I am Glenn! Dreamer, experimenter and philosopher. Time to change the world :)

in #introducemyself8 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians :D


I love to Play. Dream. Investigate. Experiment. Wonder. Contemplate. Meditate. Deep fun creative conversations with people where we learn and discover together.


I was born in Norway and have lived here for 37 years. My grandmother was from Scotland and maybe this is the reason why about half of my thoughts are in English. I hope to share the best of them here on Steemit.


Ever since I was a kid I loved to walk around in nature dreaming beautiful visions and big ideas.







I have done some different activities over the years : building small houses with my dad, moving goods through a storage house, working in a kindergarden, various jobs in telemarketing and sales, and some years at university where I studied psychology, law, political science and philosophy. 


My deepest personal interest is consciousness, meditation and the human mind. The mind is a great mystery which ties everything else together. A few years ago I made a drawing where I tried to illustrate consciousness :




I love all kinds of experimentation and fun and creativity. The nature of information and how humans relate to it is an area of special interest for me. I have experimented with drawing cartoons, geometrical shapes and gradually came upon something I call "information creatures". For me they represent the unexplored possibilities of information :




( An unexpected guest )










I have also been experimenting with mind-maps / cartoon hybrids where text is put into bubbles : 




Other things I love : Improvising experimental melodies. Observing and listening silently. "Language experiments" and practical testing of innovative ways of structuring information. Philosophical mysteries and spectacular futuristic visions. New ideas created by combining old ideas in new ways. The relationship between information and action. Communication between people. Adventure stories from possible worlds. Multidimentional information structures. Events. Mythical superheroes with funny melodious names who can give us advice and help in our daily struggles. A supersystem for saving the world. 


And I am really excited to be on Steemit! I will be going to the Steemit hackathon event in Oslo in a few weeks ( https://steemit.com/steemit/@bitspace/oslo-steemit-hackathon-with-ned-scott) and look forward to meeting some of the people in real life. Steemit is a super interesting concept. What I like especially is the way the system is rigged to inspire creative people to share their best work while being directly rewarded by the community. This is an economic model where self-interest and altruism are mutually enhancing and if it works it could be the beginning of something really big. I think the success of Steemit will depend on the degree to which we can become a culture of creative excellence. 


Here is a little "Hello to the Steemians" video I made a few days ago :


 



Keep on Steeming :D











 

Sort:  

Welcome to the community Glenn. @ericvancewalton is right, you going to love and enjoy steemit. Start to share your ideas and maybe you get lucky like @ericvancewalton does, gaining good rewards in all his post.

Welcome, Glenn! I think you're going to really enjoy it here on Steemit!

Good post. Welcome to steemit

Very Great to meet you! I very much resonate with your thoughts and your curiosities. Followed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62891.03
ETH 3103.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89