Blog 1 - Introducing Myself

in #introducemyself7 years ago (edited)

Hi I'm Nick, and I love Mac & Cheese...

Not the way I pictured starting my first blog post, but there was no other way I could really introduce myself.

Let me first cover off some other basic info, some parts of which I'll probably decide to write further blogs about in the future.

I'm a 28 year old guy, living in the UK, working a 9-5 job in the finance industry, while also trying to make a living in music production. I love my food, enjoy restricting my diet to force myself to try new things. I'm also just starting to attempt to live a more deliberate, purposeful and meaningful life.

So there's the basic information about myself out of the way...

I have never really been one for writing about myself. I really struggle with "selling" myself during interviews and meetings - to me I just do my job. However, this blog is going to be my attempt at bringing together thoughts, ponderings, and information I think will be useful to others.

Currently I am attempting to build more of a personal brand for myself. With this, I'm resigning my website (and attempting to make the transition from coding databases and visual basic to web design and development), trying to get my diet in order and get myself physically fit again (I used to exercise so much, but just let it slip as most people do... now I'm paying the price after years of eating crap), I'm also trying to declutter my life and mind (hence the blog). Incorporating all of these things, will be not a new me, but a better me. I'm not becoming someone new, but developing myself to be the best I can be.

Touching on the decluttering - I recently stumbled across a podcast hosted by two individuals who go by the name "The Minimalists". Initially I started listening to the podcasts while thinking "really?! Come on?!"... The more I listened I realised I wasn't actually listening, I was just hearing. A switch flicked in my brain and I realised, I need to take action now.
I realised I had accumulated so much "stuff" over the years, which I just didn't need at all! I decided to empty all my drawers and wardrobe of any clothes I no longer wear, and got my wife involved to help me too! In the end, we took 16 black bags full of clothes down to the donation bins at our local recycling centre... Damn it felt great!

This was the starting point for me. Now I have the rest of my stuff to go through and sort out whether I actually need it or not.

Anyway, this was the first blog from me. I know I've very briefly touched on quite a few things, but it's been good to start getting some thoughts out of my brain and start decluttering!

Anyway, enough rambling for now ...

Thanks for reading

Nick

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @nickopotamus! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Welcome sir Nick! I hope you enjoy it here in steemit. <3

Congratulations @nickopotamus! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to Steemit Nick!
I love the idea of decluttering your life, I think it would be a great topic for you to write about, the struggles, the success and the process. I sure it could be a very interesting topic :)
Glad to have you in the community, I have upvoted your post!

Hey! I think it is definitely something I am going to blog more on!

Would love to see your new profile. I love Mac and Cheese too !

Followed you , follow back. Keep spreading the love. Keep Rocking Keep Steeming

Mac & Cheese is the absolute best! Love having it with some nice ham sprinkled on top!

Welcome :)!

sup.gif

Here a few tips for starters snce you probably won't get any advice from those who comment under here, here's what I gathered thus far.
It's tough to make money at first so if that's your main cause to be on here grind that into your head straight away, that doesn't mean you shouldn't post content, you should, but enganging with others in the comment sections to grow your following is your best bet. Which categories?

Probably the introduce yourself one and the photography section but you can choose things that you have knowledge about too and then go from there just know that there is a lot of crap on here so plowing through that just to connect with others can be tough. Cheers.

Hey thauerbyi, thank you for the insight!

Congratulations @nickopotamus! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @nickopotamus! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

@nickopotamus hello let welcome you on board steemit is a great experience hope you enjoy it, found this site by steemfollower that helps people get followers fast , hope it helps you add more followers
go to this link
https://steemfollower.com/?r=4552
and click on "exchange" on the drop down menu click on "follow exchange"

Thanks joendegz, but I would rather people follow me because they have a genuine interest in what I am sharing.

Sup! It came to my attention that you have a new account so welcome to the steemit platform. Have an upvote and keep on steeming!
I know how hard it is as a fresh account so you should try out @MinnowPowerUp where you can earn up to 30% more steem power than just powering up through steemit! It's a subscription based daily upvote bot that draws its power from a delegation pool. I compiled this post to explain the system in more depth and share my own experience in earning wupvotes for over $1 a day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57367.79
ETH 3098.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32