kotamdickson create and conquer here on Steemit. They've not only been my inspiration for this post, but also in everyday life. I'll get into that more here soon. I wanted to start by giving thanks to this whole community. You guys have been very supportive of everyone at The Garden and our cause.

I will be 22 years old 5 days from now. I'm a full time volunteer and inhabitant at The Garden of Eden. The best place on planet earth, and one of the most sustainable organizations in the country. I love the piano, guitar, skateboarding, wrestling, and now, thanks to @apollomission, permaculture. Anyways, I guess my story begins in Longview, Texas.

This place is where I was born and raised for my first 15 years. It's a rural area with not much to do as a kid except play outside and just enjoy nature. I'm grateful I was able to experience the wilderness at a young age. Although I had a relatively good childhood my relationships with family members was always complicated. My biological father was in prison from the time I was about 1 until I was 19, so I never really had a connection with him. In contrast, my mother has been the most loving, understanding, and supportive person in my life. My mom never married my father, but did marry my brother's dad who I consider my dad as well. They had my brother, Michael; who's 19. They divorced when I was about 5 years old. Me and my brother stuck with our mom for the most part. My mom married again when I was 11 and had my second brother, Brody who's 8.

The first couple years of their marriage I was happy. My mom was with someone she loved, and I didn't think he was too bad myself. Things were going good until I was about 15 years old. I had started coming to a realization. Much about the world I had not observed previously. I saw how imprisoned I was in this world I was living in. I was in a very isolated mind state, and started to become more and more depressed. I became rebellious, and I began to push people away. It affected the relationships I had with my whole family. I felt very limited to what my life could potentially be, and that was extremely frustrating to me. I think I've been aware since a fairly young age at how distorted and unnatural this world is becoming. I think then I realized I had to do something great with my life. Or else, what am I doing here? I knew righting this wrong would be part of my journey.

After more conflict I moved to Burleson, Texas with the man I call my dad. South of Ft. Worth this suburban town was much different than the rural area I was accustomed to. I started to meet people more like myself, and I felt more at ease. I really got into skateboarding and music during this time. I became more independent. It was a relatively good time in my life, but I got kicked out when I was a senior for skipping school. Two weeks before graduation, and because of my circumstances I was unable to graduate. Me and my dad are very different people. He works in the oilfield just like his father, and I'm a "hippy" hahah. I love him all the same though. I got a job at a nearby fast food restaurant, and started my career as a human robot. This was not how I envisioned my life at all. There must be another way to live, I wondered. So, continuing on my journey, I got my own place in Mansfield, Texas. I lived here for a year, and started plumbing. I felt like a man.

At least that's what I thought until I met THE MAN HIMSELF. Quinn Eaker, ladies and gentlemen is who I met on that day in Fort Worth near a booth he and Sara had set up. I never in my wildest dreams thought I would meet someone so loving, disciplined, aware, honest, and honorable. He is the epitome of who I wanted to be! Somebody truly great. He stood out like a sore thumb in the crowd in his exotic looking clothes.

After talking with him for a short time I could tell he was not only very unique in appearance, but had calm and energizing stigma about him. He shared some natural tobacco with me and a few guys explaining who he and who The Garden of Eden were. I was immediately drawn to his message of sustainability and honor. He handed me one of their cards and when I went home that day I looked at the website (http://www.intothegardenofeden.com/) and was intrigued by who they were and what they were doing. I was let go after my boss had a dispute with his wife over the company, but it was perfect because it led me to making the decision of moving to The Garden of Eden.

I got dropped off at the gate to be greeted by a man in pinkish silk shorts. It was Quinn. He let me in and I proceeded into The Garden. I said hello to everyone, and they to me. I wasn't used to the free nature of this place. It was a very mysterious feeling at first, but everybody was quite friendly and that night sleeping on a stranger's couch I felt more at home than I ever had in my life. Writing about this place couldn't do it justice. Although I should attempt it since I've come this far in the story. The people here really care about the world, and I believe we all have common ground when it comes to our purpose. There have been many inner conflicts through this growing process here. Though, I can honestly say I appreciate the challenge of high standard living. This progression has led me to become a more healthy, educated, empowered individual, and it wouldn't be possible without Quinn and Shellie. Their vision holds incredible value. To have a more sustainable world. A loving and honorable world. Simple yet so, so profound. This is why I am here now.

To give an end to my tale, I would once again like to give thanks for everyone that has taken their time to read the story. I've enjoyed writing this, and I hope to create more content in the future.

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 15. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.27 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 15 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Wow Riley, welcome to Steemit officially! I'm pleasantly surprised by your writing; I had no idea that's something you enjoy. Did you share this in the chat rooms?

I appreciate that. I didn't share it in any chat rooms unfortunately. I haven't written in soo long haha, but yeah I do enjoy it!

What a beautiful story of your journey, and wonderful images too.

Love all your support for people here on Steemit. You are appreciated~*~

Welcome to Steemit Riley !!

Nice to have you onboard :)

Blessings.

Good luck with everything, Riley. I'm glad you've found something good to work toward. We all admire you. Thanks for the post!

Welcome. You seem like an interesting individual. Upvoted and I followed you.

welcome! I look forward to more, enjoy steemit!

I enjoyed reading your story brother! I'm glad I could play a small role in it. My blessings are with you.

Hey, thanks man. I'm glad you enjoyed it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56792.41
ETH 2444.34
BNB 487.19
SBD 2.39